We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Old San Juan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Old San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is fine in every way, but it's main value is that it's located in Old San Juan. Our rooms had partial views of the bay, which was nice. The hotel isn't charming at all and there is a casino on the ground floor, so if you are looking for a cool, romantic getaway, this isn't it. If you want a full service hotel, with gym and pool, this is a good option.

High marks for the front desk staff, who moved us to a much nicer room!

Don't do the hotel's breakfast buffet. Get out and enjoy the many restaurants within just a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: There is a huge parking garage behind the hotel. Ask to face the other direction (facing the cruise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear guest from California,
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. Old San Juan has so much to see and do, all just walking distance from our property. Hope to see you here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    575
    348
    104
    79
See reviews for
283
628
63
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located for touring Old San Juan. The staff greeted us promptly, were very friendly and welcoming, and worked to accommodate our early arrival at the hotel. We asked Pedro, one of the many helpful valets, for suggestions on where to go & where to eat. He provided great tips and we had one of the best meals at Punto de Vista. He checked in with us the next day to see if we had enjoyed ourselves - nice personal touch. The room was beautiful - very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We hope to return to San Juan and we will definitely stay at this Sheraton!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Heidi from Canada,
Thanks for sharing your experience and the nice compliment about Pedro. We will share with him. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the dinner in Old San Juan. Hope to greet you back soon. HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late, check in was typical. The room smelled a bit musty, but that was gone by morning. Great beds, very comfy. Remote for tv does not work well, but that's my only complaint. Great location for a cruise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for your visit. Hope you enjoyed your cruise as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for our annual girls weekend. In many respects, particularly the location of the hotel, this is a four or five star property, but there was a significant issue during my stay that was not addressed at all, let alone properly.

I was assigned a room on the 3rd floor, and as soon as I left the elevator, I was hit by the noise of music from a party in one of the function rooms on the 2nd floor. In my room, the music was clearly audible, not just a vague noise. The bass was loud enough that it was rattling items on the desk. The room itself was in good shape, and the bed and linens were spotless. I called to ask for a different room, and was told it was not possible. The man on the phone assured me that there would be no other "events" during my stay and that the music would stop by midnight - neither statement was accurate. I got to listen to "Gangnam Style" as I brushed my teeth around 1 am (not exactly a time when one wants to hear "Hey, sexy lady!").

From a location perspective, this property is unbeatable. It is right across from Pier 2, within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping, and steps away (in either direction) from the free tourist tram that runs around Old San Juan, stopping at or near all destinations of interest. The hotel was decorated for Christmas and was lovely. This property is nonsmoking, and contains a casino with both machine and table games, also nonsmoking. My friends and I enjoy poker, and it was nice to sit and play a proper game without being driven away by smoke.

Unfortunately, while the second night was fine, the loud music was back for the third (final) night. There's nothing worse than trying to get some sleep before an early flight and being kept up by loud music. I asked again to be moved, and was instead given a pair of $0.02 ear plugs, which were entirely ineffective. The staff couldn't have cared less about the issue, which was a major detriment to enjoying my vacation. Two of my friends were also on the 3rd floor, both of whom are pursuing redress options, while the third was up on the 5th floor and heard nothing.

I can't say I'll never stay in this property again, because the location is terrific, but I would stay here again only if I was guaranteed a room on at least the 5th floor. From a possible 5 star rating, I have to dock one star for the noise, which was beyond any reasonable level and occurred on 2/3 of my nights at this property, and a second for the indifferent response. I stay in Sheratons frequently (and am Starwood Gold), and have never experience a problem of this magnitude, nor such a total lack of resolution, in any other stay with this brand, so I do consider it a property-specific anomaly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor have the best view, followed by those on the interior courtyard. Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Maria from New Hampshire,
Thanks for the detailed and objective feedback. We are sorry you had some issues with noise during the night. We do all our best to avoid evening events with music in that 2nd floor ballroom but due to the demand of XMAS parties, all spaces were utilized. Anyhow, glad you enjoyed your visit to Old San Juan and hope we can host you and your girlfriends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

As I arrived late, my only interaction was with the night front desk agent. He was friendly and efficient once he was able to get off a call.

The room was adequate and clean. As an SPG Gold, I was offered a 4pm late checkout.

Convenient for exploring old San Juan, which is definitely worth checking out. The old city needs a congestion charging zone to reduce the number of cars zipping through, but is definitely worth taking a day to explore.

Room Tip: Ocean side might have cruise ship noise such as loud music. If you plan to go to bed early, avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest from Minnesota,
Thanks for sharing your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accomodate your special request. Hope you also enjoyed our warm tropical climate. Look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked a night here to start our trip to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Turned out to be a great choice, very friendly staff and they were able to accommodate our request for an early check-in. Clean, comfortable room with an absolutely great view of the cruise ship terminal across the street. Staff was very helpful and happy to store our luggage prior our departure for our cruise. I highly recommend this hotel. Here's a tip: during your stay be sure to try the mofongo at one of the many nearby Old San Juan restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest from Rockville, MD
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Also great tip on the "mofongo" which is one of the island most popular dish prepared with smashed green plantains. (CARBS!) One of the key advantages of being in the heart of Old San Juan is the vast selection of restaurants of all kinds. Hope to see you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay at the Sheraton. We had a room with a balcony and lovely views of the cruise ships and the fort. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff were pleasant, no complaints, would most definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Lyn, Thank you for the kind compliments. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we get to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are "Steps from Everything" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Media 8, Inc., Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.