We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location good rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Excellent location good rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Warning! some rooms even in the 7th floor have view to the multistory car parking not to the sea !
Nevertheless this property is in very strategic location in the old city and if you are here for sightseeing is the best option. The rooms are quite good and the breakfast (not included) very good. The hamburgers in the corner restaurant in the ground floor next to the casino are excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms or avoid car parking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest from Greece,
Thanks for sharing your experience with us here. Glad you enjoyed your stay and our unique location. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    438
    281
    81
    62
See reviews for
191
469
48
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I booked a stay at this Sheraton directly through their booking agent at the Sheraton's 1-800 number. I wanted to stay due to the convenient location to the cruise terminal. Upon arrival, I was told the room I booked was not available and was put in a lower grade room. I have read reviews from others stating this is somewhat of a common occurrence. I complained enough at the front desk that I finally got us moved to a different room. However, I shouldn't have had to spend my vacation time complaining to have my reservation met. This was a very average facility. Nothing special at all. We did enjoy the second floor balcony lounge. It was a good place to just sit and watch all that was happening on the street below. Watch out for the breakfast buffet. VERY overpriced for what you get. I would stay here again if we cruise out of San Juan because it is right across the street, but I wouldn't look forward to it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest from Atlanta,
Thanks for sharing your experience with us here. We regret that your room category did not appear to be available upon arrival. Breakfast buffet at $21 pp offers all you can eat eggs, side hot / cold, pastries, breads, fruits, oatmeal etc.. but would certainly consider any guest recommendations so that we may consider including. We do hope you have you back and deliver the quality service you are entitled to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Looking out over the bay made it more enjoyable to work. The internet connection was via cable versus wifi but not a real inconvenience. The staff are helpful and friendly - as were other guests. The central staircase is beautiful and the hotel has a solid, older feel to it - both features that I participate. Our room was closer to the elevator than I usually like but there were no noise issues during our 1-week stay. The food at the Palio restaurant was excellent. The hotel is convenient to all of Old San Juan, restaurants, as well as the ferry.

Room Tip: A room with a view is always desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest from NC,
Thank you for your comments. Glad you really enjoyed your stay with us. You should have also had access to complimentary WiFi in all Guest rooms. Hope you had a productive and also fun week in Old San Juan, The Caribbean's most visited city. If indeed you travel often to the island, contact us for our special Corporate rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Going by the Sheraton brand would'nt rate it high. Best location in old San Juan. Excellent if your room is facing the pier. However, would not be that exciting if other than that as you would end up keeping your windows closed all the time.The power outage during our stay (not sure whose fault) was not managed properly.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest from Ohio,
Thanks for your feedback. We regret the incident with the unexpected City power outage in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A large group of cruisers stayed at the hotel prior to our cruise. Arrived a few days early to enjoy San Juan and surrounding areas. Check-in was very fast and the staff was quick to unload our bags (a lot of bags). My wife and I stayed in a very large suite with a separate bedroom and dining area; think it was called a governor’s suite. The room was very clean. We had great views of the harbor and town from the room. The concierge was fantastic and helped us decide where to visit. We did not have any special request so cannot comment on that. I attempted to stay out of the nice casino, but as always got pulled in by the beautiful sound of slot machines. Our stay was enjoyable and I would recommend this hotel for visitors to Old San Juan.

The hotel restaurant and associated burger restaurant are a little pricey, so wonder up the hill a few blocks (off the main tourist strip) into Old San Juan and you will find many local inexpensive restaurants.

As a side note, this hotel is a little pricey, but you are paying for a nice clean hotel in a great location. We had 4 folks in our cruise group who decided to stay at a budget hotel up in Old San Juan they booked through an online service. They departed immediately upon arriving at the hotel and ended up at the Sheraton. Be careful when booking pre-paid hotels from discount hotel sites because some may not reimburse you, in this case, they booked through one of the well-named reputable sites and were able to get their money back. They also enjoyed the Sheraton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Texan cruiser,
Glad to know you all enjoyed your visit and of course, as it's known in Texas, I see you all travel in BIG parties. Great to know you also experience some of the magic of Old San Juan and it's amazing variety of foods for all budgets. Hope you also enjoyed your cruise and that we may have the pleasure to welcome you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

another trip to San Juan and another excellent stay at the Sheraton. Front desk was friendly and accommodating at check-in. Even had a kit for my dog! We had dinner at Palio the first night. The food was delicious and Alex was a fantastic help with descriptions and explaining different items. The fitness center is small but has everything we needed and the pool was refreshing. After hiking around the city all day we had burgers on the patio downstairs. It was fun to be able to sit outside, have a wonderful burger (try the jibarito burger) and soak in the laid back atmosphere. Highly recommend for couples, friends or business travel

Room Tip: reserve a deluxe king room and request a bay view or a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest!
Thanks for the great compliments. We are truly glad to learn that you enjoyed visiting us frequently. We will certainly share your comments with Alex. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hi everyone, we reserved two rooms at this Hotel the night before our cruises because the terminal was near the hotel . What a disapoint, first in my room , we where unable to get our deluxe room that we had reserved, they give us a standard room with a view on a garage. After one hour of complaint at the front desk, they never want to give us the room we paid , they told us no deluxe room was left and if I want to paid for the governor room I had to paid an extra 200$.
My sister in law got their room after me and they got a deluxe room. They had a large balcony with 2 wide Windows. In the morning, they had to kill two cockroach in the room.

IN the morning, I complain to the front desk manager (Nilsa andLyann Proenza) they told us that we didn't get the go room and they will send us a compensation by Onhotel.com.

After 2 weeks, we contact Onhotel.com, and they were nice with me and they contacted the hotel with no result , the front desk told them that I never complained at the hotel and no credit will be send to me.

What I learn of this situation, never quit a hotel without a credit on my card or with cash for the compensation.

Room Tip: Watch the room you had reserved and cockroach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Gigi from Montreal,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is very important to us. Needless to say, we regret the confusion about your guest room and that we failed to meet your expectations. We hope that we may have an opportunity in the future to provide you the outstanding experience you are entitled to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Amex, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.