We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan

Save Saved
You added Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1369 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
217 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
386 helpful votes 386 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had read some reviews on TripAdvisor previous to my arrival and so had a good idea what to expect.
Check-in was quick and efficient. We appreciated the free drink coupons.
On the way to our room we noticed a musty smell in the hotel corridors.
The room was old-fashioned but clean and the bed was comfortable. Everything worked and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. The view from our balcony was of the car park.
We stayed on a Tuesday night and the bar and casino were very quiet.
Cannot comment on the restaurant as we arrived late in the evening and left early the next morning.
Location was good for us as there is a public bus that runs right outside the hotel into Old San Juan. Cost 75 cents (exact change required).
This hotel was ok for one night but I would not to stay any longer as it is need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    226
    210
    105
    78
See reviews for
138
262
52
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

For a Radisson this property is very tired and is in need of a rennovation. The staff was very friendly and helpful and always went out of their way to help, but the facility itself is old and badly needs updating .. from the carpet to the room furnishings all need to need removed and replaced. Also, this property is in a very suspect part of town .. there are cops in every street corner, I'm guessing to keep crime down. We walked down to the beach during the day, but would definately not go walking around there at night .. All of the neighborhood houses have bars on the doors and windows. All in all, this wasn't awful, as we just stayed 1 night before our cruise left, but we won't be staying there again.

As a recommendation, I would book something closer to the cruise port .. those hotels are much newer and convienient to walk the old town and is closer to the fort. A much cleaner and nicer part of San Juan than it is by the old Radisson.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to read that our staff was helpful and assists you with your needs. We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hotel check in was quick, up to the room (ended up with a 1 bedroom suite, not on the ambassador club floors...). Room was outdated, carpet a little old, and walls a little to thin (one could hear people in the hall way). The room did have a balcony which had a small table and 2 chairs, with a partial ocean few (between buildings).
The top floor hotel pool was busy with many kids. Exercise room looked decent.
Casino and ground floor bar was busy with many 60+ year olds.
The 2 close beach areas were very small and a little under taken care of. I preferred the beach just up from the Walgreens further in Condado, shared by the Marriott hotel. Umbrellas and chair rentals were available ($10 and $3 for the day). A vendor did come by every so often with snacks/drinks for sale.
I did eat breakfast in the hotel dining area once, which was good. There are many places to eat outside of the hotel with in a couple blocks walking.
I took a massage at the spa, which was very relaxing.
There were a few police in the area, which made the area feel safe. A few times a day traffic would get backed up, so make sure to plan your taxi when traffic is not at a stand still.

Room Tip: Try the local restaurants for some variety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our convenient location. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milfo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night (2 rooms). Overall hotel amenities are good but during check out they charged 12% surcharge per room. We were surprised to see these charges and when we called the hotel and priceline.com they mentioned that these charges are to cover water, electricity and other utilities in the hotel. Anyway we had bad experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We do not post any hidden fees to our guests when they book a room with us. When you book the reservation through Priceline you will see a disclose statement about fees that Priceline does not cover and the guests must take care at check in:
Mandatory Fee: This hotel charges an additional 12% per room per night. This fee will be charged to you directly by the hotel. Mandatory fees are not optional and typically cover items such as resort fees, energy charges or safe fees. The amount of the charge is subject to change.

We regret that you did not give us the opportunity to make it right. We would like to hear more about your stay. Do not hesitate to contact us at madavila@ambassadorplaza.com to discuss your stay further. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have a second opportunity to impress you favorably on your next travels to Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are going to PR for vacation and looking for nice resort hotel, you may be disappointed.
I stayed here for business and it was nice and convenient. No complaint for my purpose.
If I were there for my vacation, I would look for somewhere else. A block to the beach, a lot of restaurants within walking distance, etc. Very convenient.
Hotel is outdated. Staff is nothing impressive. This hotel seems more business purpose and it is good for business travelers as many hotel are for vacationers.
I will come back for business trip, but not for my vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you liked our convenient location. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We look forward to your next stay. Thank you for your review again.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Ambassador one night before our cruise. We were upgraded to an Executive Suite for a small fee. The suite was huge, but was decorated in the early 80's. Black and brass bathrooms (2 full), separate bedroom and living room with full sofa and two chairs and a bar. The room was clean but in serious need of updating. There was a small balcony off of the living room with two plastic patio chairs. It was much more than we needed and would book a regular king room next time. We did not have the breakfast buffet, so I can not comment on that.

The hotel is very close to many stores (Walgreens is very close) and restaurants are within walking distance. There is also a small casino within the hotel, but we only stayed a short time with no luck at any machine.

We will stay at the Radisson again in November for our next cruise out of San Juan. We took a taxi to the cruise port for under $25.00, including our bags, so this hotel is perfect for either pre- or post-cruise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your 4-star review and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the rooms and location. We look forward to your next stay. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

For the reasonable price I bid on Priceline for 2 nights, it was a relatively good value for my money. The one plus is that it is within a block of some very reasonably priced restaurants with good food. The hotel is being remodeled, but not all rooms or hallways have been updated from the appearance of 2 different carpeting. The food leaves a lot to be desired, and the drink prices are almost double that of nearby restaurants. The pool is small but nice & has an obstructed view of the beaches. The bar service is very slow when sitting at the area just outside the casino entrance; it is very busy & only 1 girl was working to take orders from those at the tables; this is a management issue & during peak times additional staff should be scheduled. The casino here seems to be a favorite among many of the locals; did not see anyone winning though. Don't come to San Juan to gamble! Cab fare to old San Juan from this location varies between $15-17 each way, as fares are not metered & it seems it is up to the driver on price. The rooms are clean & majority of the staff are very friendly & helpful, but as with any hospitality business, there is usually 1 or 2 that don't measure up.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We are delighted to read that you liked our location. We appreciate your feedback regarding our restaurant and bar. We regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our Food & Beverage department so they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation. Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan

Address: 1369 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location just one block from Condado Beach, the Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere and top-notch services that are sure to please both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel And Casino San Juan
Radisson San Juan
San Juan Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.