We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
edmonton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is the best location you can get in a very safe part of Old San Juan. Although a little tired and frayed around the edges it does the trick. Pool area is roof top so great view and a great place to catch some sun and relax. Hotel was a little on the grubby side, elevators dirty, bathrooms not quite up to par but doable. Beds very comfy and the free breakfast wonderful! Hallways are a little noisy doors slam easily and we had to phone down to ask cleaning staff to be more quiet when we were trying to nap. Felt it was a litttle over priced considering its condition.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed our location in the heart of Old San Juan. We are working on improving the overall experience on the areas you pointed out. Hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    632
    368
    110
    82
See reviews for
327
682
65
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Bc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 4 nights here pre-cruise and loved exploring Old San Juan - cobble streets, historic forts, free trolley hop-on buses, safe city and friendly people. Unsung spot as we had never heard of anyone else coming here. Hotel very comfortable - clean- lovely king size bed - AC worked great -harbour view - welcome rooftop pool after hot day exploring city. Staff were attentive and helpful.(let us book in early and leave later than check-out time) Yummy appys and wonderful mojitos on the restaurant veranda.
Excellent buffet breakfast included and 4th night's stay free. We could have done without the casino (seemed very popular with locals) but it did not disturb our stay.Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: we asked for harbour view and king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for the nice - detailed feedback. Glad you enjoyed the property and Old San Juan. We look forward to having you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent a pre-cruise stay at the Sheraton. Our room was spacious and overlooked several cruise piers but was otherwise unimpressive. The carpet looked like it was straight out of the 60's, the phones didn't work right and our mattress literally sagged in the middle. The furnishings were also very dated. We are platinum in the Starwood system and stay at quite a few Sheratons. This one lacked the homey comfortable feeling and service level that I usually associate with Sheratons. Of course with location, location, location there are some pluses. Old Town San Juan is a vibrant, fun place to be both day and night and this hotel is in the center of the action! We found great places to eat and drink VERY close by. There is a casino right downstairs in the lobby (but no crap table).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We sincerely appreciate the feedback and will continue to implement the necessary changes suggested from our dear customers. Glad you really enjoyed Old San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the Sheraton post-cruise. Staff were very friendly and found us a room even though we arrived very early on Saturday (around 10:00 am). Hotel is well located, but note that no all cruise ships use the terminal across the street! Room was large and clean, with a very comfortable bed, but there was a strange chemical smell in the room that was objectionable until you got used to it. Nice balcony to view the harbor, but also had to kill two very large cockroaches (though we never saw any IN the room)! Still, there aren't many choices if you choose to stay in Old San Juan and the Sheraton is a decent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Indeed, we are experimenting with several cleaning products to ensure in room freshness. Also appreciate you stepping on a few "cucarachas" outdoors :-0 We do have an extensive prevention program in place as required by the brand. Hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a reasonable distance from the airport In an excellent homebase if you're looking to see some of the sites in old San Juan. Very clean and large rooms. Nice modern flatscreen TVs. No surprises and a good value

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your experience. Hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the hotel a few days after a cruise to visit Old San Juan. The location is very good. It is easy to visit Old San Juan without the need of a taxi or taking the bus. It is close from the cruise port. You can see the big boat from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for the nice feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was very happy we booked this hotel. It was clean, staff were extremely helpful and within walking distance to all sites and restaurants in Old San Juan. The rooms were clean and simple, complete with safe, coffee maker, iron and cable tv. Beds and pillows were super comfy. There was also a vending machine for drinks on the floor. There are two parking garages behind the hotel, the first one is $2.40/hr (very expensive), but the one right after (much older looking) is $4 from 6pm to 6am and only $0.50/hr thereafter. The front desk can give you a map of the city where you can plan sites to see as well as the spots where the free tram passes. You can use it almost like a hop on hop off service. There were a load of restaurants and a CVS all within a 5 min walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for capturing the essence of this privileged location. Everything you wish to experience is just steps away. I have been at this property for almost two years and still have plenty of restaurants and attractions in my list to visit. The new trolley's now have double the capacity and soon we will also have a light rail tram that can take you to other places beyond Old San Juan. Anyhow, it was a true pleasure having you here and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.3 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 4,757 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#25 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are "Steps from Everything" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.