We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan to your Saves list
Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1369 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Charlotte Hall, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The place is ok, but not worth what I paid for 4 people. First day when we arrived, we had lunch at the grill in the hotel with only three tables occupied and waited for an hour for our food. My room was with four adults and got two towels. When we asked for extra towels, we never got them. No microwave and no refrigerator. When speaking with one of the front desk personnel, he seemed like he just didn't want to be of any assistance. I feel that $600.000 was a bit to much for only three days and not have all the above. The picture on line of the hotel is completely different then in person. Nice area, but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to read that you liked our location. We appreciate your feedback regarding our restaurant, Housekeeping, and Front Desk departments. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our management so they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service. We don’t have microwave in the rooms. A mini refrigerator is included in the Ambassador Club suites. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    239
    215
    109
    82
See reviews for
144
273
52
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is great for a pre or post cruise stay. It is 10 min walking distance to Condado Beach, 15 min taxi ride to the port or to the airport. Has spacious rooms, clean, comfortable beds. Has a restaurant, casino, spa and a pool on the rooftop.Other resonably priced restaurants are also very close by, including a Starbucks. The hotel offers free Wi-FI and a Conference Room where you can print boarding passes. You can also store luggages before and after your check in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our rooms. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Pros-
-good location and close enough to hop a short taxi ride to cruise port
-Checkin and checkout was a breeze
-Staff are all very nice and helpful
-Casino is nice to have
-Little lobby bar with some local entertainment was also nice
-Drinks were good
-environment was clean
-They will store your luggage for you upon checkout if you have time before your cruise

Cons-
-Hotel needs remodeling desperately
-Room was run down with broken handles, old tv, old fixtures, old bed
-by the pool, caution tape on broken railing bars (get some plants to cover this up if you can't fix it)
-Pool grounds are made with pebbles that came up and stuck on your feet
-The sports bar/restaurant on site was way overpriced with not so great food
-Horrible coffee
-Too much money for a place that needs work
-No beach

Will I return? No. I'd rather pay a little more to stay at a nicer place.

Room Tip: Looks like there is a newer section to the hotel. Ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read that you liked our location and our staff assists you with your needs. We apologize that you are not satisfied with your experience at our hotel. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions and I always enjoy my stay. My friend and I shop till we drop and use the hotel as a base. The hotel is perfectly located in the Condado area, with numerous restaurants and shops nearby. The beach is literally just along the road too. Just down the road from the hotel is a great little Mexican place which does great margaritas and fajitas and next to that is a Puerto Rican place which is great too. But the restaurant at the hotel does great burgers as well as other dishes. The fact that the hotel has parking is great for us as we tend to come and go dropping off our purchases, much to the amusement of the bell boys! Its a lively place with lots going on at weekends, live music and plenty of people at the bar and casino. Rooms are spacious and well supplied with the usual amenities such as kettle, hair dryer, TV etc. Beds are comfortable and bathroom is clean! We usually find that the staff are curteous and friendly especially as I speak Spanish. Being a hub for the US and a Cruise ship port of departure and arrival PR can be expensive but this hotel is affordable and a pleasant way to spend a few days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. Your business is much appreciated. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook and follow on Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel worked out well in it's location and availability for a precruise night. I don't think I would stay here on vacation. It is located near the beach and not on the beach. There are alot of goings on around the hotel in the way of foot and automobile traffic, but I did not really see any nice restaurants or desirable bars in the three or four blocks we walked. There is a small lobby where you check in next to a loud casino. The desk clerks were polite, but not very welcoming at all. I think I would have ranked better had I spoken Spanish. The small elevator takes you up to a dimly lit hall. The rooms were good. Our room was clean and fresh and the A/C worked great.
The bed was comfortable and there was very little hall noise heard during the night. The best part, you are ten minutes from the cruise terminal. $16.00 plus $1.00 per bag for the cab. I would stay here again for the convenience, but it was expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you liked our location and rooms. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We look forward for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for one night during an extended lay-over from the Caribbean. The hotel is centrally located on the main strip in the Condado district which is excellent for the bustling night-life of San Juan. When we arrived, the lobby was a hive of activity, with a wedding party milling around and the vibrancy of the casino close by. Check-in was swift, if not a little surly and impersonal.

Our room was well-appointed (a junior suite) and clean. There were a couple of quality issues, specifically with the air conditioning controller and the sleep-number function on the bed.

We both took advantage of the free welcome drink from the bar and also had a flutter in the large casino on the ground floor. The coffee machine in the hotel room was appreciated (especially for our early start) - although only one coffee tab for a junior suite was a little surprising! We also appreciated the ATM in the lobby and the ability to get a taxi any time of the day/night from outside the hotel.

Over all, it was a pleasant stay in a good quality hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the location. We appreciate your comments about the room. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

There are many things to do -a lot of good restaurants in Condado. Many in San Juan-only complaint would be the distance to San Juan from condado-it is not walkable in the heat.We took the bus several times-good value for 75cents and also took taxis for a flat rate of 15.00 plus tip.We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel it was just not near a lot of things and the taxi rides became costly but would definetly reccommend this hotel for the value.

Room Tip: We called beforehand and requested an upper floor-had a suite on 4th floor-everything was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the location and your room. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan

Address: 1369 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location just one block from Condado Beach, the Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere and top-notch services that are sure to please both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel And Casino San Juan
Radisson San Juan
San Juan Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.