We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Double Tree is an Excellent Hotel located in an area to most activities in San Juan and surrounding areas like Condado, bus run along the Hotel. I love that there is a large supermarket across the hotel. The Hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and courteous. The amenities are excellent for relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    568
    133
    29
    15
See reviews for
348
743
134
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived at hotel late in the evening after a long day travelling from UK, we were greeted with a warm chocolate cookie and were efficiently and quickly checked in to the Hotel.
The reception staff were friendly and efficient and we got our room which was a large room with everything needed for a few day stay.
We had a safe, coffee machine which made lovely coffee, a microwave, large TV, free wi fi, large shower and all toiletries needed.
The pool is open 24 hours so my husband went down for an evening swim which he really enjoyed after such a long flight.
The breakfast was delicious, again everything from cold fruit, hot porridge, egg station which you could have omelettes or eggs cooked to your liking.
There was also a selection of pastries, bacon, sausage etc etc.
All accompanied with fresh fruit juices and pleanty of coffee.
I stayed round the pool all day which was fairly small but seemed adequate as most people go off sightseeing during the day, I had read some reviews saying that no one seemed to clean the pool area but I didn't experience this at all, as people left they moved their towels and there seemed to be a guy tidying up all day whilst I was there.
We asked at reception for a place they recommended for a meal one evening and they said about a pizza place just around the corner from the hotel which was great.
As I said earlier, the hotel and all the staff were great, everything good for a few days stay, we were staying here for just two days prior to joining a cruis.
It has a 24 hour supermarket across the road which was where we bought a few beers and soft drinks to keep in the fridge in the room.

Room Tip: We were in room 504 which was a large room but not a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent four days here and time went so fast. While the first room we had was small were was upgraded to a spacious king room. The King room had a patio adjacent to the pool area. The staff was the best. People like Antonio went overboard to make sure we were accommodated well.
The hotel is across the street from a 24 Hour grocery store Supermax. Also on the grounds is several restaurants.

The location of the hotel is a huge plus. Three blocks away from the beach and two blocks away from the highway.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is nice and neat. Staff is friendly. Rooms are small, but are fine for a couple. As mentioned in other reviews....the bathroom door is foggy glass. The only problem we had was at check in. The day before we arrived in San Juan, we received an email from Hilton to pre-check in and actually pick our room. I thought that was interesting as I did not know hotels were doing this. I went ahead and logged in and picked the room. When we got to the hotel 30 mins before official check in time, they allowed us to register, but said the room was not ready and they would call our cell phone. I thought that was strange as they knew we were coming and they knew that specific room would be needed. How could it not be ready? Anyway, we waited about an hour...no phone call. I asked at front desk and they said it was not ready. So another 30 mins later I checked - still not ready. Waited another 30 mins asked again and now it was ready. We were given key card, and an apology but no explanation. I am guessing someone dropped the ball and forgot to log the room in as cleaned. Frustrating, but didn't ruin our vacation.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was initially disappointed by this hotel. Small room, high price, stained carpet, dusty, etc. but now that I've spent a little time in San Juan, this place is fine. This whole town seems somewhat beat and below standards I am used to. The beach at Condando is filthy and the entire town is congested and dirty. The Double Tree was fine in an area best not visited.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon PR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although this property is not beach front, this nice hotel is located in east side of Condado Area, away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist zone. There is a 24 hr Supermarket with Deli across the street that you can visit. There is some new restaurants walking distance as well. Very well maintain property.

Room Tip: probably the ones facing away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was happy with this hotel and it was in walking distance to a lot of stuff. The beach associated with this hotel is nice but the waves are brutal. Some of the rooms are really small, if you are need space or a taller/larger person staying for more than a night, I would get the double room. Just not a lot of room to move around in. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the double if you like larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.