We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The Condado area is just a few blocks from the beach. Doubletree is in a perfect location. 15 minutes from airport, so if you arrive early enough, you can stroll to the beach. Our room wasn't ready until 3:00 or so, so we just waited in the comfortable lobby and snacked on cookies.

Our room was located on the first floor with direct access to the pool. Wonderful time waking up early and relaxing on a lounge chair just by opening our deck door. Pool and jacuzzi were great. Queen bed with pull down Murphy. Cable channels and water, tea and coffee all in room are a nice touch.

Great restaurants servicing the locals at reasonable prices...just a few blocks away. Pleasant and safe walk. 24 hour supermarket across the street was a pleasant surprise. Fresh sushi service was extremely fresh and delicious. Pizza, deli sandwiches, chicken, rice and beans...all made to order.

Hotel staff is wonderful. Smiling faces and available to answer questions and offer advice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    579
    139
    29
    15
See reviews for
357
759
135
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good new modern hotel, smaller room, great staff but the day I arrived there with my family for a vacation I realized I made a mistake. For the price I paid for this hotel I could got the hotel or resort on the beach, and its at least 15-20 minute walk to the beach from this hotel. Also the street along the beach has better eating options and for most of our meals we ended up walking 20 minute each side. We are kind of stuck with this hotel or we would certainly have preferred to stay on the beachfront hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very impressed. Great facility (fitness, business room and *hot whirlpool!), friendly staff and comfortable room. Greeting cookies. Free coffee/hot milk /and computer right in the lobby. Free wireless. Safe box, microwave, fridge, tv, coffee maker and tea bags included in the room.

Nice location. Not far from airport. 15 min walk to the beach. Best part ~ you can use the swimming pool and private beach at La concha renaissance resort (*infinity pool!).

Big applause to room service. While we were out early morning to enjoy the beach at la concha, they cleaned the room and added extra fresh towels for us.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hola MnemeZ,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that you were impressed with the hotel and that we exceeded your expectations. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Chose this hotel for the proximity from the airport. Updated, very modern looking lobby and bedroom! We were here to check out the town for a few days only so this was a good place to lay down our tired legs!
We had a double and a Murphy bed!! Works really well especially if you're not there to hang out in the room. Small room but cool bathroom!
Those warm cookies after a long day of walking, free wifi in the room, 24 hour fitness center, pool and hot tub!
Right across the hotel was a 24 hour supermarket which we loaded up on water, microwaveable breakfast food since the room had a microwave and refrigerator!
Concierge was very helpful with directions! Taxis have a flat rate of $17 ! Don't bargain!
We also rented our car a few days later to save on rental fees. Rental car service included picking us up from the hotel and driving us to the lot which helped save a few days of car service. Taxis are very easy to flag town. Their taxis are huge - vans!! Which helps if you are traveling in a big group!
Housekeeping closes at 5pm so call early if you need anything- Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries! Nice touch!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree from 2/18/13 to 02/26/13. It was our first time in Puerto Rico. We had a fantastic experience at this hotel. All the staff - the front desk, concierge, the breakfast wait staff and maid staff were polite, helpful and courteous. They are true representatives of the wonderful people of Puerto Rico. The room was clean and had all the ammenities we needed. The room faced the pool area. It was an oasis. It is good for the business people, families and anyone who wants the benefits of staying in a truly relaxing place. The hotel itself is in a great spot. It is across the street from the supermarket (includes liquors, supermarket stuff, fresh foods and hot prepared foods), the bus stop is almost outside the building (it takes you to old San Juan), the taxis are always there. It is also a short walk from the middle of the Condado district - beaches, shopping, restaurants etc. (try Bebos). We are talking about coming back. It is the perfect spot to stay and enjoy the sights of Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor by the pool. You have your own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hola Michelle M,
It was great reading that you had a fantastic experience during your stay with us, and that you received helpful and courteous attention from all employees. I hope your first trip to Puerto Rico is the first of many more to come! Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com and I will be happy to assist you with any future reservations.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our time here. Nice people and very clean. Small rooms but works well if your going to spend your time touring anyways. There is a grocery store located right across the street and a restaurant just down a block.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I'm already booking my vacation back. Hotel manger real friendly.Great Place Loved The Bar Experience especially the bartender Damariss.pool is great beach is a short walk.I got to walk ten block and ran into couple if casino great night life

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hola DonnMiguelon,
Thank you for already booking your next reservation with us. We look forward to seeing you again. I shared your review with Damaris and she was excited to find out she had a positive influence on your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of assistance during your next stays.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.