We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It can be better if the service improving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Belleville, Illinois
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“It can be better if the service improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel and Casino is close to Old San Juan port. The location of the hotel is excellent. From our window, we can see the piers and cruise ships, and also Castillo San Cristobal. Old San Juan is easy walk from the hotel. You can also across the street to take the city free trolley around Old San. The hotel is old, but clean and comfortable. The hotel staffs were not very friendly so you do not feel welcome in there. The front desk staffs check us in, but their faces had no smile. The concierge was the most useless concierge who I never experienced. In the morning, I tried to find the restaurant for coffee and breakfast. Not like other Sheraton, it is not in the lobby. I had to ask the concierge where it is. He was on the phone speaking Spanish for 10-15 min; just let me standing in front of him as I did not exist. Finally, He was done with his phone. He told me to across the street to get coffee. I was shocked and asked “you mean you do not have any restaurant in the hotel at all?” He said “second floor.”
If you cruise Carnival, you can walk to the cruise ship in pier 3. If you cruise Royal Caribbean or Celebrity, the cruise ships are in Pan American port. You can see your ship in your window cross the bay, but cannot get there by walking or ferry. Taxi is about $15-20.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear guest thanks for providing us with your feedback. Unfriendliness and poor service are unjustifiable here. We know that we must play an integral part in every visitors memories and we failed in several occasions during your stay. Concierge is operated by a tour company, they too should abide to our standards. Again, if not for your feedback, we would be unable to address this situations. We hope the rest of your trip was complete satisfaction as Im sure you earned it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    574
    347
    104
    79
See reviews for
283
626
63
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for three nights, about two nights more than anyone should stay here. First, I didn't read the fine print and we were charged not only the 11% tax but and additional 13% service fee for each night. What service that provided, I don't know, but be sure to take the room rate they quote you and then add an additional 24% onto that price. For a Sheraton, I've definitely stayed at better. Our room cards de-magnetized twice, so we had difficulty on the elevators several times, which was extremely frustrating. I did not appreciate the front desk hinting that it was our fault that the room cards de-magnetized, in their oh-so-condescending way. The main redeeming quality of the Sheraton Old San Juan is the great location. It is surrounded by some great restaurants and a short walk to Castille El Morro and Castille San Cristobal.

No complaints about the room, it was somewhat spacious but the furniture was in shabby shape, however the bathtub was spotless and new. The sheets were pretty itchy but it could have just been the ridiculous number of mosquito bites I picked up throughout our stay in PR. The window was teeny tiny although we had a bay view, and I was jealous of the nice balconies at the hotel adjacent to us. Although the location was convenient, I think that next time I stay in Viejo San Juan, I'll stay further away from the cruise port as it gets to be a bit of a zoo when there are a lot of ships in. The casino was a bit of a turn-off too, as soon as you step into the main entrance of the hotel it feels like you're in a carnival with all the flashing lights in your face.

A tip for travelers - if you are sensitive to noises, this is not the place for you. The restaurant below plays live music on friday-saturday nights until midnight. You can definitely hear it from the mid-level floors. There were people from a convention and wedding party staying on our floor so lots of foot traffic throughout the hotel.

Would I stay again? Probably if it was just for one night either to get access to the cruise ships or if I wanted to do a quick visit to Old San Juan to see the sights again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience here with us. We are glad you enjoyed Historic Old San Juan although regret the inconveniences described here. Elevators are soon to be updated including card readers. If the key still worked in your room, then it was just elevator reader issues. Thanks again for your business and we continue to work on improving guest experiences and all reviews shared play a big role in our list of priorities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just one night after spending a few days in the Rio Grande area of PR. We wanted to be in the hustle-and-bustle of old San Juan, and this hotel didn't disappoint. The hotel is in a great location and easily walkable to the many historical sites and restaurants in the area.

As others have mentioned, it is right across from the cruise ship terminal. The hotel and the area right outside do tend to get crowded when ships are in port. The hotel itself is nice. The rooms are updated and spacious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for the brief but concise update. Glad you enjoyed as we hope you also enjoyed all of your trips wherever you went.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel, we wanted to stay in Old San Juan and this place was a good option. You can go walking to all Old San Juan and having easy access to restaurants, bars, shops and if you are cruising with Carnival Cruise Line you can stay there, it's right in front of the terminal. The rooms are ok and clean, but the breakfast can be better with a larger selection of items. The staff can be more friendly with the guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear guest! Glad you enjoyed your stay and visit to Old San Juan. Hope you also enjoyed your cruise vacation. Breakfast buffet is popular here but I've certainly seen the fanciest breakfast buffet's in Mexico. we will continue to accept all our guest feedback as challenges for improvements and we thank you for caring enough to share your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel stay was nice. Staff was very accommodating. Rooms are up to date, modern and clean. VERY comfortable bed.
The casino can be very busy. There is so much to do in Old San Juan so I don’t think you would be spending too much time in a casino anyhow. But it was fun spending a couple of hours in there.
There is a rooftop pool. It’s very small but there is a nice view from the rooftop.
They have a burger joint attached to it with a relaxing outdoor dining area with a view of the docked ships. Nice place to people watch if that’s your thing.
Everything is within walking distance.

Overall, I would completely recommend the Sheraton in Old San Juan.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience here. That's one of the key points here.... Everything is WALKING distance so you can put your cab money to better use. Glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allspice50
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a great hotel if you're cruising from San Juan as it's close to the pier. The view is fantastic, especially from their roof top pool. Marco, who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. As we were too early checking in but wanted to do a walking tour, he made sure our luggage was safely put away by the Concierge and offered us an umbrella as the weather was a little iffy. Our room was quite large, comfortable and we had a good view of the pier. This hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to all the tourist sites and restaurants. Old San Juan is a wonderful walking city with so much history.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks for the compliments and kind words about Marcos. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

When we arrived the staff was very friendly. Although the person checking us only gave us one night when we requested two, it was easy to fix. But she was very clear to say the price and say that there were also "taxes". Since the taxes in San Juan are about 12%, we were expecting that. On the last day there was an additional service fee that was higher than the tax. When I spoke to the manager, he said continued to call this service fee a tax. All the person checking me in had to do is say that there are taxes and fees (and I would have asked about the fees and not been surprised). But that didn't make me nearly as upset as the manager who continued to call the fee a tax when it is clearly a fee to the hotel. He clearly intends to mislead other customers and there isn't any reason to do so. The room is fine and the hotel is fine and the location is pretty good. The porters and concierge were terrific and helpful at every turn. It is too bad that the front desk staff and especially the manager didn't feel that we would stay if they just told the truth.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
You certainly make a very valid point since there is no reason to hide any fees upfront. Our 14% hotel service fee is very competitive on island and other Caribbean destinations and it is disclosed on all purchasing points online or via telephone including all of our 3rd party partners who sell our product. We thank you for your business and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are "Steps from Everything" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.