We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return in a heartbeat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free $50 Resort Credit
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Would definitely return in a heartbeat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I see someone else has mentioned Courtney in their review. I presume this is the same wonderful Courtney that helped us. We had a credit card problem that required ringing home to the UK in a hurry & she snapped us up & took care of us. I even joked I'd like to hug her to say thank you for her help but she might think me crazy. She provided the sort of service you normally only dream of.

The guys out the front in the taxi rank deserve a mention too. When we checked out to go on our cruise we were told when we returned we could come back to the hotel if we needed somewhere to chill before our flight back home. that is the sort of little extras that help make a vacation special.

The hotel is decorated with a gorgeous & modern feel. The massive double bed for my daughter that folded up into the wall was such a good idea! So much space during the day. The amenities are great. The food in Cafe Pierre's was delicious... especially the burger! There are so many good places to eat nearby, even the food truck across the street had damn good food. A supermarket across the street is extremely handy. You're 5 minutes from the beach & 5 minutes from Ashford Avenue & its nightlife.

I think the staff were trying to hint I had a caffeine problem because they kept leaving me only decaf coffee. Though they were very quick in bringing me my caffeine fix when I asked... or maybe they were scared. :)

My only niggle is the service charge. Yes, I was aware there would be a service charge. The business, wifi and other amenities were top notch. We did get an amazing rate on the room, it has to be said; but we weren't quite prepared for another $20 on top per day. This is the one & only reason the hotel didn't get a 5 stars from me. I might have felt differently if I'd just been made aware of this when booking or at least when I checked in. I would have still happily picked this hotel & I would most definitely want to return. It was just a bit of surprise when we got the bill at the end.

Actually I changed my mind & gave it 5 stars anyway. It really was a wonderful stay. That last star is for Courtney.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    500
    109
    22
    13
See reviews for
306
663
126
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel overall is pretty nice. The Rooms are a decent size and the staff is pleasant. The pool is nice and so it the hot tube, but there both small. If your looking for a nice place to just relax then this it it, but your looking for a place that has more to offer other than a bed then this is not the place. The beach is far, there aren't a lot of eating options, and it tooo far from everything. If this property was on the beach it would be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After staying one night at another local hotel, we made reservations to change over to Doubletree. From the bellhops to the room service, all the staff were friendly and very helpful. It was great having a small "convenience store" in the hotel to grab snack items before heading out for the day. The cafe inside the hotel was also very delicious! We had late night desserts and breakfast at the cafe and both were yummy! It is also a 5 minute walking distance to Condado Beach, directly across the street from a supermarket and nearby shopping, airport and Old San Juan. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel has easy access from the airport, serves a nice mojito, and reflects the standard of DoubleTree hotels on the upper 48. Room smelled fresh, bed comfortable, breakfast adequate. Not much in the way of restaurants nearby, though a good Puerto Rican place is within a block. I'd stay here again when in the area. Be prepared to fork over another $20 as a service fee plus $13 taxes and $15 per day for self-parking even though these fees are not included in the room rate. The advertised room rate of $113 somehow ended up at $162.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpfull.

The rooms were neat. The Internet connection was fast and simple to use. The rooms were spacious.

The hotel location couldn't be better. 10 minutes to the airport and far away enough so that airplanes landing and taking off do not bother you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Doubletree is clean, has friendly staff and a decent restaurant. As others have mentioned, it is close to the airport. It is walking distance to the beach, but we did not find the Nearby beach to be very appealing. Your best bet is to use the sister hotels that staying here gives you the right to visit. We went and used the pool and beach at the Courtyard by Marriott in Isla Verde and La Concha in Condado. Both were nice, but I liked the Courtyard beach and pools better.

We stayed by the pool on the first floor. The sliding glass doors are double or triple panes so you don't hear anything. The pool area is nice. I did not use the gym, but it looked good with modern equipment.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant everyday except one. It is pretty good. As a Hilton Honors Gold member I received vouchers for 2 each day. If not for those, I think $16 for the buffet might be a little over priced, but that is typical pricing for hotels such as this one.

The staff at the front desk, the restaurant and the valets were all very pleasant and helpful. My family is bilingual, but you would be fine with English only as everyone spoke clearly in both languages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for a few days prior to a cruise. Not on the water but a short walk. The water was actually too rough to swim in - red flag days every day we where there. 8/7/13 -8/11/13. We did a lot of site seeing so this location was perfect. There is a public bus on the corner to help cut taxi costs. Self service laundry facilities were very helpful. Staff at front desk nothing less than remarkable. Hats off to Courtney who worked very hard to put together site seeing days for us. Antonio at the valet desk - knew all the local great places to go. Gave great recommendations for local restaurants. Immaculately clean building and pool area. looking forward to staying there again. Very large supermarket with a cafe and excellent alcohol and wine department and pharmacy directly across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Saludos Susan S,

Thank you so much for your kind words, particularly about the front desk team. We believe that one of our most important assets is our people and their ability to connect with our guests. When I shared this review with them, it was truly nice to see how proud they felt, especially the team members that you have mentioned. We do hope to welcome you back and if I can assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.