We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
UNIONTOWN, OH
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights prior to our cruise. The hotel was approximately 3 to 4 blocks from the beach; the hotel offers a golf cart shuttle between the beach and the hotel but you could definitely walk it. The beach area is a public area but the hotel has a staff person there to set up chairs and umbrellas for hotel guests. You will need a letter from the front desk that will identify you as a hotel guest at the beach if you want to get a chair/umbrella . There is an outdoor pool at the hotel as well as a hot tub. The hotel offers the signature free chocolate chip coookie on arrival and glady provided another when we asked. They do not have a free breakfast but do have a restaurant onsite; we did not eat onsite. There weren't many restaurants close to the hotel but there was a grocery store across the street and a Starbucks next to the hotel. There were restaurants approximately 4 blocks from the hotel. The rooms are on the small side but were clean. Our room had a murphy bed for a 3rd person. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was also small and the door to the bathroom was a frosted glass pocket door which offered limited privacy. The room had a safe. The room was moderately priced for San Juan; we used points and dollars to pay for our stay. It was an older hotel with some updates. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    518
    111
    22
    13
See reviews for
308
672
128
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a great hotel, I visit puerto Rico for work, and this has great location. You have one night with a Happy Hour, is well enjoyed by everyone. The pool is great for exercise, really warm if you want to use it at night. I also like their Gym, it does have enough machines to do exercise. The hotel is clean, all the areas. I enjoy to eat dinner, as the service is always great. In front of the hotel you have a supermarket with great prices, there is a starbuck right in front of the hotel. You can also find many restaurants within walking distance. I also feel very safe and many times I choose to jog and is a nice view watching the beach and also encountering many people doing exercise, in the morning and in the afternoon. I would recommend this hotel for leasure and or business.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The DoubleTree by Hilton in San Juan is a very nice hotel in the Condado district. My room was a little small but very well decorated. Front-desk staff is great. The restaurant in the hotel is just OK.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Saludos John E,

For your next visit to San Juan, PR please contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com, so we can assist you with your reservations and ensure that you receive a larger room. As well our Chef will be rolling out a new Gastro Bar menu, which we would like for you to try and let us know your feedback. Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming soon.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I was recently in PR on an emergency trip. The staff was
amazing, caring and helpful and made our stay very comfortable. The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Would go again hopefully under circumstances.

Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Saludos Paulszabo,

It was really nice to read that staff was caring, helpful and made our stay very comfortable during your emergency trip. If we can assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Doubletree is a no-frills, great place to stay. It is not on the beach, but is very close, and they provide shuttle service. They also have an arrangement with a hotel on the beach, with even nicer pool/beach facilities, so I'd encourage others to check that out. The hotel was located about halfway between the airport and Old San Juan, so cab rides anywhere were really reasonable. Also, please note that many websites aren't clear about the 20% resort fee that is applied (it sounds like all of the hotels there do this). Make sure you are aware of this ahead of time and read the fine print, and you won't have an unpleasant surprise.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My first trip to PR. The hotel was nice as far as Double Tree locations, nice updates. There is quite a bit of outdoor seating area. Also, it is located directly across the street from a 24-hour grocery for all your needs. The area is a whole is about 4 blocks from the ocean but an easy stroll if you wish to walk. There are many places to eat of varying levels also within walking distance. However, the traffic in and around the area can become quite congested.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

It was our first time in Puerto Rico, with the amount we spent on transportation to do things we wanted to do, staying in a spot closer to old San juan would have been better because we wound up there everyday. The plus side, it's about 3 blocks from the beach and there is a shuttle. The hotel itself was nice and clean, the staff always welcoming and friendly, and there is a 24 hr supermarket next door, as well as really affordable local restaurants that serve amazing food (Bebos) in particular. That helped cut down on price, and helped balance what we spent on transportation.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.