We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable, and love the cookie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable, and love the cookie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It feels more like a business hotel, but the room was good: cosy, comfortable, and quiet. The whole place seems new, newly refurbished.

The staffs were great. Had the concierge to organized a day trip to the el Yunque national park, and it was decent.

There is a supermarket right across from the hotel. Don’t buy anything from the hotel’s convenient shop, buy it from the supermarket as it’s a lot cheaper. The hotel room also comes with microwave oven if you want to reheat some food you bought at the supermarket.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hola mrtravelmore,
Thank you for your kind review. I was glad to read that the Front Desk assisted you with making reservations for the El Yunque day trip and that you enjoyed the tour. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    518
    112
    22
    13
See reviews for
308
675
128
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has a modern atmosphere. The breakfast is very good and very complete. The staff is friendly and helpful. Always clean and neat. They have valet parking and other services including Internet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really nice location with a fantastic beach within walking distance; the service was really good and the staff were very friendly from the Front Desk to the Housekeepers. We had a great time at the DoubleTree, the Hotel is only 10 minutes walking from the main strip but it's worth it to stay OFF the strip due to the heavy amount of traffic and tourist..
The rooms were spacious and spotless and the gym is well equip! Definately will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hola Tourist V,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that you had a great stay with us, and that you received friendly and good service from all the staff. As you mention, we are only a few minutes away from beautiful Ocean Park beach and close to several area restaurants. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would definitely recommend the Doubletree, but not for people who are there for a Caribbean vacation / Puerto Rican culture or vibe. If you're there for work, though, or just on your way in or out of the city, then it's great. It's clean, friendly, very pretty, comfortable, and my room was very nice. The bathroom was very stylish with tons of mirrors. I felt taken care of, and the pool area is lovely (the pool is small but attractive and lots of seating). The breakfast buffet was big but not very high quality, but whatever.

The thing is, it's very corporate. As others have mentioned, your room (and the food, the lobby, etc) could be anywhere in the US. It's situated on the outskirts of the main tourist area - stores and apartment buildings surround you. It's safe and there are lots of options for food, staples, etc - but a little pedestrian. To get downtown or to Old San Juan, you'll have to take a taxi that's $15 each way or figure out the buses - which was not hard at all once someone at the convention center explained which bus for me to take, but when I had originally asked at the front desk about the buses, they told me it would take way too long and wasn't convenient, so I should just take taxis. Not great advice. But there are several important cultural institutions in walking distance, including art museums, that I wish I had had time to go to.

I had good food and extremely cheap drinks amongst locals at the little dive bar/resto up the street, Diana's. If you can speak spanish I'd recommend giving them your business for lunch or drinks! Overall, a good place to stay for a short while, but not a destination place for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice hotel. The rooms are small but very well appointed. They have microwave and Refrigerator. You also get access to the sister property La Concha by using the beach club privileges. The pool is quaint and nice! There are always lounge chairs available. My only con is the $30 dollar a day service fee that you are charged per day! Be prepared because you are not made aware of this fee until checkout. There is a 24 hour supermarket across the street. The market has a hot bar with good food choices. The location is on the outer edge of Condado. Condado is a very nice beach location. The Doubletree has more of an Urban view vs Beach view.

Room Tip: $30/day service fee. Rooms with pool view beautiful and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

1. Good location, close to the beach and Ashford Ave (with bars and restaurants).

2. Also, Plaza del mercado (big party on Fri and Sat nights) is walking distance from here.

3. Nice rooms, specially the pool-front rooms with the patio facing pool and hot tub.

4. Front desk concierge staff is nice and helpful (atleast tries to be).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked this on Hotwire for a two night pre cruise stay - couldn't have been happier and the price was right. Very nice hotel - much nicer than I would have expected from Double Tree and I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Nice pool, great staff. My only complaint was the tv's on the treadmills didn't work, so I ran the streets of San Juan, which was better anyways. I can't remember the name of it, but ask the staff to direct you to the Puerto Rican place around the corner for lunch and dinner - great food and dirt cheap prices.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.