We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but far from all the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NULL
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but far from all the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel overall is pretty nice. The Rooms are a decent size and the staff is pleasant. The pool is nice and so it the hot tube, but there both small. If your looking for a nice place to just relax then this it it, but your looking for a place that has more to offer other than a bed then this is not the place. The beach is far, there aren't a lot of eating options, and it tooo far from everything. If this property was on the beach it would be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    608
    144
    32
    16
See reviews for
382
791
139
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After staying one night at another local hotel, we made reservations to change over to Doubletree. From the bellhops to the room service, all the staff were friendly and very helpful. It was great having a small "convenience store" in the hotel to grab snack items before heading out for the day. The cafe inside the hotel was also very delicious! We had late night desserts and breakfast at the cafe and both were yummy! It is also a 5 minute walking distance to Condado Beach, directly across the street from a supermarket and nearby shopping, airport and Old San Juan. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel has easy access from the airport, serves a nice mojito, and reflects the standard of DoubleTree hotels on the upper 48. Room smelled fresh, bed comfortable, breakfast adequate. Not much in the way of restaurants nearby, though a good Puerto Rican place is within a block. I'd stay here again when in the area. Be prepared to fork over another $20 as a service fee plus $13 taxes and $15 per day for self-parking even though these fees are not included in the room rate. The advertised room rate of $113 somehow ended up at $162.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpfull.

The rooms were neat. The Internet connection was fast and simple to use. The rooms were spacious.

The hotel location couldn't be better. 10 minutes to the airport and far away enough so that airplanes landing and taking off do not bother you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Doubletree is clean, has friendly staff and a decent restaurant. As others have mentioned, it is close to the airport. It is walking distance to the beach, but we did not find the Nearby beach to be very appealing. Your best bet is to use the sister hotels that staying here gives you the right to visit. We went and used the pool and beach at the Courtyard by Marriott in Isla Verde and La Concha in Condado. Both were nice, but I liked the Courtyard beach and pools better.

We stayed by the pool on the first floor. The sliding glass doors are double or triple panes so you don't hear anything. The pool area is nice. I did not use the gym, but it looked good with modern equipment.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant everyday except one. It is pretty good. As a Hilton Honors Gold member I received vouchers for 2 each day. If not for those, I think $16 for the buffet might be a little over priced, but that is typical pricing for hotels such as this one.

The staff at the front desk, the restaurant and the valets were all very pleasant and helpful. My family is bilingual, but you would be fine with English only as everyone spoke clearly in both languages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for a few days prior to a cruise. Not on the water but a short walk. The water was actually too rough to swim in - red flag days every day we where there. 8/7/13 -8/11/13. We did a lot of site seeing so this location was perfect. There is a public bus on the corner to help cut taxi costs. Self service laundry facilities were very helpful. Staff at front desk nothing less than remarkable. Hats off to Courtney who worked very hard to put together site seeing days for us. Antonio at the valet desk - knew all the local great places to go. Gave great recommendations for local restaurants. Immaculately clean building and pool area. looking forward to staying there again. Very large supermarket with a cafe and excellent alcohol and wine department and pharmacy directly across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Saludos Susan S,

Thank you so much for your kind words, particularly about the front desk team. We believe that one of our most important assets is our people and their ability to connect with our guests. When I shared this review with them, it was truly nice to see how proud they felt, especially the team members that you have mentioned. We do hope to welcome you back and if I can assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We only stayed one night because we had a condo booked for the rest of the week but the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room faced the pool on the first floor but we didn't hear any noise from it. The warm delicious cookie they give you when you check in was yummy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#25 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 3,378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 4,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.