We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed her with my girl friend it was a great time we had here and loved the super market next door open 24 hour. Very clean and friendly staff. Not to far from the beach but we shared a long walk together and enjoyed it so good spot great trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hola KingFatty,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that you and your girlfriend had a great time while staying with us. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of assistance with any future reservations.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    573
    135
    29
    16
See reviews for
352
751
134
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lillington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My stay at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan was both comfortable and enjoyable. The staff was not only friendly, they went out of their way to make my stay wonderful. Everyday, as I passed by the front desk, I was met with greetings and smiling faces. My room was cleaned daily by very courteous staff. Room service was delivered quickly and was delicious. I had not noticed that I had been overcharged for breakfast until the manager came to my room, apologized and refunded the difference. I felt as if the management and staff were looking out for me and I appreciated that very much. Location is conveniently located across from a 24 hour supermarket and a variety of restaurants, a few within the hotel, are at your disposal. I not only highly recommend Doubletree by Hilton San Juan for others, I also plan to return simply to enjoy the hotel. Thanks for making my stay an excellent experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hola Maria M,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I was excited to read that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us, and that you received friendly attention from our staff throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I spent an overnight here en route from NJ to the BVI's, basically because it was not too far from the airport. This property sits in a commercial district on a busy street with a supermarket across the street. I guess the beach is not too far, but I certainly didn't see it anywhere nearby.

I was dismayed upon arrival when the category room I reserved (King) was not available. I was more dismayed when I found the room I had been given had a murphy bed which pulled out of the wall. This was not what I was expecting.

I was much more dismayed when, upon receipt of the invoice I found a 15% ($34+) "Resort Amenities" charge on top of the room rate. To my eye, there weren't any "resort amenities" in sight at this property other than a pretty standard, compact/urban pool area. My bigger issue was that there was no warning of this charge when I booked the room on the Hilton/Doubletree website. Auto rental companies and airlines are now being very precise at the time of online booking about expected fees, surcharges and the like. I take exception to Hilton/Doubletree springing this undisclosed charge at the time of checkout. I stayed at this hotel based on price and convenience to the airport. If I had wanted to pay for resort amenities, I would NEVER have picked this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't count on getting the room category you book online. Do be prepared for a room with a pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Saludos Mikeparen,

Frist of I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you encountered during your stay with us. I can assure you that in no way we would intentionally miss lead our guest and have ensured that our websites and booking channels display the correct information and that all charges are disclosed.

Unlike many destinations were hotels nickel and dime their guests by charging them for every little thing, like bottled water, internet, computer usage, movies, copies, fitness club usage, special amenities and many other services, all hotels in San Juan basically charge a hotel charge/resort fee and include these items. In our case we have added services like beach coolers, so our guest can enjoy the day at the beach. We also provide the ice and our guest can take their in room bottled water or stock up at the gift shop or the supermarket across the street. As an added service, we have established a great relationship with the La Concha Beach Resort and the CY-Isla Verde Beach Resort where our guests enjoy full access to their beach and pool facilities. If our guest would like to stay in during the day or night, we provide a healthy stock of blue ray/DVD movies. We will even provide pop-corn to be prepared at the in room microwave. We believe that these amenities enhance our guest experience without having to pull out the credit card for every additional request and service. To us there is nothing worse that waking up in middle of the night thirsty and have to pull a price tag of an already sitting there bottle of water. This is why we provided as much bottle water as our guest request.

If I can be of service to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com

Always at your service,

Yodil Caban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here March 8-11, 2013. The room was beautiful and clean and opened right out to the pool area! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very conveniently located to everything and was a $15-$20 cab ride to every place we wanted to visit. There is also a great grocery store located directly across the street which made it easy to always have snacks!

You wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel and the room are lovely and well decorated. My daughter and I were here for vacation and the hotel is not in a great neighborhood. You have no feeling of being on a tropical island. Instead, you feel shoehorned in a Miami-like middle-to-lower income neighborhood. I think it is better suited for business trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I found this hotel to be run very efficiently and in a warm friendly manner. Each employee seemed to be loving their job! Any question I asked was answered quickly and always with a smile. The location of this hotel is so perfect. I was able to take a bus to anywhere I wanted to go and it is only a block away from fashionable Ashford Avenue. Wonderful museums and arts centers are only 2 blocks away. The beautiful beaches are in walking distance with this hotel's sister hotel, La Concha affording full beach priviledges...just ask the front desk for a letter of intro and you can use La Concha's beach. It is a good walk on lovely Ashford Ave. or you can take a taxi....Taxis in PR are reasonable and at the airport, I was given a taxi schedule with rates. I never found any price gauging and all drivers' were professional and helpful. Upon checking in you will be given a delicious chocolate chip cookie. My room had all the amenities for a very quiet, comfortable stay. I used the fitness room which had a good variety of machines. When I stayed, the hotel was fully booked yet, I never felt that it was overcrowded. The staff is so well trained. I loved my 8 day stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hola Linda M,
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and I am happy you had time to take advantage of our Beach Club with access to our beach front sister property. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was thre only for one night. The location is good, infron of hotel there is a supermarket.
My arrival was on about 02.00 am. The on duty lady in reception was not so friendly, maybe because i wake up her from her rest.
The room was very good, modern design and the refrigeartor was EMPTY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.