We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This review is a bit late as we stayed four nights in February 2013. First I must say I read a few reviews from people who visited after we did & wonder if they were at the same quaint place as my husband & me. The front desk staff was wonderful (morning coffee in the lobby, excursions arranged, directions given, towels, etc & we experienced 4 front (very nice) desk people during our stay & the owner I believe even assisted us to the max when we had to depart via cab at 5 in the morning. The hotel is right on a bus route---75 cents gets U into town in 15 minutes!! We saw foot patrol officers just down a few blocks from the hotel & elsewhere--felt quite safe at night as well as day. Staying here you do feel like U are in a room which was once a part of a grand home in SJ. We loved the location to beach, bars ---a bit up the street maybe 15 minutes walk or so 7 authentic restaurants quite nearby!! Cool little tiki bar & refreshing dipping pool. The room we had was on the first floor just across from the entrance into the Lobby across the small courtyard & it was fine & clean!! Would return in a heartbeat!! Thanks Wind Chimes. Rose & Brian

Room Tip: The hotel was full when we were there but I do think a deluxe room would've been nice, however w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    132
    71
    37
    41
See reviews for
37
155
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's very quiet and cozy the pool was awesome. Walking distance to many amenities such as Walgreens, restaurants n Deli's. if you are looking for a true Puerto Rico experience this is it! It's is away from isla verde which is jam with tourist. This hotel iis Condado and u see regular everyday life in Puerto Rico. I had a very nice stay the front desk guy was very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Pool is nice if you want to refresh from your long flights.

Good jumping off point for most of what PR has to offer.

Quizzical as to why the front desk customer service (owner?) is awful when the rest of the staff offers above-level service.

Unless you are familiar with central/south American accommodations, you will find the musty smell and roaches off-putting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My new wife and I and my parents stayed here on 3/10/13-3/11/13. The Inn was situated two blocks from the beach and that’s the only plus. Other than that it was in in a crime area about 2 blocks from the inn. The pictures on the website were not at all what it looked like. My wife and I stayed in room 102 which was just outside the main door and also at the check in desk. You could hear every word/noise up to about midnight then at 6am the fun really started with the banging around and loud talking. Our door was paper thin and so were the walls. NO bath tub just a shower stall….My parent’s room was even worse. Their room smells so musty and mildewed that you could hardly stand it. My dad said the faucet was falling off of the sink, TV didn’t work at all and ceiling fan rattled all night. For my 78 yo parents, they didn’t need a place like this to stay. We paid $125 per night which I wouldn’t have given $40 for. Do NOT stay at this Inn. Awful place…..

Room Tip: There is none...Dont stay here.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is very pretty and our room was large but very little else to recommend it.
It is around a curve on a very busy street, the problem is that there is nowhere to pull in if you are driving. The next problem we had was finding someone to let us in. We waited about 10 minutes before someone (the gardener holding a sprayer with bug spray) opened the courtyard door. There was no one at the desk. Then 3 housekeepers and another gardener (holding a gas mask for spraying) were all very nice and hurried trying to find someone to help us. We waited about 25 minutes before someone showed (this was at 3:00, an hour after check in time, so one would think that some one should be there). The desk clerk was efficient but no apology for our 35 minutes of trying to get into the hotel and find a clerk. She was also very nice when she corrected over charging us when I pointed it out. She was also nice telling us that parking was not available although we had requested it with our reservations. Our room was a large room below a lovely deck, next to the pool equipment and the door is just across from the laundry. So the smell of fabric softener plus the lingering bug spray smell and the not-pleasant constant hum of the little pool waterfall made for a very unpleasant stay.

It is not near town but we knew that so can't complain,and there are a few local restaurants and a supermarket in walking distance. But there is no benefit in staying here especially when you are given the dungeon room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Of course, the price we paid is reasonable for a hotel in that region of San Juan, but we at least expected a clean room. The bathroom is really disgusting and everywhere we looked we found black hairs, even in the bed... quite strange as we are both blond. We had a room on the ground floor, which was very noisy and also very dark. To end with a positive note: some staff members are quite friendly (others are extremely the opposite) and the region is nice and safe. However, two blocks further away from Condado, I wouldn't feel safe at night... So ask very good which directions to go and which not to go...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking at this hotel as an option then I suspect you have realised that hotels in SJ are not cheap. Having read the previous reviews and now having stayed for 4 nights I would say that I was happy with my choice. Overall this hotel is good value for money as long as you realise that it is a 10 minute walk to any bars/restaurants in Condado and that the pool is small and really just a dipping pool with 2 or 3 sun loungers. I actually was not overly impressed with SJ as a city and decided to spend a day on the island of Culebra which I HIGHLY recommend if you want to laze on an amazing beach for the day, if at all possible though bring some food with you as the choice there is not great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.