We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, basic, basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan

Save Saved
You added Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1369 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 47 hotels in San Juan
milan, italy
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Basic, basic, basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The excellent location, on Ashford Avenue, is the best quality of this hotel, along with the large parking lot. The rest is barely adequate. Rooms are large, but finish and furniture are dated. Noisy air conditioning unit and electronic keys that didn't work 8 times out of 10 were a real nuisance. In this price range (180 dollars/night), there're better (and often less expensive) places in the Condado area, like the Doubletree Hilton or the Best Western.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are delighted to read that you loved the location. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards. We also appreciate your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    218
    205
    100
    73
See reviews for
129
252
48
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SXM
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I usually stay at this hotel whenever I visit San juan. Just arrive home from staying there, the price was a little expensive but needed a place to stay and also i had some points that i could use there. The room we stayed in was okay; however the door when open make so much noise. I was thinking it was only ours but heard other doors. The Internet is really bad. Had to sit outside the door on the floor to get connection. This is very bad, even when outside the signal keep dropping. Also the parking is an issue there on the weekends. It took us 40 mins to get a parking that is prepaid for and then you cannot find parking. This parking issue have been going on for years. Up to this point nothing have been done. The rooms are clean and the front desk and maids are very friendly.

Room Tip: Up grade to a suite or the ambassdor club room. As the normal rooms are nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and we do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards. Your business was much appreciated. We look forward to your next stay.
Please do hesitate to contact us at madavila@ambassadorplaza.com during or after your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom, Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here one night pre-cruise, March 2013. The hotel was nice enough for a night or two. The King sized room was very clean,comfortable and suited our needs for the 1 night stay. The rate was quite reasonable compared to other hotels in San Juan.

It's an easy walk to the beach as well as restaurants, fast food and Walgreen's. The roof top pool is very nice.

I was disappointed in the fact that our room was not ready when we went to check in. They state checkin is at 3:00 but rooms were not ready until closer to 4:00. Bell service did hold our bags for us though. When we went back later to check in, I asked for a room with a nice view as a courtesy since we had to wait. We received a nice room on the 4th floor overlooking all the Roof Top Air Conditioners. :( So much for going the extra mile for customer service!

We are traveling to San Juan again next year and will be looking for a pre cruise stay. I would consider staying here again. It's not the Marriott for sure, but then again it's not Marriott rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our rooms and roof top pool. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Radisson before we boarded our cruise ship, it was comfortable but I would not stay there for a long stay. Staff were friendly, very central to all amenities. If you like a cup of tea bring your own as this is not provided in the rooms, only coffee. I was not overly impressed with the breakfast, but it sustained me for most if the day as it is a buffet and you can it as much as you like of what you like. Beds are very comfortable and the hotel relatively noise free.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that our staff assists you with your needs. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel did NOT meet my expectations what so ever! I, myself, work at the front desk of a Radisson in Wisconsin and the way I was treated would not be acceptable in our hotel. For one, my credit card was authorized without my consent which almost maxed it out. The lady who checked me in was a complete snob and nobody aknowledged me when I first walked up to the desk and when I asked where I was supposed to check in she rudely rolled her eyes and said have you gotten your keys to your room yet..I said no? which is the reason I'm asking where to check in? She blatantly just took my card and swiped it and said the room was not ready and that she was going to charge me an extra $40 a night for "extra people" which was never stated on my reservation, then continued to tell me that I would be charged ANOTHER $50 a night for some suite?? I was not happy then she said to give the bags to the bellman and stop back in 2 hours. There was no bellman....carried our big suit cases up to the restaurant looking like fools to get some food. We were then told we could order drinks to the room for free with our free drink coupons..they come to the door and charge us $8 ..it was charge after charge after charge that was not expected. complained to at least 5 different people including 2 managers and nobody seemed to care!! HORRIBLE SERVICE avoid if you can unless you want NO money when youre finished.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room that has any sort of view to the ocean, expect to look at a brick wall. Got st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best “Yes I Can!” service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services.
To discuss yourconcern further, do not hesitate to contact us at madavila@ambassadorplaza.com. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pa.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was in San Juan for business. This hotel has reasonable rates for a very convenient location in Condado Beach, San Juan. It is only 2 blocks to the beach. A very nice roof top pool. The Ambassador Club - Radissons' equivalent of a concierge floor is also at the pool level on the roof with a decent continental breakfast, and drinks/snacks for happy hour. Best of all was the very friendly staff at the front desk. Rooms are basic, good TV, and AC. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Ambassador Floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to boarding a cruise ship. The hotel and the price were decent. The room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was pleasant and check in and out was efficient. When checking in, we asked for maps and information on local sites. We received maps but nothing more; no suggestions on how to best get around or what to see. Our experience in the restaurant was not as positive as the table next to us. Our waitress was very inattentive, while the table next to us received excellent services. The casino is small but fun! There are several nice restaurants and a beach within walking distance. There is also a small grocery store a couple blocks away. If you stay here, make sure you take a ride to Old San Juan. The town is vibrant with color and architecture. The forts are also interesting and worth the visit. I would stay here again, if cruising out of San Juan in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you liked your room and our convenient location. We appreciate your feedback regarding Front Desk and our Ambassador Grill. We regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our food and beverage department so they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan

Address: 1369 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location just one block from Condado Beach, the Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere and top-notch services that are sure to please both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel And Casino San Juan
Radisson San Juan
San Juan Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.