We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice amenities but not worth the unpleasant staff and extra charges” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Save Saved
You added The Condado Plaza Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99
Ranked #19 of 46 hotels in San Juan
New York City, New York
1 review
“Nice amenities but not worth the unpleasant staff and extra charges”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We reserved a king sized bed through Expedia with city views. When we checked in at 7:00pm they said our room was not going to be ready for another three hours. If we wanted to check in right away with a king sized bed our only option was to upgrade to a lagoon view for $100.00. After arguing we ended up just paying it so we could start our vacation. The room was okay-the bed was slightly uncomfortable and our shower stall door did not close properly, leaving a huge puddle on the bathroom floor after we showered. The calk in the shower was also turning a weird pink color. The staff was unpleasant and service was so slow. If you want a beach towel you need to sign one out and the line takes 15 minutes. Two thumbs up, however, for the valet service. Valet service was speedy and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBurn, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Kristin S,

First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your reservation. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected, however at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. I sincerely apologize if this may have caused you any inconveniences. In addition, I truly regret if our staff was unpleasant with you and that you found our service to be slow. Our main concern is that all our guests experience a welcoming and efficient stay and I assure you that I will definitely take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.

Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again.


Thank you and kind regards,

Michelle Burn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    665
    872
    516
    264
    189
See reviews for
463
928
95
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times before cruising and cannot fault it. The rooms are huge. I always take a sea view as these have huge balconies overlooking the sea. Breakfast is simply brilliant. The hotel is in the centre of Condado, a short drive from the Plaza De Las Americas which is a must go to as its probably the best shopping centre in the Caribbean and cheap too. Thoroughly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have huge balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel was amazing! My boyfriend and i got it by chance when booking with hotwire.com (which i also recommend) on our way down air tran (NEVER FLY WITH THEM) lost our bags and really put a damper on the trip but everyone at the hotel who knew about our situation was very understanding and helpful. It really felt like they cared and did their best to make us feel comfortable. We got our room upgraded and Yahitza who works at the front desk was AMAZING super sweet and very helpful. So was the concierge, they were very helpful with information on attractions and where to go in the city. Also if you are renting a car i would go with the enterprise on site, the manager was VERY helpful and worked with us due to our situation and tight cash flow since we had to unexpectedly spend 150 on new clothes for the trip due to the lost baggage. The hotels views were beautiful, there is alot to do on site for children and adults as far as water sports. Very close to old san juan, dining, shopping, walgreens ect. Oh and the casino though small is nice, table games and slots and again amazing workers. Only real down side was the price of food in the hotel......go somewhere else to eat =)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a great updated room on the 6th floor with a balcony facing the ocean. This, to me, is the best location. The pool area (with 2 pools) is very nice with a swim up bar and covered outdoor restaurant nice for breakfast or a light lunch. The service we had could not have been better. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The lobby and casino areas can get noisy but we found quiet places, such as the veranda, to sit. There is a small beach area. The location is great for walking to restaurants in Condado and we also walked into Old San Juan (which was quite a hike). There is a bus stop right out in front of the hotel. Will return!

Room Tip: high floors facing the ocean for great views of the water and the surf
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just came back from the Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza. What a great hotel!! I would recommend this hotel highly as the location is great! It is close to Old San Juan, and is located near many good restaurants! It also has its own beach, and a couple of pools.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean. I would recommend the Bay side of the hotel as my husband and I sat and watched on our balcony many water activities going on!!

The food was also very good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice time at happy hour in the Aqua bar. David was very good suggesting and preparing enjoyable drinks when we didn't know what would be a good rum drink. He suggested dining options near the hotel but we ended up staying at the bar and ordering from the menu there. Food was good, service was great, fun evening at Aqua at the Conrad.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We started out here when we landed in Puerto Rico last June. It was so beautiful, and not overly packed. We loved sitting by the pool and ordering from the bar, and watching the sunset from the rocks shooting out over the crashing water. It isn't our style to stay in one place for too long so we left and explored the west side of the island for a few days but when we came back to San Juan before flying out, we decided to stay here again. The service was great and the room was clean with a beautiful view.

Room Tip: You can see the water when you go out on to the balcony, otherwise, from inside you are just looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only luxury hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotels. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-wining Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, a 24-hour casino, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and a bubbling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Condado Plaza Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.