We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Polk County, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Sheraton. It is very conveniently located in Old San Juan for walking to just about anywhere. There are good restaurants and shops nearby. It was clean and nicely decorated. The restaurant served a delicious breakfast, in fact I had the best bowl of oatmeal there that I have ever had! We didn't have a good view from the window but we hardly spent any waking time there, so that didn't matter.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest from FLA,
Thanks for the nice compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. The Oatmeal has some coconut in it... hence, unique island flavor. Don't be a stranger and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    440
    281
    81
    62
See reviews for
191
470
48
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed 5 night in this hotel. It was supposed my get away.
The hallways smelled mold. I haven't noticed any security cameras in hallways. Furniture in the room was old, the room wasn't vacuumed before and during my stay; the same toothpick and crumbs were on the floor. Windows were very dirty so I didn't care about the view of several stories parking across the street. The music from the casino was very, very loud till 1-2 AM. Windows don't have any curtains, just wooden blinds that let light in, very poor décor, no refrigerator/mini bar. Very limited toiletries.

First they gave me a room across from a very loud ice machine. In second room thermostat wasn't working.

The only good thing about this hotel were: location and very friendly staff.
This hotel was misrepresented by a travel co. I do not recommend this hotel for more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest from NJ,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. Our new room product will be ready by the end of November this year and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in order to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice to who wants to hangging out with friends in Old San Juan and Condado Area in SJ. The cleanliness of the lobby and hallways was good. No bad odors. Very comfy beds. No continental breakfast include.

Room Tip: No ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Emily from Miami,
Thanks for your note. Glad you enjoyed your stay and also Old San Juan. Indeed this is the town were everyone ends up for the best time day or night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A wonderful hotel, close to everthing, and staff was just great. From checkin with
with Sibelia - her smile and cheerfulness- to checkout with Marcos - his helpful and
friendly attitude- this is the place to stay!! Thank you so much for this pleasant Sheraton stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Betty from Nashville,
Thanks for the great compliments and particularly your comments about Sibelia & Marcos. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and they made it even more special. Will certainly share your comments and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel was really clean and the staff was friendly. The bed was very comfortable and updated with newer furniture. The pool and area was a little small so was unable to swim since it was to crowded. The casino is located on first floor so it's best to get a room on floors higher than the second floor. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and sight seeing. Our only complaint is that we had asked for a room with two beds and they gave us a king. We had also asked for a room with a view but were in a room that looked into other rooms.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floors and ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest from FLA,
Thanks for your compliments. We are really glad you enjoyed your visit although we regret not being able to provide your with better view. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino for 2 nites over Labor Day weekend. We were tired from our early morning flight, so we opted to check into a room upon our arrival at the hotel, but it was on a lower floor, so the view was not as good. The room was very clean - the bed was excellent, and the air conditioning was perfect! All public areas were well maintained. The hotel is very nice and the staff were very accommodating and pleasant - during our stay, we called down to the front desk and asked for maintenance for a plumbing issue and someone came up to the room right away. There could have been more room for guest seating in the lobby - there are couches off to the side on the casino level, but there were not enough to accommodate everyone in that area on a busy Saturday nite during our stay. We also thought there should be a bar in the lobby. This hotel is in a great location - directly across the street from Piers 2 and 3, so you get to see all the cruise ships in port, which was interesting. It's also right across from the ferry that takes you to the Bacardi Rum Factory (free tour) in Catano. You can also walk to a trolley stop 2 blocks away, and board a free bus or tram that goes all over Old San Juan (this is not a guided tour). It does give you a nice overview of the city, and you can get off at any stop and board again. The only negative experience we had was when we went up 2 flights of steps down the street from the main hotel entrance and a homeless person came up to us and proceeded to explain that he and his father had been mugged the nite before - his dad was in a hospital and the police were not helpful, but the hotel staff gave him some money, and he only needed six dollars more to go back to visit his ailing father - he said we could verify this with the concierge at the hotel. My boyfriend gave him the cash - we just wanted him to leave - and when we asked the bellman about his story, he told us that this guy was a con artist that slept near those steps and he hits upon hotel guests all the time. Maybe the general manager could take some precautions regarding future incidents like this one. That being said, we enjoyed ourselves very much and would definitely come back to stay at this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for a better view and one away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest from Pompano,
Thanks for sharing your detailed review here with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a bar at our Chicago Burger Co. Restaurant & Sports bar located adjacent to the lobby. Later this year we will have a nice new fun bar outside operated by Bacardi and it will be the place to be and be seen. We are sorry about the homeless man trick to persuade you for some cash. This situations are reported to the city but just like one experiences while traveling to other cities, the best is to avoid interactions. We certainly look forward to your next visit to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The air conditioner did not work, looks like the filters had not been cleaned in a while because there was a smell coming from it.
The ballroom is very nice, though. For events, this is a good venue.
It is right in the Old San Juan, a walk to the main attractions.
But it is an overpriced hotel charging more for the view to the water than the service it offers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Wanda from Connecticut,
We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry that you had issues with your A/C unit. You did not mention if you reported the problem. We have new a/c chillers and thermostats in all guest rooms and this should have been corrected immediately by our team. Indeed we do have many successful events at any of our 9 meeting facilities. We do hope to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.