We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and rusty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oceana Hostal Playero to your Saves list
Oceana Hostal Playero
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1853 McLeary Ave | Ocean Park/Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico (Formerly Beach Buoy Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 27 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old and rusty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Rooms of HELL!!!!!
I have never been in such bad conditions of a hotel, the rooms are humid,smelly,very old everything ,the bathrooms I didint even wanted to go to take a shower ,they show me 3 diff rooms
All the same one of then the smell of Clorox makes me throw up.
I could not get a refund because I booked online run of the house and for 3 nites it was paid at the time of reservation with no money back.the pics in the website is nothing compare with the actual roomsI
WILL NEVER GO BACK THER3 AGAIN
NEITHER RECOMENDED

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    23
    29
    78
See reviews for
30
72
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here before our cruise and had a pretty good stay. We met my in-laws who were already a guest after arriving on an11:45 pm flight. The receptionist checked us in via taking our money for the extra person fees, which cost us $50. Thought that was a little steep seeing the room itself was only like $80. The decor and set-up of this boutique hotel is cute and eclectic. The room was decent for the money. The continental breakfast was simple, but good. It consisted of juice, coffee, a banana and 2 pieces of toast with jelly. The hotel is located just a few books from the beach, which was nice. There was also a great bakery and frozen yogurt shop nearby. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay before a cruise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for the Christmas holiday and it was okay. THE GOOD: two blocks from the beach, nice weather, friendly staff, quiet except for the occasional fireworks (it was a holiday week). The water pressure was okay. The ants in the bathroom kept coming until I sprayed cologne where the were mostly coming from. Yet, with being in the Caribbean when the main land had unstable weather, the good out way the bad.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hostal is a good place to stay if you just need to lay your head and sleep for a night. However, if you're looking for luxury, this is not the place for you.

The reception staff is friendly and very accommodating. I had no problems with the customer service at all. The staff was very attentive to our needs. The front desk clerk even drew me a map to describe where to return my rental car.

I had a room overlooking the street. It was a nice view. The room had a bed, minifridge, tv, two night stands, a desk and chair, and a good sized closet. Likewise, it also had a bathroom with a toilet, shower and sink. Everything was very clean, although outdated.

You can eat in the bar/restaurant area either inside or by the pool. Breakfast was continental, and consisted of a banana, a glass of juice and some toast. This a traditional Latin breakfast. However, if you prefer a Western breakfast with eggs, meat and vegetables, this is available for an additional charge, as the chef has to make it. However, the prices are very affordable.

The pool is pretty small and you cannot really swim in it. However, if you and friends want to sit in the pool, there is enough space for that.

The hotel is a little hard to see from the street, as the sign is very small. However, it is located in a great area. It is a one block walk to a private area of the beach. Just walk behind the hotel and the beach will be there. There is also a gas station, convenience store, and a few shops and many restaurants within walking distance of the hostal. There are also parks nearby. If you are driving or catching the bus, Old San Juan is less than five miles away.

Parking is limited, but free on the side of the hotel. There is also street parking on the side of the hotel as well. The spaces are big enough for small, compact cars.

Overall, I recommend this hostal if you are just interested in a place to lay your head and store your items while you explore the island. However, if you are just looking for luxury, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We actually booked this place a while back and from the reviews and pictures we thought it would be okay, we were wrong. The plaster was falling off the walls and when we arrived the room they gave us was so hot we left the hotel to cool down. They had not turned on the AC before our arrival. My wife looked at me with a question of "are you really going to make me stay here?" We have booked for a two night stay before a cruise and had friends staying at other hotels in town. We were invited to dinner at another hotel and as a unexpected gift, our friends booked us two nights at thier hotel. There are much nicer places near by for the same price or cheaper. Of coarse we did not get our money back but hey, we had a great two nights stay at the hotel we ended up at! We are now wiser and will stay the upcoming September at the hotel our friends stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My friends and I went to Puerto Rico for Spring Break and stayed at Oceana Hostal Playero. Once we arrived we were told we were getting upgraded to the Villa rooms. This in itself might not be representative of the rest of the hotel since the rest of the rooms are on the other side of this place. The villa was perfect!! Kitchenette ( fridge, toaster, microwave, and stove), 2 bedrooms, and a bathroom. It was always clean and had no issues at all. The hotel is literally a 3 minute walk from the beach! Taxi rides are inexpensive, especially if it's more than 2 people. The local bus stop is 2 blocks away and takes you everywhere you need. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Showing manners,friendliness, and humbleness goes a long way!!!!

Room Tip: Inquire about the villa rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We got there about 15 minutes before check in, and were not treated well. Our room was being cleaned. The AC made a horrible sound that woke us up constantly until we cut it off. Then we woke up sweating and had to turn it back on. The noise started back within 10 minutes. Not very restful. Internet only worked out in lobby area. Was only a couple of blocks from lovely beach. No parking problems.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 11 (run of the house). That's where the dying AC is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceana Hostal Playero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Hostal Playero

Address: 1853 McLeary Ave | Ocean Park/Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico (Formerly Beach Buoy Inn)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceana Hostal Playero 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you arrive, the warm welcome of our Staff gives you a glimpse of why Oceana has become the most popular Inn in San Juan, in a prime address, one block from famous Condado Beach, offering the best value for money. Oceana features comfortable Guest Rooms plus Studios and One-Bedroom Suites equipped with full kitchen, very roomy to accommodate up to 6 sleepers. Breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi are always free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Oceana Hostal Playero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Hostal Playero Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceana Hostal Playero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.