We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERVED THE PURPOSE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan to your Saves list
Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1369 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“SERVED THE PURPOSE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Last March we booked two nights through Priceline for the purpose of staying a night at the beginning and end of our seven day cruise in December. Taxi fare from the airport to the hotel is $15. US plus $2. per bag. Upon arrival and after a long day of travelling and tired we heard what no traveller wants to hear we have no reservation for you. The front desk provided us with an upgraded suite and applied the reservation from our second night to cover the cost. We were advised to call Priceline.
We went to our room and made two calls to Priceline and were told that we were confirmed for both nights however upon checkout the next day were informed that arrangements had not been made to cover the cost of both nights and that the reservation for the first night had been made for April. A third call to Priceline was made requesting this matter be taken care of by the time we returned from our cruise. Being a Sunday they had to wait until Monday to speak with Hotel Staff. A week later after returning from our cruise we were told that the matter had still not been settled. Front Desk Staff at the Hotel were wonderful in assisting us. They called Priceline and requested a fax message be sent to cover the cost which finally took place. A refund was sent to us by Priceline for the first night stay. In the end things worked out to our satisfaction.
The Hotel is clean with a Casino, rooftop pool & bar, restaurant on the second floor that serves good food at a reasonable price. Our room was spacious with a partial view of the ocean. The ocean is a short walk away. The room was clean however could use a make-over. Our toilet needed a repair that was taken care of, albeit, took some time. The Manager was very nice and gave us a complimentary meal.
The Hotel is located on a main street with numerous bars and restaurants as well as Starbucks and Walgreens nearby. A Denny's restaurant is a considerable walk away although we like to walk and enjoyed breakfast there. We tried to take the bus to Old San Juan. It was a Sunday and the buses do not run regular times. After waiting over an hour we shared a taxi downtown after negotiating a rate of $10. Old San Juan is a really nice place to visit with two forts, lots of shopping, restaurants and sites to see. There is a free trolley service that will take you around Old San Juan. We tried taking the bus home and waited over an hour at the main bus terminal. The Bus is only .75 cents if you can handle the long wait times. The cruise terminal for Carnival is located in Old San Juan directly across the street from the Sheraton Hotel which looked very nice. It is $14 plus $1. bag from the Hotel to the Cruise ship.
The hotel also gave us complimentary drink tickets upon check-in on both nights and $10. Casino matchplay tickets. We only initially paid $75. per night to Priceline and certainly received value for the price paid and our stay at thie hotel served the purpose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review about the property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff assist you to resolve the situation about your reservation. We appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, Ambassador Grill, amenities and facilities. Your business was much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back in your next travels to Puerto Rico! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    251
    234
    123
    90
See reviews for
152
297
57
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
462 helpful votes 462 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Checked in for 2 night stay. Got upgraded to a suite. Went into the room it was freezing (66-67) triedto adjust thermostat to no avail. Cod air was constantly blowing. Also Sleep Number bed was not plugged in, safe locked open, 2 out of three phones did not work, and mini fridge did not get cold. engineer cam to fix temp with no change. asked for another room but said they were full. Went out dinner. Cam back and got a call asking if we wanted a new room, only 4 doors down from ours. Checked it out and went was good and adjustable. Continental breakfast is ok but not worth paying extra for.Nice casino, great bellman service, and bed made up for poor start.

Room Tip: close to Old San Juan and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review about the property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our Ambassador Casino. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during our stay with us. We appreciate your comments. Our guests’ experiences motivate us to double our efforts in ensuring that our maintenance program is followed accordingly for your enjoyment and relaxation. We look forward to welcome you back in your next travels to Puerto Rico. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the top of the line Ambassador suites and although the rooms were decent its nothing to write home about. Keeping in min the price it's you get what you pay for.

Hotel included continental breakfast that was very basic and good for a quick power b'fast on the go.

The hotel also has a very minimal pool and gymn.

The casino appeared to be a very popular hangout for the locals and was constantly ringing. Thankfully we were on the top floor and didn't hear a sound.

The location is excellent - close to the city center, 10 mins from old San Juan and minutes away by walk to the beach.. Tons of restaurants are around and are fun to hang out in the evenings.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review about the property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our location. We appreciate your comments about the rooms, Food and Beverage and facilities. We will use your feedback to improve our guests’ experience. We look forward to welcome you back in your next travels to Puerto Rico. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good value. Only wish they had free parking. Right next door is a Hertz rental agency, so you can get a car for the day or the week. Nice way to get around in PR. I slept very well, the shower was great. I didn't bother to go to the Casino, so no comment there. I think I will stay there again before my next cruise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review about the property .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our location and rooms. Your business was much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Wow .... with all the bad reviews this place gets, I was dreading staying here. I was delighted to find that I didn't agree with most of them. The front desk was nice and helpful, the room was VERY clean, and the casino was a blast. I am still confused about the complimentary hot dogs and salami but thats ok. The whole hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The Ambassador Club evening appetizers and breakfast was outstanding. At night they had mini sandwiches, veggies, fruit, cheese, crackers, and fried potato balls. For breakfast they had Cream of Wheat, juices, and tons of assorted breads and pastries. The Guava ones were amazing. It was a very nice spread which they kept refilling and very clean. We went to their Grill later at night to use our free drink coupons and get a light dinner. The food and drinks were wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review about your property. We are happy to hear that our staff was very helpful and make your stay a memorable one. We apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We will provide your feedback with our Casino team to ensure that everyone is consistent with the service. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked the Radisson through the hotel's website and got a better rate than when I was shopping around online. As metioned in other reviews the hotel is 3 stars, not at 4 star catagory just yet. I did notice that there was some remodleing going on but the hotel needs a complete facelift. We stayed this past weekend from Thurs-Mon. Hotel lobby is small, lounge is also small but lively. We requested a room on an upper floor and ended with 1 on the 5th of 8 floors. No problem with noise, floor was quiet. Hallways are not well lit, carpets are aged but not dirty. Bathroom was recently remodled and very clean. We got a two room King suite with a small balcony. Room was clean but again carpet was dated and needs to be replaced. The carpet wasnt dirty but you can tell its been down for a while. Room had refrig, wetbar, workdesk and free WiFi. Lots of closet space and air worked great. You can tell from my review that I was not overwealmed with excitement but wasnt dissapointed. Its an ok hotel if you get a good deal in my opinion close to $100. Anything over $150 doesn't seem worth it. For some reason our last night of our stay our room was not serviced, not sure why but when I called the front desk at 1130pm (when we arrived back) they offered no appologies. I just asked for fresh towels and went to bed.
I'll metion it when I check out and see what they say.
Overall rating, worth staying at, room was clean and comfortable, casino was not very exciting and I wouldn't pay much over $100 or so. Feel free to email for more info.

Room Tip: As for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review about your property. We are glad to hear that you liked your room. We apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during our stay with us. We will provide your feedback about Rooms and Housekeeping to our team to ensure that everyone is consistent with the service. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

the staff was wmderful. when we had an issue with the room. we got upgraded to a new room. when we got to our room the staff had a brithday surprise for my cousin. everyone at the hotel was wonderful and welcoming expect for one staff person who works the casino as a pit boss. he was the rudest staff person with no people or costumer service skills. he talked to nasty to me and when i made a formal complaint about him and how he spoke to me,i never got a apology. i would go back to the hotel for all the other staff but that pit boss need a customer service class.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Ann D, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review about your property. We are happy to hear that our staff was very helpful and make your stay a memorable one. We apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We will provide your feedback with our Casino team to ensure that everyone is consistent with the service. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan

Address: 1369 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location just one block from Condado Beach, the Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere and top-notch services that are sure to please both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel And Casino San Juan
Radisson San Juan
San Juan Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Ambassador Plaza Hotel & Casino San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.