We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luke Warm Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
1 review
“Luke Warm Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros: very close to everything, you really do not need to stay in some resorts where you have to drive or take transportation, you can literally walk. Hotel reps were super nice. Room is not bad.

Cons: For a hotel like Sheraton that is suppose to maintain consistency in quality I was disappointed with the frequent power outages we experienced in the hotel. Right from day one we get to our rooms and nothing works from light to telephone. We take the elevator downstairs only to be told there is no power but should be back in a few hours for who I forgave them although they should have told us at check in. On my third day I woke up with no power, had to shower in the dark and use my iPhone touch light. You might think Sheraton will have a generator that power the rooms at least just for lights. I almost missed a scheduled trip because the telephone does not work with the power outage. I have one more night so I will bear the inconvenience for now.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate your feedback. Indeed last week we had two days with city-wide power outages. One was 4 hours and the second was between 10am-4:30pm. While unfortunate, these were isolated incidents related to a downtown construction that caused some unexpected outages. Because Puerto Rico does not have a problem with power outages, most hotels on island don't have a back-up power generator. However, we do have one that covers all public areas & elevators in case of an emergency. We understand how this could have been an inconvenience and regret you had to experience it. Nonetheless, we hope you enjoyed your visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    521
    316
    91
    69
See reviews for
239
561
57
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I spent our 40th anniversary at the Sheraton. I think it was rated three-star, so we weren't sure what we'd be getting on arrival. The hotel absolutely exceeded our expectations. The staff was excellent and accommodating. The cleaning lady found my iphone after we left the hotel for the airport and turned it in. Got a prompt call from the front desk, took a taxi back to the hotel and was able to get back to the airport before the departure deadline. Easy walk around town. Good street food and excellent restaurants nearby. Nice buzz with the evening crowds which included cruise ship passengers. Every morning we threw open our hotel window just to enjoy the water view, the rustling sound of the waves, and to view cruise ships coming and going. Easy walk to the ferry to visit the Bacardi factory in Cataňo. Excellent visit. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate your feedback. Glad you really enjoyed your stay and that you recovered your lost phone in time before your flight departure. Congrats on taking advantage of everything that's available here just walking distance. Historic Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were thrilled to receive a double upgrade at check in, and so appreciative that he came to find us in the restaurant when our room was available. But the living room of the suite was covered with such baked in stains that we didn't even take advantage of it. We felt safe, and consistently received warm, friendly, helpful service, but I love Starwood (lifetime Gold) and had never stayed in a property of such poor quality before. Gotta love the location, though, just across the street from the cruise port, and two short blocks from our favorite restaurant, Punta de Vista!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Cheryl from Maryland,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us here. Glad you experienced our personalized service. We truly appreciate your Starwood SPG Lifetime Gold status. We are currently renovating all guestrooms and expect completion by end of October this year. Therefore, we hope we have the honor of having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

From the moment we walked into the hotel doors, the staff treated us as if we were the only people staying in the hotel!!! Manuel not only assisted us with our bags, but gave us many great tips on dining and local attractions...........plus, every day he saw us, he would ask us how our day and trip was going....precious! Great location in Old San Juan.....great restaurants and shops nearby..........can walk to EVERYTHING!! I really thought I would visit Puerto Rico once and check it off my list.........WRONG!! This island is awesome....we barely scratched the surface of things to do.........A must see: El Morra, Cristobal, El yunque rain forest.......even if you are traveling w/small kids and/or grandparents....the rain forest is easily accessible even the waterfalls........so worth the trip!! Take a day trip to Fajardo and enjoy the caribbean side of the island.....only 45 mins from San Juan!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Lori from Indiana,
Thanks for the great compliment about your overall experience and our Associates. Manuel is certainly an asset here and your compliments will be shared. Great tips! Hope to see you all back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

In all seriousness, winning in the casino was just icing on the cake. The location of this property, can't be beat! After staying at another location in PR for a few days prior to arriving at this hotel, I appreciated the easy access to restaurants, shopping and historic sites. There is a free shuttle a block away from the hotel that takes you around Old San Juan. It was a pleasant surprise to be able to get a tour around the island for free.

I found the hotel to be very clean, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Though there is no beach access within walking distance, there is a great beach within a 15 minute drive.

The one word of caution is not to eat at the restaurant located in the hotel, the food was not worth the price. There is a burger place located in the hotel that was very good.

Overall, I absolutely enjoyed my stay here, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Geri from D.C.
Thanks for sharing your feedback with us here. Congratulations on your Casino wins. Glad you really liked staying with us and enjoyed the magnificent Historic Old San Juan. Will share your feedback with the restaurant execs. Look forward to your next visit and continued luck in the Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a nice hotel, the only thing I did not care for was the little female with the nasty attitude when we arrived on May 6th, that lil chick had tude that made me an my husband sick, if you do not want to work then leave, give someone else the job, we check in an she ran our credit card an told us very rude like, your card is no good, so we had her run my husband credit card, she replied the same, the other guy clerk watched her an finally cut in an told us,u guys just have to call your banks an tell them you are in Puerto Rico an they willallow charges, she never told us nothing,she could have cut thru all that if she had just told us that, remember if you are going over there, pre call your bank, because they consider Rico international,, other than that, room upgrade was nice, room was clean everyday very wellcleaned don't worry about getting a rental,u can walk to plenty of shopping, food,etc, the taxi guys r nice an u can flag one down easily, the price of taxi is good, we never paid over 20 bucks for the places we went, we did a rainforest tour, an they have many choices of yours to choose from, casino was nice, won 190 bucks in there, great place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took time to explore the wonder of Old San Juan as well as other island attractions. Please accept our apologies for the handling of your check-in. Your feedback is important and has been shared with staff. We hope we have the privilege of your visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, null, Puerto Rico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great personal service, clean and comfortable rooms, good HDTVs and I believe that if you want to enjoy the Old San Juan this is the best place to stay... Its right at the center of the city, you can go everywhere without the need to use the car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Eric from Aguadilla,
Thanks for your feedback and compliments. Glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are "Steps from Everything" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.