We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but far from all the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in San Juan
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but far from all the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel overall is pretty nice. The Rooms are a decent size and the staff is pleasant. The pool is nice and so it the hot tube, but there both small. If your looking for a nice place to just relax then this it it, but your looking for a place that has more to offer other than a bed then this is not the place. The beach is far, there aren't a lot of eating options, and it tooo far from everything. If this property was on the beach it would be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    833
    419
    89
    14
    10
See reviews for
249
558
111
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After staying one night at another local hotel, we made reservations to change over to Doubletree. From the bellhops to the room service, all the staff were friendly and very helpful. It was great having a small "convenience store" in the hotel to grab snack items before heading out for the day. The cafe inside the hotel was also very delicious! We had late night desserts and breakfast at the cafe and both were yummy! It is also a 5 minute walking distance to Condado Beach, directly across the street from a supermarket and nearby shopping, airport and Old San Juan. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel has easy access from the airport, serves a nice mojito, and reflects the standard of DoubleTree hotels on the upper 48. Room smelled fresh, bed comfortable, breakfast adequate. Not much in the way of restaurants nearby, though a good Puerto Rican place is within a block. I'd stay here again when in the area. Be prepared to fork over another $20 as a service fee plus $13 taxes and $15 per day for self-parking even though these fees are not included in the room rate. The advertised room rate of $113 somehow ended up at $162.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpfull.

The rooms were neat. The Internet connection was fast and simple to use. The rooms were spacious.

The hotel location couldn't be better. 10 minutes to the airport and far away enough so that airplanes landing and taking off do not bother you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Doubletree is clean, has friendly staff and a decent restaurant. As others have mentioned, it is close to the airport. It is walking distance to the beach, but we did not find the Nearby beach to be very appealing. Your best bet is to use the sister hotels that staying here gives you the right to visit. We went and used the pool and beach at the Courtyard by Marriott in Isla Verde and La Concha in Condado. Both were nice, but I liked the Courtyard beach and pools better.

We stayed by the pool on the first floor. The sliding glass doors are double or triple panes so you don't hear anything. The pool area is nice. I did not use the gym, but it looked good with modern equipment.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant everyday except one. It is pretty good. As a Hilton Honors Gold member I received vouchers for 2 each day. If not for those, I think $16 for the buffet might be a little over priced, but that is typical pricing for hotels such as this one.

The staff at the front desk, the restaurant and the valets were all very pleasant and helpful. My family is bilingual, but you would be fine with English only as everyone spoke clearly in both languages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for a few days prior to a cruise. Not on the water but a short walk. The water was actually too rough to swim in - red flag days every day we where there. 8/7/13 -8/11/13. We did a lot of site seeing so this location was perfect. There is a public bus on the corner to help cut taxi costs. Self service laundry facilities were very helpful. Staff at front desk nothing less than remarkable. Hats off to Courtney who worked very hard to put together site seeing days for us. Antonio at the valet desk - knew all the local great places to go. Gave great recommendations for local restaurants. Immaculately clean building and pool area. looking forward to staying there again. Very large supermarket with a cafe and excellent alcohol and wine department and pharmacy directly across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Saludos Susan S,

Thank you so much for your kind words, particularly about the front desk team. We believe that one of our most important assets is our people and their ability to connect with our guests. When I shared this review with them, it was truly nice to see how proud they felt, especially the team members that you have mentioned. We do hope to welcome you back and if I can assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We only stayed one night because we had a condo booked for the rest of the week but the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room faced the pool on the first floor but we didn't hear any noise from it. The warm delicious cookie they give you when you check in was yummy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico
Address: 105 Ave De Diego, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Rooms are equipped with a 32” Flat Screen TV with Premium HBO. Flexible work area features, a large desk, ergonomic chair, phone with voice mail and complimentary high-speed and wireless internet. Each guest room offers coffee service by Wolfgang Puck, refrigerator, microwave and MP3 compatible alarm clocks. For extraordinary meals, enjoy the finest in regional and international cuisines at one of our four restaurants, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.