We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan

Save Saved
You added Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1369 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 44 hotels in San Juan
ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A very nice stay great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived Friday for a 2 night stay pre cruise at 6 pm was promptly greeted by a young man who took our bags and was checked in and was told we had been upraded to a Jr Suite for our stay. It was very nice . 2 rooms a balcony . The room was clean , and very nice. The pool was very nice and rooftop type . We spent most of Sat. there . Even used room service to have a Burger and frys sent up very reasonable for San Juan prices IMHO 10.95 and they added a small tip on to it . It was very Good. Location of this hotel is the main reason we booked it along with the price. , so many great places to eat around here, Tijuanas one night , Via Appia the next . Pinkys for Breakfast just to mention a few. Checkout a breeze , leave your key in the room and sign the bill . No waiting and we were off to our cruise . Would could come back again anytime .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our location. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    212
    184
    94
    65
See reviews for
111
233
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is located in condado area, not oceanfront, but from balconies you can see the ocean. Rooms are spacious.
Due to membership in Radisson program, I received upgrade to business floor, including a suite. Bathrooms are nice and renovated, although plumbing is noisy when you flush. I appreciated welcome letter and amenity. Also received 2 welcome drinks and casino coupons. Free wifi.

Suite has a living room with tv and wet bar, fridge. Bedroom is small, but comfortable, small flat screen tv and access to small balcony. Mattress is a sleep number bed. They are very comfortable, but unfortunately these are noisy, and early morning I was awoken from my neighbor messing around with his bed and the motor could be heard in my room.

Pool is on PH level, roof top level. There is a business lounge on PH level, for business room guests, continental breakfast in morning, with an espresso machine that I loved. Afternoon snacks, subs, veggies, and an honor bar for all beverages, including juice/soda.

Hotel seems a little bit older, but is maintained well, hallways have a 70’s feel. Carpets are cleaned daily, but seem tired. The ceilings in room have ceiling tiles, like an office building. Staff is friendly and quick to help.

Self Park is $12 with in-out privileges. Small bar in lobby and large casino.

There are many restaurants and bars, coffee shops in surrounding areas. There is no beach around area.

This place is great for business people and good choice for overnight cruise people since it is conveniently located. Not the best option if you want a resort with large pool or beach, have kids or want to walk to old san juan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your 4-star review and for taking the time to write about your experience. We appreciate your detailed review. We are delighted to read that you liked our facilities and our staff assist you with your needs. Your business was much appreciated. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Booked 4 rooms and only 1 room was right. That happened to be the first couple that arrived. The rest of my group arrived later in the evening.( I called ot let them know that) and they still gave our rooms away. I booked two doubles for people that did not want to sleep in the same bed. We got....1 king and "NO" other sleeping area, 2nd room 1 king and a pull out sofa, 3rd room had a double and a pull out sofa. I'm sorry, the pull out sofa is not acceptible for people with back problems and grandma! Not to mention...it is not comfortable. I did not bother to complain because no more rooms were available and what could they do at that point anyways.... Other than that...hotel is OK for overnight stay for cruising. check your bedding for hairs...found two on one bed. The staff was very polite and helpful. Just hated that one of the people in my group had to sleep on the floor becasue they did not get the rooms right.

Room Tip: Don't expect a nice view at this place. but it is convenient to beach and stores and restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are delighted to read that our staff assists you with your needs. We regret to hear about your disappointment in the room you received. We attempt to fulfill each of our guest’s requests to the best of our ability. Prior to your next stay, we welcome you to contact us so we may discuss your accommodations in detail. We also appreciate your comments about the room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I won a trip to Puerto Rico and had a 5 day 4 night stay at the Radisson. I was very pleased and happy! Although my boyfriend and I got there a little early before check-in and had to wait for our room, I was very pleased with the quality of the room! As soon as we arrived Mary-Ann provided us with a gift which made me even happier :D

The hotel staff was very nice, friendly, and accommodating, including the room attendant (Yolaida is excellent and she is a great woman).

The location is a few blocks from the main Condado area but it is definitely walkable. The only problem I had was the Ambassador Grille. We paid $12 each for a below average breakfast buffet where food came out of buckets. It was not appealing. Aside from that, there are a lot of great restaurants out there to choose from. The casino nightlife is fun as you will see a lot of elderly Puerto Rican couples dancing the night away :)

Excellent hotel! Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your 4-star review. We are delighted to read that our staff was helpful and assist you with your needs. We also appreciate your positive comments about your room and amenities. We regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our Food & Beverage department so they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation. Your business was much appreciated. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel prior to a cruise with family and friends. Good location for restaurants and shops. Felt is was more than one block to the beach or should I say to the nicer part of the beach.
Overall worth the money. Recommend for a short stay. Not too happy with the beds. Great little area with roof top pool with bartender.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the location. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I saw lots of reviews here, both bad mainly and good, so it was confusing to finalise my view based on those reviews. I have travelled around the world with Radisson and Park Plaza hotels thanks to my Friends and Family rate but this experience was something new. Ok to start with Reception staff and their approach to you as a guest: You paid money but I am not your servant! Attitude is something out of this world. No sorry for “your room is not ready” or NO thank you. They never said word please and only thing they wanted to prove that my rate is not something they have ever seen. I cannot believe that hotel never had friends and family global rate understanding. Receptionist’s comment was: you are paying so cheap already and you are asking for breakfast >? Instead receptionist should do everything to check what you are telling her and you should not be put in the situation where they tell you , sorry but we do not accept European rules in PR, that was my understanding when receptionist said you probably never pay so cheap in Europe. What she does not know is that In Europe 5 start hotels on F&F rate is around 70 Euros including great service, breakfast and 25% off food. So summary of the reception is that arrogant, rude, and not professional approach to the guest. We were sent to the pool area until room was goanna get ready: (no sorry for inconvenience of having to wait) Pool was so dirty you could see plastic cups floating. No bar or food there so you are left on the roof with dirty pool where toilet had no doors and you could not even change there to put some summer shorts and t-shirt. It was awful. We upgraded room so room was OK, but old and outdated. One thing was good is balcony and fridge in the room. Casino was old with old grandmothers and local kids. One thing we also liked was room service staff and even they did not know many things as most of they said that they are new and do not know much , some issues like that in the concierge. Conclusion, if you are spending money on Full rate in this hotel: NEVER!!! but if you are paying discounted rate and no other option with discount then it is bearable to go through reception and never ask any questions again until you check out

Room Tip: Upgrade for sure , fith floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best “Yes I Can!” service.
We also appreciate your feedback about the rooms and facilities. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. To discuss your concern further, please do not hesitate to contact us at madavila@ambassadorplaza.com. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The casino is 90% locals (older people playing slots machines). The staff was very friendly and had some live latin music playing. The slots selection was pretty good, lots of penny machines. Table games were $5.00 blackjack and $1.00 roulette . Downside : alcohol drinks need to be ordered by waitress and she has to check with the manager to verify your players card points. Not bad but definitely not a high roller casino.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you liked the casino. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. Your business was much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan

Also Known As:
Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel And Casino San Juan
Radisson San Juan
San Juan Radisson
Address: 1369 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location just one block from Condado Beach, the Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere and top-notch services that are sure to please both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.