We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SWEET” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“SWEET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Loved this hotel. It's clean and friendly. We had a room with the murphy bed in the wall. It was excellent. You can easily put it up in the morning and have plenty of room. Unique decor too. First time I've ever seen a frosted glass bathroom. The help in the hotel are exceptional. Don't forget to ask for a cookie everyday. They're delicious. The restaurant is good, and the sushi restaurant around the corner has the best sushi I've ever had. Don't miss out on the restaurant in the Art Museum that is 3 blocks away. The soft shell crab in pumpkin sauce with tangerines was incredible.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. You'll have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    469
    101
    21
    11
See reviews for
293
622
121
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Rooms aren't big, but very modern. Our bathroom didn't have a bath, which isn't a big deal since we didn't have the kids with us. The staff was very friendly and the bus stop was close by. The supermarket across the street is very useful, especially if you are staying for a long trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Somehow I did not have the same great feelings as some reviewers staying here. It was an OK stay, maybe I had expected too much?

The room was average size, but bright. Buffet breakfasts were reasonable. The bathroom gave a modern look, it only had a shower and no bath. The bed was not king, maybe queen or double? It was not as comfortable as beds at some Doubletree hotels we stayed at. The water pressures for the shower were very weak!

We were not too thrilled about the location. While we were told we could take the bus to the Old SJ and the Mall, we waited for over an hour - no bus, so we gave up and took a taxi instead (like other reviewers had said, average $20 one-way to most places). Bus fares were cheap, 75c for a ride, but buses did not run on any time-table.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Saludos Hotelreviews06,
We are sorry that you were not able to leave our hotel with the same great feeling as most of our reviewers. We do have rooms with King size bed and tubs instead of showers. Our guest can request them upon check in or by contacting us at reservations@sanjuandoubletree.com beforehand. If I can personally be of service to you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,
Yodil Caban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel fit the bill when I needed a hotel in a location between the cruise ship terminal and the airport that was reasonably priced for three people. I think that it cost us about $20 dollars to go each way (marina-hotel and hotel-airport). There is a 24 hour taxi stand that came in very handy when we had an early morning flight! The room that we stayed in was very spacious; even with the Murphy bed down for the night. There was free internet with our room, TV programs in several languages, and a modern, clean bathroom. There were ample pillows and the comforter was soft. All of these were a plus, but what really impressed us was the care we received when we asked for more towels and shampoo for the room. Even though there was a slight language barrier the room attendant was very anxious to make sure that we had everything that we needed before she left. The staff at the front desk was pleasant as well. (The warm cookies at check in were a nice touch.) I also like how quiet our room was (even though there is some traffic on the side street). Finally, there is a market nearby that allows for stocking up on snacks and drinks to take up to the room. There was a fridge and microwave in the room which was really convenient. I hope that this gives you a feel for what this hotel provides.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Hola Teach4,
Thanky ou for your kind review. I was happy to read that you found the room to be spacious and the complimentary WIFI and the selections of the TV channels to be a plus, and I was excited to see that the room attendant wanted to make sure that you received all the amenities you requested. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great hotel! It had everything we needed and more. The location was perfect, not on the beach, but that was not what we were looking for. It was VERY clean. The cookies at check-in were delicious and a perfect way to welcome guests. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is not in the middle of the tourist mess, but perfect for anyone who needs to get out and go places. The beach is within walking distance, they say, but for the business traveler there probably is not a better location. There are good restaurants on the property, a 24-hour grocery (with delicatessen) across the street, and easy access to major roads. I spent 2 weeks in the hotel and love the place. The rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. This is a 5-star quality hotel with a professional staff who takes service to the limits. As one who stays in hotels the majority of a year, I give this hotel highest marks. I could live there. Also, highly recommend the great fresh-cooked breakfast in the morning. Great food.

Room Tip: Self-parking is not too bad but most evenings a local fitness center jams the lot. If it's full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Hola Flyer71,
Thank you for staying with us. As you mention, the location of the hotel gives easy access to the main roads, and while not on the beach we are only a short walk away from beautiful Ocean Park Beach as well as several near-by restaurants. I was happy to see that your car was Valet parked at no extra cost when the parking garage was full.
Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel is a GREAT price for the basics. The drawback is its not on the beach. But thats fine! What impressed me the most was the rooms! Superrrr clean, comfy bed and pillows! Great hotel and great price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hola Dnllfinn,
I was happy to see that you found our hotel to be clean and a good value. Although we are not located on the beach we are only a short walking distance away from beautiful Ocen Park beach as well as several restaurants. Also, our guests can take advantage of our Beach Club that gives you access to our two sister properties, which are ocean front properties - La Concha in Condado and Courtyard by Marriott in Isla Verde.
Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00914, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Rooms are equipped with a 32” Flat Screen TV with Premium HBO. Flexible work area features, a large desk, ergonomic chair, phone with voice mail and complimentary high-speed and wireless internet. Each guest room offers coffee service by Wolfgang Puck, refrigerator, microwave and MP3 compatible alarm clocks. For extraordinary meals, enjoy the finest in regional and international cuisines at one of our four restaurants, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.