We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Doubletree” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Doubletree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here the week of July 4th. Although we did not spend much time in the room, we enjoyed every minute of it! The rooms are clean, well decorated and very well kept. The rooms are a little small but hopefully you won't be spending a lot of time there! The staff was extremely polite. The rooms have a fridge and microwave which were great because there is a supermarket right across the street. The restaurants in the hotel are a little pricey so we saved those for dinner only. My only complaint is that the main strip for this area was a pretty good walk away. There was not much activity at the hotel itself. All of the remaining hotels with nightlife were at least a mile away. Other than that, we had no complaints!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hola kjames2731,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to ready that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoy the amenities in your room such as the fridge and microwave. We also have DVDs or Blurays that we lend to our guest if needed. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    573
    135
    29
    16
See reviews for
352
751
134
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Room was fine and staff very friendly and helpful. Used DVD player, business center and pool area without problems. Liked convenience to local stores and to many restaurants on Ashford. Didn't go to casinos but those also within walking distance. What I didn't like: on the a la carte breakfast menu the restaurant charges $4 for two slices of toast and, as with many restaurants, the fruit on the buffet wasn't always ripe. Also, the 18% "resort fee" includes Wi-Fi access although other literature at the hotel says that Wi-Fi is "free". Last, when I called the hotel ahead of my trip and asked for the address to use on the GPS we would have in our rental car, that address got us lost. Fortunately, the map and directions from Google on the IPhone we had got us there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have stayed at this Doubletree twice in the past 6 months. The staff is wonderful - friendly, helpful at every turn. The accommodations are comfortable (although the public areas are way too cold/over air conditioned but I find this to be true in any building in San Juan). Room had mini refrigerator and microwave. The grocery store across the street is a plus, but there are many good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The beach is accessible 2-3 blocks away. This location is convenient to many business locations. We have a negotiated corporate rate which makes it easy to keep "extra charges" managable and within budget. Only complaint is that I could not find a way to use the stairway to access my room, forced to use the elevator. Frances S.

Room Tip: The top floor, end of hallway away from elevator is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hola Frances S,
Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back in the near future. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your stay more comfortable. You may contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com for any assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I just got back from a 3 night stay at the Doubletree in San Juan. I have to say considering this is a highly ranked hotel on Tripadviser, I am highly disappointed. First of all, the parking garage is not very convenient to the hotel. You have to go around the block to get into the garage and then take stairs/elevator to the ground level and then walk outside to get to the main entrance of the hotel. The parking is $15/day plus taxes. Each time you want to go out, you have to wait in line at the front desk to get your ticket validated.

I had booked a queen size room. The room was so small and made Manhattan rooms look like suites compared to it. In addition, the room was very stuffy because there was no way for the humidity from the bathroom to escape the room. I am also Hilton Gold and from looking on the website, I knew larger rooms were available. However, the guy at the front desk said they were completely sold out and so I could not get an upgrade..Hmm

As part of my Hilton Gold benefits, I was given free breakfast vouchers. The food was the same as an in mainland United States- frozen foods warmed up and served buffet style. Everything was bland, dry and tasteless. Even the coffee was cold.

The pool area was always dirty with towels laying around and everything being disorganized. I do have to say for a hotel, the gym was very nice.

The hotel is not in the touristy part of town but not far from old San Juan and Condado area by car.

At checkout, I learnt there was an 18% resort fee on top of your base hotel rate and tax on the resort fee as well. So expect an additional 20% of top of your base rate.

In all, seemed very mediocre with lots of charges.I would prefer to stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Saludos Doshivk,

I am very sorry that you were disappointed in your experience with us and that your guestroom did not meet your expectations. We do try to accommodate upgrades and special requests once we received them, I am truly sorry that due to our sold out situation we were not able to accommodate you in one of our lager rooms. I do appreciate your feedback on our breakfast service and pool area, what you have described is unacceptable and I will make sure to follow up and make the necessary corrections. If I can be of service to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact me directly at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

2 friends and I went down to San Juan for a weekend to relax and see a new area. The hotel is located in Condado, about 2 blocks from the beach. Not a bad walk at all. Across the street there was a supermax (grocery store) which was convenient because we didn't feel like eating out every meal. If you're looking to go to Old San Juan for the touristy stuff it's a quick $15 cab ride, or you can take the bus (75 cents but the schedule is very unreliable, don't take it if you're in a hurry.)

As for the hotel itself it was very nice. The room was clean and stylish and the staff was very helpful. They helped make the trip amazing. One thing I was unaware of was the resort tax (for Internet, pool usage etc.). This is not a resort in mg opinion and I didn't use any of those amenities but when I explained that the staff was very helpful in resolving the issue.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance, including an UNO bar and grill. Most of the night life seemed to be in Old San Juan, or over at Brava on the other side of the city but there was a pretty cool club/collection of bars called Plan B about a block from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I really had a great stay at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan. I stayed there from october 5th to october 8th , 2012. I traveled alone and I totally felt safe. It is located in a great area in front of a 24 hour supermarket that is really expensive thought. It's at 8 minutes from the international airport and it will cost you 18$ with the taxi turistica. I had only one small luggage. I don't know if it is more if you have more luggages or heavy one. When I arrived, I was well welcomed by Sugeil Fermin, front desk agent. She gave me a room before the checkin time, which was really appreciated, She also gave me informations about things to do around and the old san juan without me asking. That's what I qualify excellent customer services. The room was clean. My housekeeper's name was Sandra. She was really nice to me and always smiling. Love my room and it was really quiet, Antonio, the bellboy or concierge was nice too. A serviable man. On sunday morning, I sunday morning, i took the buffet breakfast at the hotel. Was really a great price (15,99$ + tx). Nathalia Santos at the restaurant Cafe Pierre welcome me with a good attention. I think she realized in my accent that I was speaking french and she started speaking french with me which I really appreciated :). I was really surprise to meet in San Juan a staff member who speaks french. It's a great bonus. I really appreciate :)
I have no negative comment to say about my experience except that I was disappointed for the choice of tropical fruits at the breakfast buffet. There was only cantaloup, honey melon, pineapple and grapes. Were was the mangos? Unfortunately, the cantaloup and honey melon was not sweet. Despite that, the service was excellent and my experience was amazing. I definitively recommend this hotel to everyone. P.s the welcome chocolate chips cookie is succulent :) Yummie!
Thank you to all staff member of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan!
Jenny :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hola Jenny V,
Thank you for recent stay with us and thank you for your kind review. I was happy to see that we were able to provide you with early check-in, and that all the staff provided you with excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilotn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I should have written this review a LONG time ago. I imagined myself outlining every single great thing about our stay at this hotel, but I'm realizing that that would take forever. So here's what I've got: great location, great hotel, great staff. I went there with my girlfriends for my birthday. They had a special birthday treat waiting in my room and they greeted us by name in the hallways and front desk. Here's a bit more:

Location: great (but we had a rental car to get to old San Juan). Note - the hotel isn't beachside.
Business Center: Just OK - 2 or 3 computers with basic internet service.
Gym: Le Wow. Great facility with windows, treadmills, weights, etc. There's a spa too.
Food: We only had breakfast at the hotel and it was good.
Staff: AMAZING. Seriously, this staff is SO nice.
Room: Very comfortable. Caveat - the bathroom is a simple sliding glass door, so privacy is *ahem* limited.

All in all, it was a great stay. Looking forward to visiting again!
Trip: Dec 2010

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hola anioti,
Thank you for your kind words. I was glad to read that we could assist with making your birthday celebration a good one. I hope we will be able to help you celebrate many more birthdays to come. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.