We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel despite some mishaps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in San Juan
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel despite some mishaps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Despite some annoyances I really like this hotel ! It was clean and modern yet with a warmth and excellent decor. The service was friendly and welcoming.
I had a couple of issues
1. the location is 10 minutes by taxi to old San Juan. this requires a $20 avg. taxi ride each way. During my visit I had to go 2 times a day into town....thats $80!! But I got a good rate on the hotel so maybe it balanced out compared to a room of similar quality down town. And there really is no convenient way to take a bus.
2. From day one of my visit there were men on the roof just outside my window installing large AC piping...welding...hammering...power grinding. Impossible to nap in the afternoon and they began work at 8 am. My mistake was not to ask for a new room after the first day but I was already settled and unpacked and I also assumed that the workers would have changed location...but 4 days later they were still in the same spot and I never got a good nights sleep...despite the comfortable room. I finally complained on the last day out of desperation. At check out the woman at the desk was sincerely apologetic and offered me a complementary breakfast and was very helpful when I was trying to print my boarding pass. I'm quite sure they would have changed my room had I complained earlier. My fault.
3. The breakfast was so so overcooked eggs everyday, greasy everything else.

A couple of PROs: There is a full size supermarket just accros the street. and a 6 minute walk away you will find a very good french bistro and the san juan art museum and art center.
The public beach was a ten minute walk. Other than those there is really nothing else close by that I could find.

Room Tip: Make sure there is no construction outside your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Saludos TwoRiverTraveler,

It was great to read that you really liked our hotel and that you felt welcomed. I did want to apologize for the mishaps that you have expressed. We are always looking for ways to improve and maintain our hotel to the highest quality standards. We try as much as possible, to do this without inconveniencing our guests and are always willing to accommodate them if we are unable to. We do hope to be able to welcome you back and if I can assist you or answer any questions please do not hesitate to contact me directly at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,


Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    909
    453
    97
    19
    11
See reviews for
280
602
117
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days pre-cruise and it exceeded our expectations. I booked it based on the reviews here and the hotel lived up to its reputation. I called the hotel directly to book a garden view room as suggested by others and was so glad I did! Being a business class hotel, we pretty much had the pool area to ourselves day and night (open 24 hrs) and this lovely little oasis was well kept and clean.

Our room had modern decor, was clean and spacious enough to more than serve our needs. The in-room gourmet coffee was really good too. Check-in and out were a breeze with no issues and every staff member was friendly and informative. We did visit the sister property (La Concha I think - 15-20 min walk)) and must say, we weren't terribly impressed with the beach with its partially green water and slight odor so were glad we didn't cough up hundreds more for an oceanfront room at another hotel.

If you're lucky to be there on a Wednesday, check out the free happy hour (5-7) - they serve every cocktail imaginable and great hot/cold apps but do tip - was appalled at the guests who couldn't be bothered to leave so much as a lousy buck.

The very busy supermarket across the street has good prepped food (mid-priced) and an eating area. Try their yummy philly cheese steak! Our room had a fridge/microwave so we bought extra to help cut dining out costs. We ate at Under the Trees one evening, it was quite good, comparatively priced and offered delicious local fare in addition to American classic dishes.

The taxis are the worst, no two fares were the same. It's supposed to be $15 plus $1 for each bag from the airport and that was the only time we weren't ripped off. Otherwise, fares ranged from $18 to $23 from new to old SJ (with no bags) - what a bunch of thieves and it was no different throughout our ports of call on the cruise. Oh well, c'est la vie.... I suggest you ask the fare before you get in the cab to save you the hassle.

The area was safe and we had no problems walking around even at night. The trendy boutique and dining area was about a 10 min walk away but forget the shopping ladies, this is one expensive city for clothing. Most everything could be had for a min of 50% less at home so don't even bother.

We also toured the fortress, very interesting but lots of walking so wear cozy footwear.

Room Tip: call ahead for a garden view - totally worth it but there are only about a dozen so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hola Rita Z,
I was excited to read that you had a great stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. I am glad you enjoyed your Garden Balcony room and took full advantange of the pool area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com and I will be happy to assist you with any future reservations.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Although the DoubleTree San Juan is a sprawling, resort-like hotel with many amenities, I was turned off by the $50.00 "amenities" fee that guests are charged. When I called the front desk for a tube of toothpaste and a toothbrush, it took 1.5 hours. Finally, a crusty old man wrapped on my door with quite the attitude problem. No DoubleTree "cookie" was offered at check-in. Embarrassingly, my sister asked for one ;-). Continental breakfast was not served. According to my sister, all other DoubleTree's have continental breakfast. Cosmetically gorgeous hotel which should revise its' hefty "amenities" charge unless of course they decide to start providing "amenities".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Saludos JoshuaF,

I must extend my apologies for the experience that you have mentioned above, all our guests must be welcomed with a warm chocolate chip cookie, as well our staff must strive to maintain consistency in service.

In regards to the fees mentioned, unlike many destinations where hotel’s charge their guests for amenities/services like bottled water, internet/Wi-Fi, computer usage, movies, fax/copies, fitness club usage, special amenities and many other services, all hotels in San Juan charge a service charge/resort fee and include these items. For our hotel we include all of the above and have added services like Blue ray/DVD players upon request; morning coffee station in the lobby, beach loungers/towels and coolers, so our guest can enjoy the day at the beach. We provide the ice and our guest can take their in room bottled water or stock up at the gift shop and/or the supermarket across the street. We have established a great relationship with the La Concha Beach Resort and the CY-Isla Verde Beach Resort where our guests enjoy full access to their beach and pool facilities. If our guests would like to stay in during the day or night, we provide a healthy stock of movies. We will even provide pop-corn to be prepared at the in room microwave. We believe that these amenities enhances our guest experience without having to nickel and dime them. If I can answer any questions in regards to this please do not hesitate to contact me directly at yodil.caban@hilton.com.


Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Doubletree is an amazing hotel. Don't be afraid to ask questions regarding the area and good restaurants nearby. A big thank you to Antonio for sending us to Bebo's (now called Basilias.) The pernil was so good that we went back twice. There is a small pool at Doubletree and you will probably be the only ones in it which can be very peaceful, but if you are looking for a little more activity be sure to go to their sister property, La Concha. My husband and I walked there which took about 25/30 minutes and took a cab back due to the heat. Our room at Doubletree was quite spacious as we stayed in the Garden Tower and had a king size bed overlooking the courtyard. We were able to get an early check-in and late check-out, thank you Bo! We can't wait to come back to see you again.

Room Tip: The garden tower is spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hola Maureen G,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our pool area as well as the use of our sister property. I have shared your review with Antonio, who was excited to see that his restaurant recommendation worked out well. On a personal note, I am glad the availability allowed us to grant you a little later check-out from the hotel. When late check-outs can not be given we do offer our guests to leave their luggage at the front desk and to keep using the hotel facilities until their departure from the hotel, and we have a changing area with shower as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I spent a night here after finishing a caribbean cruise. I was very happy with the location, being roughly midway between the airport and Old San Juan, and walking distance from the beach. We checked-in on the day of our anniversary, and were pleasantly surprised to see that our room was on a high floor with a fantastic view.

The pool and hot tub area was very nice, and it was convenient to have a grocery store right across the street from the hotel for incidentals. It was walking distance from the beach, and if you stay here be sure to walk around the corner and have lunch at Basilia's (formerly known as Bebo's).

Our room was clean and comfortable, with a modern contemporary design. The front desk staff was helpful and attentive, and the print service at the business center was very useful for printing our airline boarding passes. Another nice bonus is that there seemed to always be a taxi van standing by near the valet stand, so we never had to wait for a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hola J B,
Thank you for your kind review and for choosing the DoubleTree to celebrate your anniversary. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received attentive service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com and I will be happy to assist you with your reservation.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

At first I was placed in a very small room, but upon request I received a much larger room. The room was clean, though there was a long hair in the bathtub -- likely from the head of the person that cleaned the tub. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I didn't give it five stars because breakfast is it included and because it is not on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

When we arrived the person behind the desk gave us both a warm chocolate chip walnut cookie. Nice touch! It is hard to not like a hotel stay when it starts out like that. The room was clean and comfortable. We would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Rooms are equipped with a 32” Flat Screen TV with Premium HBO. Flexible work area features, a large desk, ergonomic chair, phone with voice mail and complimentary high-speed and wireless internet. Each guest room offers coffee service by Wolfgang Puck, refrigerator, microwave and MP3 compatible alarm clocks. For extraordinary meals, enjoy the finest in regional and international cuisines at one of our four restaurants, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.