We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Pompano Beach, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino for 2 nites over Labor Day weekend. We were tired from our early morning flight, so we opted to check into a room upon our arrival at the hotel, but it was on a lower floor, so the view was not as good. The room was very clean - the bed was excellent, and the air conditioning was perfect! All public areas were well maintained. The hotel is very nice and the staff were very accommodating and pleasant - during our stay, we called down to the front desk and asked for maintenance for a plumbing issue and someone came up to the room right away. There could have been more room for guest seating in the lobby - there are couches off to the side on the casino level, but there were not enough to accommodate everyone in that area on a busy Saturday nite during our stay. We also thought there should be a bar in the lobby. This hotel is in a great location - directly across the street from Piers 2 and 3, so you get to see all the cruise ships in port, which was interesting. It's also right across from the ferry that takes you to the Bacardi Rum Factory (free tour) in Catano. You can also walk to a trolley stop 2 blocks away, and board a free bus or tram that goes all over Old San Juan (this is not a guided tour). It does give you a nice overview of the city, and you can get off at any stop and board again. The only negative experience we had was when we went up 2 flights of steps down the street from the main hotel entrance and a homeless person came up to us and proceeded to explain that he and his father had been mugged the nite before - his dad was in a hospital and the police were not helpful, but the hotel staff gave him some money, and he only needed six dollars more to go back to visit his ailing father - he said we could verify this with the concierge at the hotel. My boyfriend gave him the cash - we just wanted him to leave - and when we asked the bellman about his story, he told us that this guy was a con artist that slept near those steps and he hits upon hotel guests all the time. Maybe the general manager could take some precautions regarding future incidents like this one. That being said, we enjoyed ourselves very much and would definitely come back to stay at this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for a better view and one away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest from Pompano,
Thanks for sharing your detailed review here with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a bar at our Chicago Burger Co. Restaurant & Sports bar located adjacent to the lobby. Later this year we will have a nice new fun bar outside operated by Bacardi and it will be the place to be and be seen. We are sorry about the homeless man trick to persuade you for some cash. This situations are reported to the city but just like one experiences while traveling to other cities, the best is to avoid interactions. We certainly look forward to your next visit to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    632
    368
    110
    82
See reviews for
327
682
65
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The air conditioner did not work, looks like the filters had not been cleaned in a while because there was a smell coming from it.
The ballroom is very nice, though. For events, this is a good venue.
It is right in the Old San Juan, a walk to the main attractions.
But it is an overpriced hotel charging more for the view to the water than the service it offers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Wanda from Connecticut,
We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry that you had issues with your A/C unit. You did not mention if you reported the problem. We have new a/c chillers and thermostats in all guest rooms and this should have been corrected immediately by our team. Indeed we do have many successful events at any of our 9 meeting facilities. We do hope to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congresbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights before heading to our next hotel and loved the location. It was ideal for exploring San Juan and felt safe enough to wander round on foot. The staff were welcoming and helpful with ideas on where to go and the rooms were clean and food here was good too. A good standard and what you expect I guess from Sheraton.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Robert from U.K.
Thanks for the nice compliment and we are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay and experience in Old San Juan, the Caribbean's most visited city. Indeed, since it's busy with visitors day & night every day of the week, it is very safe. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely, and the free entertainment that they offer during the evening was wonderful. Wonderful bands, both Latin and Jazz.

I loved the casino and the amazing coffee they served. The only thing that I didn't like about the hotel was the rooms at the Casita. They really need to be updated. Very old with miss matched furniture. The only thing that was great was the shower. Very large. The service was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Dana from NYC,
Glad you enjoyed your visit although not sure where is "The Casita". Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were here for a one night stay prior to our cruise departure. The hotel was decent and clean but nothing extra special. The location is the best feature. We spent the day walking to the forts and all over town.
We didn't use the restaurants or casino.
Our room was very noisy through the night but we were also directly across from the elevator. We should have requested to be moved but figured we were only there for one night and how bad could it be. Bad choice on our part. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. It is in a safe area for walking and couldn't be a better location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mrs. Weim from CO,
Thanks for the note and we are sorry you experienced a noisy busy night during your stay. Hope you have more time to really experience the excitement and foodie paradise of Old San Juan. Every kind of cuisine for every budget, best artisan coffee shops & baristas and not to mention the pubs and night life. Is is the Hot Latin version of New Orleans. So, even if you plans calls for another cruise from here, add a couple of extra days to your memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

SPG platinum does go a long way :)
We got upgraded to a suite overlooking the water front.
Valet parking is 21 a day but it's relatively easy if you call 10 minutes in advance.
We had no issues with the staff. Being September the hotel did not feel packed and we were pretty well taken care off.
Rooms were clean, views are good, staff is friendly and the casino is cozy but active.
Take the breakfast instead of points when you check in- its worth it and equivalent to $15. Pay an additional $6 for the hot breakfast.
Personally, I like Spg hotels and when you are treated well its even better.
Stay here it's close to everything old San Juan has to offer and if you are staying in the city, make use of the free shuttles and walking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Anisha,
Thanks for the compliments. Glad you enjoyed your stay and had fun in Historic Old San Juan. As a foodie, we hope you had a decent sample of the city restaurants, food kiosks, etc... we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. It was beautiful, clean, friendly, and the restaurants were wonderful. We especially enjoyed the Asian restaurant. The food was so good and the presentation was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear CJ,
Thanks for the compliments. Don't be a stranger and visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.3 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 4,757 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#25 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 3,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#13 Family Hotel in San Juan
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are "Steps from Everything" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.