We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good clean room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Save Saved
You added The Condado Plaza Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Expensive but good clean room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Enterpise Rental Car next door--much more convenient than airport location. Concierge will get your boarding passes for you. Avoid rooms near the Casino--noisy. Beds were comfortable. Room was clean. Bathroom floor can be very slippery if wet. Ocean side has great view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    685
    895
    535
    274
    200
See reviews for
493
952
96
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
albert lea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place is in real need of a makeover. The beach is rocky, rooms and beds are not comfortable, the furniture is all beat up, and the service is poor, overall shabby place. Don't go there unless for one night at a very low rate.

Room Tip: This hotel needs a big rennovation. The carpet is worn, the furniture is all beat up, the beach is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

came here in march, loved it!

Location is ok - its on the water with a small beach and a pool etc...

The room was the best though- ocean view and slept to the waves at night crashing on the rocks... amazing!

Balcony was nice to be able to use- dont sit on the chairs though my friend fell through and hurt her back! it was old obviously...

They have a nice nice bar inside and the staff was outstanding! we upgraded our room once we got there and every time we went out to dinner and needed a car we were helped promptly...

.

Denny's across the street was nice also! and a Starbucks nextdoor...

Very nice real estate if u walk around the hotel... pretty!

Id return

Ps the shower is so cool - all clear walls :)

Room Tip: *hammocks outside to use - so nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed during a recent business trip to the area. Location was great due to proximity to both the airport and work location. Room was clean, spacious, sleek and modern. Pool area was beautiful. Beach was rocky and crowded.

We arrived at the hotel well after business hours. The front desk agents were young and very short tempered. The concierge person was also short and not very helpful. The Starbucks that is connected to the hotel had amazing service. Noah was awesome.

I would consider staying at this hotel again because the price point and location were both decent compensating for the lack of service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great hotel very clean our room was very nice with many updates pool bar was being repaired but was still open great drinks food was very tasty at every restaurant inside the hotel and so was the room service but was a little expensive for a better bang for your buck walk over to one of many restaurants down the block

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had last been in San Juan, 20 years ago. Nice new terminal that Jetblue has at the San Juan Airport. Rented a car with Hertz, was taken to Hertz with a shuttle bus (it is very close to the jetblue terminal). Lots of new taxis (vans) waiting for arriving passengers. Hertz gold members who reserve online, no need to stop at the car rental counter, the shuttle bus driver tells you the parking spot number where your car is located, some paperwork hangs from the car's rear-view mirror. I was given a new Ford Fusion, nice car. The drive to the Conrad Hotel was easy and took less than 15 minutes. Valet parking and there is a safe and secure underground parking area at the Conrad.

Checked in around 1pm and was given a room immediately. I tried to tip the front desk person but she wouldn't take any money. I gave her a bag of Hershey Miniatures Chocolates (about 20 ounces) that she could share with her fellow workers. The front desk worker was very nice, professional and friendly. Check-in in took 5 minutes. Was given two room keys, one for me and another for a family member.

The room was on the 6th floor near the elevator, ocean view room. The room was cool when we entered, good A/C, easy to use thermostat. Everything was clean and nice. Seems like the sheets on the bed were brand new. Seems there is a down comforter on the bed and about 4 pillows of different sizes.

Nice view of the ocean from the room, off in the distance the Caribe Hotel and Hlton Hotel can be seen.

Went swimming at the pool bar (which is shallow and has a slide that was fun). The beach has no waves, at the conrad, the water stays shallow at that beach. Some pebbles at the beach in the water. The deeper salt water pool near the pool bar was being cleaned when we were there. Take the sky-bridge across Ashford Avenue to get to the lagoon tower building and there is another pool there, 9 feet deep at one end and around 4 feet deep at the other. Good for swimming. There is a jacuzzi and two tennis courts there as well and lounge chairs with towels. The Gym is near there as well, with good machines and free weights, sauna, steam-room and an indoor jacuzzi which was hot.

I ate at the Chinese/Japanese Noodle, Sushi place next to the casino at the Conrad (it was open till 3am on a Thursday night). Good service, the food was good. There are about 4 other places to eat at the Conrad. There is a starbucks in the building, just outside the front doors of the hotel, entrance is on Ashford Avenue. Subway Sandwich shop is about a block away. Chilis chain restaurant is less than 2 blocks away on Ashford Avunue. Ben and Jerry's ice cream shop was excellent, it is located in Ventana al Mar Park (this park is a 10 minutes or less walk from the Conrad) . Buns hamburger shop across from the Marriot on Ashford Avenue was good. Walgreens Pharmacy and Mini-Mart on Ashford Avenue is open 24 hours, sells soda, water, juice, milk, diapers etc) less than a 15 minute walk from the Conrad.

Walking on Ashford Avenue is safe and easy. Lots of police on foot and driving in cars. I always felt safe and I walked around till 5am. I walked to old San Juan from the Conrad Hotel at 9pm one night, long walk but enjoyable and I saw a group of 20 year old women make the same walk. Lots of people jogging and riding bicycles on Ashford Avenue in the evenings.

Old San Juan was nice, lots of lights in a park there, clean and nicely restored Colonial era buildings.

The ocean-view room at the Conrad Hotel had strong water pressure in the shower with plenty of hot water. The room has a digital safe that would probably be big enough for a 16 inch laptop. Also a refrigerator and coffee maker. Numerous toiletries are given and a new loofah type thing in a sealed plastic bag (for the skin).

Wifi internet was included in the room rate and worked well. I booked through Jetblue Getaway Vacations and there were no additional charges when i checked out. Parking costs about $16 per day.

Mix of people at the hotel, young and old and different ethnicities. People were very friendly, nice group of people. The people in Puerto Rico were friendly and the workers at the Conrad were very nice and professional.

I had drinks one night in the Condado Vanderbilt hotel, beautiful classic, restored lobby and bar areas. La Concha hotel has a nice bar area. I had drinks at the Conrad as well, at the lobby bar and the pool bar.

I saw a vehicle for the company ThyssenKrupp parked near the entrance, the day I arrived, seems they service the elevators. The elevators worked fine when I was there and were nicer than the elevator I used at the Marriott Hotel on Ashford Avenue.

I enjoyed my stay at the Conrad Hotel and would recommend it to anyone. I also enjoyed Puerto Rico and will be traveling back there. I would recommend using Jetblue Getaways to book a hotel, they have customer service which I believe is based in Utah, available 24/7 to assist with any problems regarding a hotel stay. I took an ATT gophone prepaid cell phone and it worked fine in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Maybe give a bag of chocolates like Hershey Miniatures at check in. I put the chocolates in the free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the Conrad Hilton Condado Plaza in San Juan PR and my family and I were treated like Royalty. From our greeting at the main entrance to our check-in process and check-out it was excellent. The room was beautiful and clean the service throughout the property was great. The staff was very friendly and service oriented especially Mr. Edgardo De Jesus who I believe was the Rooms Division or Front Office Manager. What a hospitable person. I would highly recommend this property for business or in my case pleasure. The resort is also family oriented including the rooms. If you haven't stayed in PR this is the place to do so.

Room Tip: We stayed at the family Junior Suite it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only luxury hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotels. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-wining Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, a 24-hour casino, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and a bubbling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Condado Plaza Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.