We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

All the staff very courteous and professional. I travel for work. This group went above the norm. Thank you for your hard work.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    519
    112
    22
    13
See reviews for
308
675
130
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree June 30 - July 3, 2012... it was our 3rd stay at the hotel over the past couple years. We were in San Juan for our mom's funeral which was very stressful to say the least. The entire staff was incredibly friendly and completely service oriented... would especially like to thank Paula in in-house reservations and Rafael at the front desk. Everyone from the bell staff and valet to housekeeping and the front desk deserve to know what an outstanding job they do. I had the opportunity to thank Bo, the operations manager after checking out and extend my thoughts and appreciation... this is a beautiful totally renovated hotel with a very contemporary decor. It's location is in the heart of Condado with great authentic Puerto Rican dining within easy walking distance. Our trip could not have been better... we are very grateful to the entire team at this hotel... simply the best!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Hola DimitriB,
It was a pleasure meeting you. I am happy the entire staff was able to help you enjoy your stay under these difficult circumstances. I also shared your review with Paula and Rafael, who were happy to know that they had this positive influence on your stay.
Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Sincerely,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree for two nights while we explored San Juan, before moving out of the city and around the coast. The hotel was very nice and well maintained. The rooms were a bit smaller than most Doubletree's, but that wasn't a huge deal. The pool area was nice, and lots of nice sitting areas around the hotel.

The only drawback was the location. While it was in Condado and relatively close to things, it was a good 15 minute walk to the main area in Condado which was annoying with the rain. But, that's part of why it's such a good value. Would definitely rather stay in a good hotel for a reasonable price rather than somewhere centrally located and run down, not to mention overly priced.

While the hotel was nice, it was basic accomodations. If you're looking to class it up a bit, this isn't exactly the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Please, don't for get to book early this place is a perfect hitten San Juan close to almost every place you are going to visit in el condado, Santurce, Isla Verde, Pi~nones Loiza, and of course Old San Juan, yes it is really close to the airport too. But best of all its a Hilton's honors place, may be I will look for a condominium in the neighbors. All. Family place but best for couples looking to get away from the families for a vacations from vacations, or even holidays like el Dia de San Juan in June 23, perfecto!

Room Tip: Try to always check in by 2:30 pm to the best room over looking the pools, room that you have a pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Although I had reserved this hotel for 3 nights and was a bit apprehensive based on mixed reviews, I stayed with the decision to stay and am glad we did. The location is not near the beach but we had no time for the beach anyway. The grocery store across the street was more than adequate. Parking is just 50 steps away. The accommodations were excellent; the wifi was first rate. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet was also very good--adding Puerto Rican breakfast favorites like cream of wheat, oatmeal and cornstarch/cream of corn definitely sealed the deal. I disagree with the negatives expressed about this hotel. if we had a problem with the room, they were quick to resolve them. We and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Good wifi reception, nice european style bathrooms/showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here 5 nights in June and couldn’t have been happier! As stated in other reviews, the entire staff was so friendly and made us feel like they genuinely cared. Upon check-in we were told there weren’t any nonsmoking king rooms available. They made every effort to find a room with a king for us to move into as soon as possible, even having one of the managers check the level of smoke odor in a smoking room with a king that was available that night. We opted to wait until another room was available two nights later. It was even nicer than the first, bigger with sliding doors that opened directly into a patio in the pool area. The nicest touch was coming back to the hotel after our first day sightseeing to find a fruit and cheese plate with a bottle of wine congratulating us on our anniversary. We really enjoyed using the beach and pool facilities of their sister resort, Courtyard Marriott Isla Verde. Also, loved the location with many restaurants within walking distance. The only thing that could be changed about this hotel would be the bathroom doors. They are glass pocket doors that provide very little privacy. This is mentioned in other reviews and did not prevent us from staying here, however I would spend the money to install solid doors that provide maximum privacy based on the close proximity to the bed. We will definitely stay here again when we return for our next vacation in San Juan!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel was great and so was the staff! When I was looking for a hotel I wanted something affordable but with good amenities and a pool. The Doubletree was perfect for me! I stayed at this property for the first time in March 2012 with my boyfriend and we loved it so much I booked it again for a girls weekend in June. I'll highlight the key parts for me...

Price: It is far cheaper than some of the beach resorts but a little more than some of the smaller non-chain hotels. I was comfortable paying a little more for a brand name that I trust.

Location: It is only about 10-15 minutes from the airport. (About a $20 cab ride) It is also about a 10 minute cab ride to the heart of Old San Juan. (Also about a $20 cab ride. Cab prices seemed to be a few dollars more expensive when I was traveling with a boyfriend vs. traveling with one of my girlfriends) The best part of the location is the supermarket across the street. This is very helpful if you want to pack a beach lunch, snacks for the room or purchase toiletries you didn't feel like dealing with for a carry on bag.

Pool: The pool was clean and always had plenty of towels and chairs available. If you are looking for a larger pool and beach access, the Doubletree has agreements with both La Concha and another beachside property. The front desk can arrange daily passes to these other hotels. I loved this feature! In fact, this feature brought me back to the Doubletree for a second time!

Cookies: Of course we were greeted with 2 warm cookies when we checked in. Always a bonus!

Staff: Every single staff member was friendly and helpful. The front desk was very efficient. The housekeeping staff was thorough and considerate. I would like to thank Sandra and Amelia from housekeeping for taking care of our disorganized room and making sure we always had fresh towels when requested.

Food: The breakfast buffet was good and there were made to order omelets each day. The buffet also included cereal, yogurt, fruit, french toast, pancakes, toast and bagels. There are several good restaurants near the hotel. My favorite was "Silk" the Asian restaurant just outside of the hotel. They had great sushi and entrees. I also liked a place that was slightly farther up the block. It does not have a great atmosphere if you are looking for something fancy but the food was delicious. They serve tons of authentic Puerto Rican dishes and the prices were very good.

Overall I would highly recommend this property to anyone. Before booking just make sure you are ok with the following features:
It has more of a business vibe than a tourist/beach vibe.
The rooms are stylish and clean but not super big.
The bathrooms are modern with frosted glass separating it from the bedroom. If you are traveling with someone (maybe for work) who you are not 100% comfortable with you might not feel like there is enough privacy with the frosted glass. The shower is also made out of clear glass so unless you are comfortable being naked in front of your roommate - they cannot really use the bathroom while you are using the shower.
These things aside I would definitely stay there again...just want to point out some things that might not be right for all guests.

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton Honors member you can possibly get a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Saludos Dana4444,

Thank you some much for such a great review! I am sure that many travelers will enjoy reading it and will make great use of your pointers. When I read this to our housekeeping department and congratulated Sandra and Emilia, the entire team was really ecstatic and cheered them on. Thank you so much for recognizing their efforts. If I can be of service to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.