We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay although Away from Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay although Away from Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you are looking for a beach resort property, this falls short. It is not on the beach (which is about a 15 minute walk away), although they provide usage privileges at two beach hotels. The views of the internal courtyard are not spectacular. That said, what this hotel does offer is a less touristy, more authentic Puerto Rico experience-- because you are more in the city, you feel more connected with the locals. For example, there is a Supermax grocery store across the street which not only gives you the option of great savings on food purchases vs restaurants, but you get a feel for life in San Juan. The staff at the Doubletree is also very friendly and helpful. Minor quibbles-- the rooms are on the small side, and the sliding glass bathroom door gives limited privacy. Overall, however, I have no hesitancy in recommending this hotel, provided you are not wanting a right-on-the beach experience.

Room Tip: A garden room facing the courtyard provides a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    893
    449
    97
    18
    11
See reviews for
273
595
116
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. The location was perfect. Staff was helpful and friendly, especially Antonio who treated us like old friends, and Diane at the front desk, who recommended a nearby restaurant for lunch and called to let us know our room was ready. Our room was spotless. The spa like bathroom was attractive and furnished with oversized towels and lemon-scented bath products. The room had a lovely patio that stepped down to a patio and then the pool deck with lush palms and other tropical plants. The breakfast buffet had a variety of delicious hot and cold items with fresh fruits and juices. Restaurant staff greeted us with smiles and accommodated every request. We had dinner and drinks at the same restaurant and received the same treatment. Antonio provided us with information on local tours and made arrangements for us. We will definitely stay at this DoubleTree if we have a chance to come back to San Juan!
The grocery store across the street is convenient for forgotten items, water and snacks.

Room Tip: Room 2005 has a lovely patio that overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Saludos Patd902,

It was great read to read your review and see that Antonio, once again was able to demonstrate our guest centric culture. He is always so thrilled to read these reviews and we are all very lucky to have him as part of our team. As well was Diane was very thrilled!! Thank you!!! and if we can be of asstiance to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservations@sjdoubletree.com or by phone at our toll free 1-877-926-3030.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My name is Carlos and I live in Greenville, SC. I had to to go Puerto Rico on some personal business.

First, I would like to note that I am a Hilton Honors Diamond Rewards member. I travel a fair bit and have collected up a lot of points....so I got to use them on this trip. It saved me a lot of money.

Why did I select this hotel initially? Well, I was reading hotel reviews and noted that the manager for this hotel actually replied to some minor complaints online that people posted. The replies told me this was the hotel for me! The replies were sincere and straight forward. So I emailed the manager to thank him for posting the replies. So I made my reservation without hesitation. Three weeks later I arrived to the hotel with my sister. On the day we arrived I received an email from the hotel manager wanting to know if we arrived OK and if everything was to our satisfaction!!!! WOW! I was blown away! Three weeks passed and he still remembered me !

Ok, now to the hotel details.

Breakfast- fresh! The OJ is delicious, eggs to order OR buffet style bar. Coffee was pretty good. And, if you needed Starbucks...its right next to the hotel!! Waitresses are very polite and courteous!! I don't think anybody had to wait for a table to sit and have breakfast! If you need more coffee before you leave....they have it right next to the front entrance!! Free!

Main lobby - I am not a smoker, but they have a very comfortable smoking lounge right in front of the hotel. Plush to say the least! The front desk seems to have fresh chocolate chip cookies 24/7! Ummm, TWO cookie warmer ovens behind the desk!! I've NEVER seen that ANYWHERE!!!

Pool/jacuzzi/kiddie pool - plenty of towels available at the pool. The pool deck had plenty of space for getting some sun or even sitting in the shade! Chairs, tables, etc. Now, if you are bringing your wife/girlfriend I highly recommend you visit the pool/jacuzzi at night.....not only is it a very romantic spot, but the local frogs (El Coqui) will make for an very pleasant rainforest effect on the pool deck! (These frogs are unique to Puerto Rico and sound amazing!)

The room - Albeit i had my sister with me, we were happy with the room. The small refrigerator was great for leftovers from dinner. Speak of dinner, Basilia's restaurant is around the corner and they have fantastic local dishes!!! I swear as soon as you walk into the restaurant your mouth will water!!! Very delicious and walking distance from the front entrance.

Location - This hotel in between Old San Juan and the airport. So, if you wanna drive to Old San Juan....it is less than 15 min away. If you wanna go anywhere else on the island, Route 26 is practically right next to the hotel! So you can easily zip out of there and be on your way to anywhere. Now, if your like me and like to run....Ashmore Ave is walking distance away and an excellent street to run on. I ran everyday down to Condado Beach (just under 2 miles). A lot of other people ran on the same road.

Hotel cleanliness was never an issue.

I did use the gym one day. It's not bad and all of the equipment seemed to be in good working order.

Room Tip: When in doubt about ANYTHING ask politely. I always had the impression the hotel staff were willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My sister and I were in PR for our aunt's funeral. Stayed at DoubleTree by our cousin's recommendation. This hotel is great. Service from the moment you walk in until you leave - fantastic. Room was clean, no smells, roomy with safe, refrigerator, coffee maker, great shower. Would return again and refer to others. Really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Ok, first of all! There free cookie is AMAZING! Lol

Me and my wife stayed here for our honeymoon, and it was reeeeeally nice! They have a pretty nice pool area with a hot tub too!
Fitness center!
Washer and dryer! Very convenient..
Resteraunts inside is pretty good! A little pricey, but hey, it's a vacation!
I really don't have any complaints, it was in a very convenient area!

Parking is $15 a night! So be prepared for that... Their employees and staff are a really good team, and are pretty good!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Saludos godseyaaron1993,

Thank you so much for your kind words and review. In an effort to showcase our hotel and surrounding area we have just redesigned our web site ( sanjuandoubletree.com). Should we be of service to you in any way please contact us directly at reservations@sjdoubletree.com

Always at your service,
Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallettsville, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was very enjoyable and relaxing. The staff were very attentive and friendly. This used to be The Hotel Pierre and we were disappointed that it was no longer the same hotel but once we stayed there, it was very nice and we weren't disappointed any more. It is centrally located..Close to the airport and right across the street from a nice big super market. We would definitely stay here again. The cookies were ace.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

stayed here for three nights post cruise in January 2014. The rooms are great, not massive but comfortable and the shower is great. Breakfast is overpriced, but walk 500 meters to Basilias and get great value delicious local food from 07 - 2300. Beach is near by and so are plenty of bars.

The concierge is very knowledgeable and helpful and has the best deals on trips, we paid $60 for a rain forest day out, others from different hotels had paid up to $90. Pool area is ok but loses the sunshine to shadow early in the day.

Room Tip: get one at the front, there isn't a pretty view from any but the back is the worst
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Rooms are equipped with a 32” Flat Screen TV with Premium HBO. Flexible work area features, a large desk, ergonomic chair, phone with voice mail and complimentary high-speed and wireless internet. Each guest room offers coffee service by Wolfgang Puck, refrigerator, microwave and MP3 compatible alarm clocks. For extraordinary meals, enjoy the finest in regional and international cuisines at one of our four restaurants, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.