We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel, great localization” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
miami, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Hotel, great localization”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Clean and very good localization if you need to visit the San Juan . You can walk around area with in the same area you have great restaurants ( walking distance). for a double tree the breakfast is good, and the service is amazing

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    519
    112
    22
    13
See reviews for
308
675
130
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed one night prior to our flight home the next day. The hotel is very nice, clean and modern. The front desk staff is very helpful. The hotel had all the amenities (and then some) that one would need and is perfect for the business traveller though we weren't there for that purpose. Also, the warm cookie is a nice touch.

The only complaint that we have about our room is that the water pressure of the shower is very low like it was partially clogged or something. As we were only staying one night it wasn't a big deal.

Other than that we have no reservations about staying at this hotel again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Courtney was so very helpful and welcoming sweet and kind! Made our stay very easy and convenient. Everyone was very helpful and respectful. Love this hotel it's in a great location it's clean and it's affordable! Would recommend to anyone !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Saludos Mia V,

Thank you for the great review and for recognizing Courtney’s commitment to excellence in service. I personally congratulated her and she was thrilled to be name in Tripadvisor. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and If we can be of assistance to you in any way please do contact us toll free at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a smaller hotel with all the vital amenities for an efficient/ enjoyable vacation and/or business stay. Very Friendly staff ,low key, not the in your face luxury of leading hotels on Ashford, but much more reasonable rates, great personal service.. Perfect location, near beach, highway entrance, Condado restaurants and across from big supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Houston, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I loved the location it was the equivalent of our 'medical center' here in Houston Texas. The nights were nice and quiet and every thing was 5-10 min away in either direction. The shower stall though really made me apprehensive due to the fact that water was all over the floor after a shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Saludos Monica D ,

It was great to read that you loved our location. For you next visit please do contact us toll free at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com so we can assure that your reservation is blocked in one of our rooms with a tubs. Today our engineering department conduct a full check of all of our shower rooms to repair/replace any shower door squeegee that could have allowed some seepage. Thank you for your review and do hope to welcome you again to our hotel.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I thought that the Doubletree was a great place to begin our journey in Puerto Rico. My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights. All of the staff we interacted with were incredibly friendly and helpful. We wanted to visit Old San Juan and spend some time on the beach so the front desk staff recommended we take a taxi to Old San Juan because it was Easter weekend and the buses might have taken a long time to get us there. All of the taxis we used worked on flat rates (probably negotiable, but we didn't try to negotiate because the bellhops gave us an idea of how much each trip should cost). The following day we wanted to spend time on the beach and since the Doubletree isn't right on the beach we were able to go to their sister hotel (Mariott) with a pass from the front desk which allowed us to use their beach umbrella, chairs, towels and pool. The Mariott was in Isla Verde so it was another ~$17 taxi ride each way to get there but a beautiful spot to spend the day once we arrived. We didn't spend a lot of time right around the Doubletree and there didn't seem to be a lot to do, except that there was a great breakfast place called Pinky's a few blocks away. The room was perfectly comfortable and clean, although a bit small, which was fine for the two of us. Overally, a very pleasant stay, but we definitely had to rely on taxis to get around!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The good news--the hotel is very reasonably priced, the rooms are clean, well-designed, comfortable, and well cared for. The staff is efficient at check-in and check-out, there are usually cabs outside the door, there's a very nice 24-hour supermarket across the street, a Starbucks attached to the hotel, and it is only a 5 minute walk to a basic beach. The pool is okay, and the staff is polite and friendly.
The bad news--althought the hotel is in the Condado area of San Juan, which supposedly has lots of restuarants and shops, there really isn't anything near this hotel except the supermarket and a couple of not so interesting restaurants attached to the hotel. Old San Juan, which is lovely, is a 15-20 minute (and at least $15) cab ride away. The other restaurants and clubs in Condado are a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel, and hotel staff was not particularly helpful about finding the good things to do nearby. There is NO concierge service at the hotel, not even a rack of brochures about things to do--when we asked about zip-lining or other tours, they handed us one photocopied page listing things with no real information, no recommendations, and no offer to help us choose. We ended up walking to the Marriott and using their very helpful concierge to book our outings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.