We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Juan, PR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Sutan, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“San Juan, PR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Excellent Hotel with wonderful & relaxing accommodations. The walk to the beach in the morning was very close. The staff were very helpful and felt like I was treated like a king when I walked in the door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hola Robert A,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to see that you found our hotel to be excellent and that you were able to visit nearby Ocean Park beach. We look forward to welcoming you back for your future visits, be it for businnes or vacation. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    500
    109
    22
    13
See reviews for
306
663
125
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, NH, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

They tell you the tax is included but then add another tax rate on top when you check in that you were never told about in the email confirmation, plus they charge and additional per night fee for "incidentals" up front that doesn't get returned until a few days after you check out... The whole process was very confusing and unfriendly to consumers. I would NOT recommend staying here unless you're prepared to be 30% - 50% above what price you're quoted for your stay. The accommodations themselves were fine beyond that, except they also charge you for bell hop service even if you don't use it (which we didn't)... Just tons of nickel and dime stuff here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Saludos TylerC,

I am sorry that you had this experience. It seems that we were not able to properly provide you with the information from your group booking as contracted. If possible please contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com or call me at 787-649-3530, as I would like to have an opportunity to see how we can ensure the proper communication takes place with contracted group bookings.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmp8
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Located within short walking distance to the beach, plenty of restaurants/bars on Asheford Avenue and less than a block to the public bus that will take you to Old San Juan for only $.75 a person. Nice supermarket across the street.

Rooms are very clean and modern. Cleaned promptly everyday.

Beach chairs/coolers are available to use, just as the front desk. Front desk was helpful with everything and suggestions on places to eat nearby and giving change for the bus.

Breakfast buffet with omelettes is delicious.

Pool is not very big, but was never crowded.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hola bmp8,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that the front desk was able to assist you with everything from restaurant recommendations to providing change for the bus. In addition to our beach kit (beach chairs, cooler and towels) we also provide our guests with access to our two beach front sister properties. The front desk will provide you with the access letter. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of assistance with making your reservations.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night as a pre-cruise stay and found it very comfortable. The rooms were a little small by comparison to other Hilton properties we have used but as a 1 nighter, they were more than adequate. The room, as well as public areas, were very clean. I can't say enough about the more than courteous and helpful staff - they certainly exceeded expectations. There are 3 restaurants on property and we enjoyed 2 of them.

Room Tip: Try the mofongo at "Under the Trees" restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week on a business trip. The staff was friendly and the room was comfortable, well lit, and clean with a nice modern bathroom and nice amenities. I ate at 2 of its 3 restaurants (the one right inside and Silk, the Asian fusion restaurant.). Having good restaurants on the property is great for a woman traveling alone. I would and will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hola Jane M,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that you found the room to be clean and comfortable and that you received friendly service from our staff throughout your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to San Juan. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com and I will be happy to assist you with your future reservations.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My family and I recently spent 4 nights vacationing in Puerto Rico. We chose Doubletree because of the reviews found on TripAdvisor.com and the fact that I am a Hilton Diamond Club member. The staff at this hotel are wonderful and go the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one. We got upgraded to pool view rooms with a mini-patio which was nice. The rooms were clean but small in terms of square footage. King size beds are not available. Our room was fitted with a queen bed and a murphy bed. The one fatal flaw the room had was the bathroom design. The door to the bathroom faces the bed an is made out of opaque glass. Thus anytime someone is using the facility they get to share their restroom experience (lighting, noises, etc.)with all the others in the room. Not sure what the designer had in mind here?? Another issue was that one of the days I had to call twice to get our room made up.

If I were to visit PR again, I might try a different Hilton property but I would check the room layout before booking. I notice that the Hilton Caribe is not too far away but it also looked like a very old property.

Room Tip: If you select this property, ask for the pool view room that has a mini-patio right outside your sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay here on a group trip and the staff handled the arrival in a well organized manner. The rooms were neat and clean. A little small but very modern. There was a restaurant connected to the hotel called, Under the tree which was really cute inside. I also enjoyed the happy hour from 5-8pm and the food and drinks were delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.