We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive, modern, clean, and friendly staff, too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hopkinton, NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressive, modern, clean, and friendly staff, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I chose this hotel after reading the trip advisor reviews, and it lived up to them and more!. I was impressed right away with the design of the entryway and lobby. It is very upscale and designed with a lot of greenery. The clean lines and modern feel of the room decor was pleasing. Yes, the bathrooms are different than at most hotels, but it is easy to adjust to that once you are settled in. Our first night we had a queen room and then switched to a king. I would recommend the king rooms if one is available. The pool area is so pretty and clean both in the daytime and at night. I wish I was there right now listening to the coqui. We went to the sister resort La Concha for an afternoon and loved it. I would recommend that too.

Room Tip: Kind rooms are more comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    571
    135
    29
    15
See reviews for
352
746
134
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at another hotel the night before (that was so gross) and decided to check out of there, and checked in here. What great value, and was totally worth switching to. Clean and updated rooms, great service and worth the money (we even got a great deal). And the restaurant "under the tree" was fantastic too! Definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Lovely & the staff was wonderful, The hotel looks amazing and their renovation!!!! I had stayed here before and it was good ,, The rooms are nicely done, and They aim to please with anything that you might need

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great location just 10 minutes west of the airport. Instant access to the main highway and awesome local inexpensive restaurants and bars within walking distance, including a supermarket accross the street. Five minutes away from the Condado beach area,The room was extremely clean, comfortable and modern. The hotel staff is extremely warm, friendly and accommodating. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Although this is my fourth or fifth time to Puerto Rico, this was my first stay at the Doubletree. The hotel itself is a short 10 minute, less than $20 taxi ride from the airport. Check-in was quick and efficient and the room was ready upon arrival (as was a warm chocolate chip cookie). I personally did not find that the room was small at all as other reviewers have (then again, I am used to NYC real estate). The room had a desk, countless easily accessible outlets, good lighting, and enough room to comfortably walk on both sides and foot of the bed. The room also had a microwave, a small refrigerator, and a safe. The refrigerator and microwave are especially useful given the large 24 hour supermarket directly across the street from the hotel.

The hotel was about a 15 minute walk to the beach/La Concha. To some it may make no difference, but after trying different routes, I personally enjoyed the walk on Wilson St to Washington to Luchetti (or Washington to Villa Mayo to Manuel Rodriguez Serra to Luchetti) to Cervantes to Ashford (alternatively, I walked all the way to the end of the street on Cervantes and hopped down to the beach and walked along the beach to La Concha). Although the pool at the Doubletree is nice and enjoyable, I preferred the short walk to enjoy the beach. Once at La Concha, the process is quick and painless to begin using the facilities. I brought the letter that I had requested from the Doubletree to the front desk, they asked me for ID and the letter, made a photocopy, and I was on my way. There are a number of different pools all of which are great... enjoy the pool looking out onto the beach early as it will be in the shade after about midday. The beach is great albeit a little crowded on the weekend but there are enough lounge chairs and umbrellas for all. There are plenty of dining options around La Concha. If you prefer to eat in Old San Juan, it is about 10 minutes from the Doubletree and also less than $20.

All in all, the service at the hotel was fantastic. Bo and the ladies at the front desk went out of their way to make sure that anything you needed for your stay was provided. I certainly hope to return here in future trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very much enjoyed my recent stay. Previous reviews by others were accurate and helpful. Came to San Juan for a conference, but wanted a 'non-resorty' hotel which this place was, and wanted to take advantage of the grocery store across the street which was perfect for saving money and avoiding hotel/conference food. Parking for my rental jeep was short walk away. Neighborhood was safe in my opinion. For more local food, I headed to Bebo's on multiple occasions which was just up the road from the parking garage. Room itself was perfect for my needs, especially the mini-fridge, microwave, and safe. Probably would be on the smaller side if I was traveling with my family. Very clean, especially the bathroom. I also liked that I didn't have to walk far from the entrance to get to the elevators and up to my room. In driving around and seeing other hotels during my stay, I found Isla Verde to be way too crowded and commercial/touristy. Same with the hotel properties along Condado beach like the Conrad and Marriott. Staying in Old San Juan would have been a nightmare parking-wise. So would definitely stay at Doubletree again if/when I find myself back in Puerto Rico again. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Park, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was the first time I stayed in this hotel. Normally I stay near the beach when I'm in Puerto Rico but I decided to try the Doubletree. It was very good. It is located in Condado walking distance from good restaurants and bars. It has a convenient 24 hours big supermarket across the street. Also you will find two pub bars next to the hotel. The lobby and social areas are well decorated; as soon you walk in you will enjoy an awesome smell from a chocolatier store. It has also a 24 hours pool and spa. My room at the 8th floor was impeccable and beautiful with great bathroom. The Internet is free but very slow. The hotel also has valet parking (20$) or self parking (15$). Breakfast was ok regular buffet with fresh omelette made at order. The fitness room is small but well equipped if you like cardio.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.