We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful quaint hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A wonderful quaint hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

My friend and I just returned from Puerto Rico and our stay at At Wind Chimes was the best!!! The hotel is so quaint and unique, I would definitely go back again and bring my husband. I had only been to Puerto Rico one other time leaving for a cruise and really did not get a good sense of the place till I stayed this time. I loved the fact that wind chimes is in a residential area but a short walk to all the action! The people at the front desk are so helpful and we loved our bartender Manny. He really kept us entertained when we went to the bar to have a drink. Everyone couldn't have been nicer. We wanted to go to see Guavate and the local color on Sunday and the woman at the front desk suggested we rent a car rather than taking a taxi as the taxis are very expensive there. It turned out that we spent about half renting the car and I would recommend to anyone they take a trip to the mountains to check out the local scene....it was great! Loved the salsa dancing and pig roast!!!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    147
    81
    40
    47
See reviews for
45
170
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

Spent two nights at this hotel on a trip to Puerto Rico with my girlfriend. Had an excellent time; the staff was extremely helpful with advice about the area. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to see Puerto Rico and wants something a little more authentic than a large corporate hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small Room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYGiantsFan72
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Stayed at the Wind Chimes Inn and let me tell you, this is the most honestly charming, terrific hotel in San Juan. Cheap because it is not on the beach, but so close. The staff is genuinely friendly and happy to help. They recommend real local activities and/or tourist sight-seeing depending on your request.

The pool is great, and never crowded since the hotel is small. Bathroom and storage in the lobby allow for late check out to be easy with no additional charges, as you don't need to hold up the room.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is definitely a quaint place to stay for couples. I recently booked my first trip to Puerto Rico with my boyfriend and we chose At Wind Chimes Inn due to all of the reviews we read online. We stayed from 9/24 - 9/28/2008. Its cute in the fact that it feels like home. When we arrived we were greeted by Felix, a very nice man at the front desk. He gave us a map and even took the time to explain to us what the best places to eat (where they served authentic Island food) and which buses to take to travel around. The hotel room we stayed in was up on the 2nd floor, back by the bar, Room 127. The room had a very comfortable Queen Sized bed, but overall it was a bit small and had a strange smell to it, somewhat like a musky odor. Its not that bad though. The AC worked fine, and you definitely need it for the heat! The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, and the cable connection on the small tv in our room was really bad. There was a bit of a mosquito issue in the room, we kept the windows closed but for some reason, they just kept on coming in. The overall atmosphere of the hotel is great, makes you feel right at home. It is definitely nothing flashy and extreme. Outside of our room was a small sitting area where we enjoyed beers (Medalla Light is the best - try it!) and great music from the bartender just downstairs. The location is pretty good, literally one block from the beach. The walk to rest of the area is not too far either, just steps away from restaurants. The hotel is in a very quiet location, so if you're looking for relaxation, this is the perfect spot you want to be in. Otherwise, try and get a hotel a little bit closer to the "Action" in the heart of the Condado area, like the Marriot. The pool was clean and very nice as well. There is a really cute cat that we named Ferdinand that lingers around the patio and bar area outside. The Condado beach is really nice because its never too packed, but the waves are a bit on the strong side. If you keep heading towards the Old San Juan area, just before the Dos Hermanos bridge, there is a really beautiful beach with calm clear waters too.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — 3 giant dead roaches - 1 at the bottom of the steps, 1 outside the door of our room and another on the patio
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago.illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We just came back from a great stay AT Wind Chimes and would recommend it to everyone. The hotel is adorable with lots of little unique touches. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. The best part of the hotel is the location, a block from the best beach, but we still enjoyed using the pool. And you can't beat the price! We will definetely be staying here the next time we return to San Juan!

  • Liked — The charm, the location and the staff
  • Disliked — The lack of water pressure in the shower
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

We got to the Wind Chimes and the lady at the desk told us that they upgraded us for free to a Queen sized bed and ocean view!...But they moved us to their sister hotel right up the block at the Acacia. The place was beautiful! For the price we paid...I wasn't expecting what we got. Palmira at the front desk was great! To the owner of Acacia: If you're reading this...give her a raise!!! She reminded me of a family member who really wanted us to have a great time. She recommended a lot of great stuff and saved us a bunch of money on tours. We visited from Sep 3rd to the 5th for our Anniversary. We ate our anniversary dinner at the restaurant at the Acacia and it was amazing. It was pretty pricey so plan to spend around $100 for 2 people but it was worth it. And the hotel was only about 100 feet from the beach! Perfect trip. The only thing negative I have to say about our trip (has nothing to do with the hotel)...is the food in PR. You can get most of the food here in the states.

  • Liked — Palmira at the front desk!!!!!!
  • Disliked — To be honest...I can't think of anything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

DO NOT stay at theWind Chimes if you are looking for big hotel amenities or a huge pool DO STAY at the Wind Chimes if you are looking for a quiet get away with cosy nooks and crannies and a lovely but small pool with a waterfall.

We stayed at the Wind Chimes for two weeks and have only good things to say about our stay. We had the smallest room in the hotel but it was large enough for all of our needs. The staff was friendly and always there to assist. The fabulous beach was only a two minute walk and everything you need from restaurants to bus stops for that mandatory trip to old San Juan was within easy walking distance.

We loved Puerto Rico and would go again staying at the At Wind Chimes in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — the quaintness amnd intimacy of the property
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.