We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a bit expensive so not really worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but a bit expensive so not really worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Definitely a good sleep. Comfortable bed and quiet. On the bad side, the rooms are a bit small. The breakfast is included and parking is expensive. Adding this to what is already quite an expensive rooms makes it really not worth the money. As a final straw, they added a "resort charge" of 23 usd when we checked out. When asked what it is for I was told it is a fee for the room's safe and microwave and other things. None of which we used, none of which we asked for and nothing I have ever paid extra for in any other hotel. The location is ok if you got a car, you wont be walking to any attractions from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    470
    102
    20
    11
See reviews for
293
624
121
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Driving in Puerto Rico is quite challenging. Finding your way around, even with GPS, is an adventure. Many streets have no signage. I traveled from Ponce to Isabela and then to San Juan on business. I called the hotel to ask for "good" directions when nearing San Juan. A hotel staff person stayed on the phone with me until I arrived at the front door. Shades of the friendly, superb service staff I interacted with during my stay. Always making sure my stay was better than expected. Facility was in an excellent location. Near a beach and restaurant area and quick, easy access to the airport. The hotel condition is very well maintained. Room was quiet, comfortable, and well appointed. Breakfast brunch was excellent. Unfortunately my stay was only for one short day. Definitely would make this my starting point on my next trip to Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Ask for upper room away from elevator and ice / vending areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I will definitely recommend the Doubletree Hotel in San Juan, based on the friendly service received during my stay, in addition to the cleanliness and excellent conditions perceived in the hotel's facilities.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Doubletree San Juan while preparing for a cruise. This is our second stay at this property. Very pleased, super staff! We arrived a bit early and our room was not ready. We left our luggage with the bellhop and walked to Starbucks next door for some coffee. Hadn't finished half of my coffee before getting a call on my cell that they had a room prepared! The room was very European in design and was quite comfortable. We enjoyed our dinner at Cafe Pierre. Wonderful service. Had a chance to chat with Vicente who was supervising. He is on top of his game. Highly recommend this property if you are cruising out of San Juan.

Room Tip: Our room was a walk out to the pool area. Nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Saludos MichaelJamesLexKY,

We are truly humbled by your kind words and are grateful that you decided to stay with us again. Thank you for sharing with fellow cruise travelers. I will make sure to congratulate Vicente for his consistency in attention to details. If we can be of service to you in any way or assist you with future stays, please contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
yodil.caban@hilton.com
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is well located and easy walking distance to other places to eat etc. Services were always excellent and staff attentive and helpful. Room was well kept, comfortable and roomy. Pool was great. Relatively short cab rides to airport, shopping, etc. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONCE, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

other than the pool wasnt quiet clean my experience was great. always a good morning coming from the staff. i recommed it. great area. everything you need is under walking distance. the rooms are comfortable, everything looks super clean and new. from the bed, pillows, blankets, tv, fridge, coffee maker to the rug.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Saludos Lourdes I,

Thank you for staying with us for your quick weekend getaway. I did want to let you know that our Engineering Directed has conducted a detailed maintenance project to our pool. We appreciate your observations and if we can assist you with future get aways, please contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,
Yodil Cabán
yodil.caban@hilton.com
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Talking about the hotel, it's good located, it has a lot of places walking distance that you can go as a tourist or if you're on business trip for a few days. The services are excellent and it has all of the commodity you can ask for. I was on a business trip and it was really comfortable for me.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Rooms are equipped with a 32” Flat Screen TV with Premium HBO. Flexible work area features, a large desk, ergonomic chair, phone with voice mail and complimentary high-speed and wireless internet. Each guest room offers coffee service by Wolfgang Puck, refrigerator, microwave and MP3 compatible alarm clocks. For extraordinary meals, enjoy the finest in regional and international cuisines at one of our four restaurants, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.