We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our flight was an early morning flight and we reached there by 7am! We had asked for early check-in during the reservation. Though we were super early, we were allowed to use the lounge and wifi till the time we got our room. The staff tried their best to give us access to the room as early as possible. The restaurant staff was pretty awesome too. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    893
    449
    97
    18
    11
See reviews for
273
595
116
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small compared to United States. Hotel and rooms are very modern. Room had shower with glass doors, no bathtub. Room and all common areas were very clean. Friendly staff. Short walk to several restaurants and a grocery store right across the street. Microwave, refrig, and safe in room.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for a 5 night business trip. The hotel is well located to go in and out fast into the main highway. There is no beach adjacent or at the hotel but close. The restaurants are very good. Rooms are well kept and the work area in it is very comfortable. Noticed that in some areas the property is starting to show some wear, specially hall carpet and around the pool.

Breakfast is better than other hotels and the staff is friendly and very helpful, as the majority of PR hotels. They offered a managers cocktail one afternoon.

I had a negotiated rate by my employer, however when I got the bill I was being charged $32.22 per day for a "Service Charge." This isn't/wasn't disclosed anywhere. They reversed it on my bill eventually, but this kind of thing is not pleasing. I also suggested that the valet parking should be elected at check in, and billed to the hotel room automatically. I had to stamp my valet parking everyday.

I will consider this property again, (I travel here 12 -15 times a year) basically for the ease of location, room layout and the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have written many reviews of this hotel resort - each time I have been there. We usually come 2-3 times a year for several years. The staff is the same every time and that is unusual but speaks to the quality of the hotel. Happy staff = happy guests. We always feel like we are coming home - and we are! The manager Bo is always around making sure everything is running smoothly - from the front desk to the pool to the grounds. Thanks to the front desk staff - Juan, Marguerite, Peter and the others, to the breakfast staff - Claribel, Lydia, and all the others - just wonderful. Thanks also to Antonio who makes sure he is always available.

On a previous visit, I had mentioned a bad room service experience and this visit, Bo brought the food/bev manager out to the pool to discuss it with me. I was floored that this was remembered and addressed. After that, complimentary beverages were delivered to us poolside.

The rooms that open to the pool are where we always stay and they are wonderful! The pool area is so peaceful and beautiful with waterfalls, hot tub, private places everywhere to sit under trees and read, food is delivered there and you truly will not want to leave.

Thank you to everyone for all my visits and for sharing the loss of my husband last August. They all remembered him too. They make you family there.

Room Tip: If you can book a room opening out to the pool with your own patio, do so. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hola Fosforita,
Thank you for your kind review and for being part of our extended family. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Everything in this hotel is pleasant. Great service, great ammenities, restaurants, nearby Bebo's Cafe is awesome! supermarket, bars, pool, etc. My only concern is the location. It's not aweful, but it's on a part of El Condado area called Calle Loiza with De Diego Ave. that it's, somehow not so attractive. For the rest, a very good hotel...This is my second favorite hotel in the San Juan area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were staying 4 nights in this resort with beautiful room, very clean bathroom and nice services (incl. laundry!!!) The pool is small and refreshing, in front of the hotel is supermarket. Very easy to get from the airport. Taxi will costs you approx. 17 USD, check PR Taxicab on Facebook or call (Tel: +1 787-514-5554) speaks English and very nice person! Go to eat to San Juan old City - the only great place to eat close by is Perla (Concha Resort). By the way do not forget to ask about the Beach Club - with this resort you have access to an amazing Concha resort (15 min walk) and you can enjoy all the facilities there. Unfortunatelly we have found out it only last day - the receptionist forgot to tell us! Concha Resort organise also a lot of daily trips - to Culebra if you are staying over the weekend and would have a chance for day trip.
Location is not that great, it is nothing to see around, but if you like to walk - you can get everywhere. Taxi to old San Juan is approx. 20 USD, the bus is around 75C and the bus stop is just few steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. No complaints what so ever! Staff are friendly and attentive. SuperMax grocery across the street made things quite convenient. Within walking distance to The Condado district. Don't walk to Old San Juan as we did. Too far!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hola Michael D,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that you received friendly and attentive service from our staff. As you mention, it is a long walk to Old San Juan, but it is only about 15 minutes by taxi. Within walking distance is beautiful Ocean Park beach, the Puerto Rico Art Museum and several great restaurants. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Rooms are equipped with a 32” Flat Screen TV with Premium HBO. Flexible work area features, a large desk, ergonomic chair, phone with voice mail and complimentary high-speed and wireless internet. Each guest room offers coffee service by Wolfgang Puck, refrigerator, microwave and MP3 compatible alarm clocks. For extraordinary meals, enjoy the finest in regional and international cuisines at one of our four restaurants, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.