We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree the night before our cruise, January 12, 2013. The room was comfortable, attractive and clean. I've read other reviews stating the rooms were small; compared to other hotels we've stayed at in San Juan over the years, the rooms were quite a bit. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area is lovely. The location is good - there's a 24 hour supermarket right across the street and it's a quick walk to Ashford Ave. and lots of good restaurants. We hope to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    519
    112
    22
    13
See reviews for
308
675
130
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was a beautiful hotel and every convenient to grocery store. Very friendly personnel. Very nice to sit outside in the evening and watch people as they were coming and going. Very nice lobby too . Only thing if you want 2 double beds make sure you specify when you make the reservations. Room small but very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hola salzadiva,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to see that you had a great stay and that you received friendly service from our staff. I hope will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel. The rooms are really small but are clean and have modern furniture. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. They greeted us with a warm cookie as we checked in and informed us that the "La Concha" resort is a sister property and we are welcome to use their amenities as well. We ended up spending the whole day at La Concha (it's about a 15 minute walk). They have great pools, a beach with chairs/umbrellas, and a casino. The staff also recommended us a great local restaurant (Called Bebo's) just up the street from the hotel.

Great hotel for the money. You get all the perks of a resort for half the price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hola immulatin,
Thank you for staying with us. I am happy to see that you were able to take advantage of our beach club with access to our beach front sister property. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com, and I will try to assign you one of our more spacious corner rooms.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great modern, clean and comfortable rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent pool, hot tub and very relaxing outdoor area. Very good onsite dining. Walking distance to beaches and casinos. Short under $20 taxi ride to Old San Juan. Would definitely stay here again next time in San Juan.



Genuine Hotels.com guest review

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Operations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hola Carl T,
Thank you for your recent visit and your kind review. As you mentioned, we are located within walking distance to beautiful Ocean Park beach, a variety of restaurants and the casinos in Condado. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was impressed with the location and price of the Doubletree in San Juan. The rooms were very clean, the staff were very helpful and courteous and the location was within walking distance to the beaches and restaurants. Peter at the front desk was so helpful in providing suggestions for attractions, restaurants and directions around the city.

My only issue with the hotel was that I had a terrible time connecting to wifi in my room. I had to constantly go to the lobby to get a better connection. This became very frustrating, as I was trying to finish up some work during my trip and the connection issues prolonged me working while on vacation. This was very disappointing being that Hilton brands usually are very business-friendly.

Overall, I give this property 4.5 stars and I definitely recommend staying here. Another plus is that they have sister properties along Isla Verde that allow you to use their pools and beach area as if you were a guest there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree. It's not on the beach, and it's not "lavish." However, it's very well-run, very clean, and very comfortable, with a friendly, helpful staff, and the prices are very fair. The rooms are small but well-organized (with plenty of outlets - not often the case with some hotels), with a small bathroom and shower only (though very nicely decorated). We had a microwave and small fridge, and the SuperMax 24-hour grocery store is right across the street (VERY convenient). The hotel has no ATM (that's at the SuperMax), but does have car and taxi service, a small business center, free wifi, a small gift shop, and a nice fitness center, pool, and hot tub. The hotel provides a letter that is an access pass to some of the hotels that are located on the beaches. We found the neighborhood very nice and walked back and forth from the hotel to the beach/pools of La Concha and the public beach several times, but be forewarned - it's about a mile to walk, each way, to get to the main drag of Condado where all the beaches and restaurants are. We enjoy walking and so we didn't mind this, and we didn't feel unsafe at any point walking down the streets through various neighborhoods. There isn't a hotel shuttle, so it's about a $20 cab ride to or from the airport (and fairly quick if it's not during rush hour).

Our primary complaint about the hotel, if it really is one, is that the website lists four restaurants as being on the premises. However, only one (Pierre's) was there inside the hotel, and this had a very small bar and very high prices for the food. Of the other three restaurants, only one seemed to be open (Silk), and it was not only very expensive, but was part of the building next door. There didn't really seem to be a good, affordable place to eat connected with the hotel, and no real coffee shop. Granted, there are plenty of those in San Juan, and if you're going to walk down to the Condado area, you can eat where you want. However, even a Starbucks, or its local variant, attached to the hotel would have made life much easier in that respect, and if you want a vibrant bar "scene" or a relatively large bar in which to watch sports, you'll need to walk to a different hotel. That much said, we were happy enough with the rooms, the service, the price, and the location that we're likely to choose this hotel again on a return trip.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the poolside have a great view, but there's also a tall building on that side w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here a week and really enjoyed it. Short walk to the beach, nice grocery store across the street, good restaurants nearby. Everything was clean and well-kept. The staff was exceptionally friendly and gave great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.