We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room but not the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Save Saved
You added The Condado Plaza Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in San Juan
New York, NY
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Loved the room but not the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

They have refurbished the old
Condado Plaza hotel. We stayed in the oceanfront building which was beautiful. They did a fantastic job redoing the rooms in this building. A friend staying in the lagoon tower said their room was not nice (maybe unrenovated) but I never saw it. Our room had a great bed and bathroom and was very large with a wonderful terrace. The main drawbacks are that the location is very convenient but the beach is almost nonexistent! It is all, dirty and right next to a busy road. There a rocks and stones in the water which is not the ocean but a small lagoon! Not what I want in a beach. Pools
We're nice but the furniture was very beat up! The food in the hotel restaurants with the exception of Pikayu was terrible with such slow service. The casino is large but also in serious need of refurbishing. Never met so many dealers with no personality. Front desk staff was wonderful but the bellman or doormen were mostly missing in action. If you are going for a beach then stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBurn, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear segmd,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and apologize you were disappointed in our beach. We work closely with our groundskeepers to ensure our ocean front is clean and well-kept and apologize this was not your experience. We will share your comments on our staff and casino dealers’ service and use your input as a reminder of how important our guest interactions truly are. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we may show you the quality service and amenities you deserve should you return to the area in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,

Michelle Burn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    685
    895
    535
    274
    200
See reviews for
493
952
96
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BuffettAir
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

For San Juan standards this place is nice to spend a few days. Our biggest complaint was the noise as others have mentioned. Our first night was awesome with the only sound of crashing waves outside our balcony. (With Diamond HHonors, they upgraded us to a breathtaking view of the ocean, $7 vouchers to use towards any of their 3 breakfast restaurants, and gave 2 bottles of water). The upgraded water view was by far the best perk as you saw nothing but water outside your room and could hear the crash of the waves. Back to the noise - on the second night, the hotel was near occupancy with several cruises leaving the next day. We could hear every door slam, shout, and our next-door neighbors yelling. This was amplified because they have those room to room doors and sound travels through the gaps easily.

Overall, a good stay in a great location. Before returning to the Condado, we would probably try staying at the Hilton Caribe next time we are in San Juan. We have stayed at the Doubletree, which is nice but the lagoons/ocean near the Conrad Condado and Caribe are gorgeous and worth the extra $.

Other tips / Special Mentions:

- Using the breakfast vouchers - use them at Denny's because they go further and we actually thought the food was better than the Caribe lounge.
- the city bus picks you up in front near the lagoon beach. For $0.75 it will take you to Old Town.
- for dinner, try some of the restaurants down the street instead of the overpriced Hilton restaurants
- the rooms were modern and spaciously optimized. Comfy sofa, very nice bathroom with walk-in glass shower, and coffeemaker w/ refridge. Small complaint with 19 inch TV, when 32 inches should be the industry standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBurn, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear BuffetAir,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us! We always appreciate hearing from our guests and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. Please accept our apology for the noise issue you encountered from neighboring guests and know that our Engineering team is working on a solution to this problem. We know how important a good night's rest in peaceful accommodations is while traveling and we are currently exploring options to better soundproof our rooms. We are glad you enjoyed your upgraded room and that you were able to experience the breathtaking views from your balcony. We hope you will consider staying with us again and experiencing the tranquil space you seek, should you return to San Juan in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,

Michelle Burn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Awesome place to stay as long as is not the busy summer season. I just had to stay a whole week to Sandy storm, the management was very gracious trying to accomodate us with a better fare and the location and beach are great, I have stayed on the summer months and its just too busy, another story.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed 3 days at the Conrad and would definitely stay again. The hotel was perfectly placed with breathtaking views of the breakers with our ocean view room. The small beach and lagoon were a delightful addition to the hotel's other amenities such as casino, Denny's and other eateries and it was easy to catch the B21 bus right outside to take us to old San Juan for 75 cents
The Condado area is a perfect tourist strolling area with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants so ideal for a short break like ours. The hotel staff were very helpful; the concierge helped us order some flowers online and kept them for us until we were ready to collect them. We were very happy customers.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room, the views are breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Spent 7 nights at the Conrad with my wife and 2 daughters. We stayed in a Junior Suite. Girls twin beds were comfortable but the King size in the master area sat right on a low profile frame and the mattress was not thick enough to support properly so woke up with some sore backs. Had to move rooms on day 2 because of a leak from floor above, but the new suite was right next door and worked out fine the rest of the way. Local staff take it easy and without haste, so plan on being patient, though your needs will be met. Facilities were good and Cafe food was formidable though pricey. It hurts to get hit with the daily resort fee on checkout day...what do you pay a room rate for? But that is a PR economy thing more than anything. All in all, the experience was good but were it not for my extended family living in PR, I would have rather spent what I did at El Conquistador Resort or the Dominican Republic. This place is better suited in, my opinion, for shorter stays.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed for 7days.The overall location, eye appeal from entrance to room, and staff is simply breath taking. The double building hotel is linked together with a lit sky-walk just over the street. The hotel staff were always courteous and took the extra time to make us feel as though we were the only people staying there. With each passing of the front desk, they gave my little one year old a stuffed animal that they kept in a basket behind the desk. The hotel has in-house set up for those looking for tours available in the main lobby. The hotel is very close to many restaurants (I recommend the Cosa Lola right next to Chilli's: DELICIOUS + you get a huge portion for what you pay), within very short walking distance (to the left). They have a Denny's right in the hotel, but after eating there and venturing outside the hotel (to the left) and eating at the other restaurants, save your money and eat out whenever you can. You'll have more bang for your buck and it'll stretch a lot further. The view is majestic! We experienced light up night full of festivities just a short walk away from the hotel, and when not traveling to our son's basketball game ( ESPN's Puerto Rico Tip-Off), we enjoyed a very relaxing day poolside. They were certain to give us details for a return and tossed in group ratings for our family. Everything here fits well for those traveling solo, with family, or as a couple! It has a little something for everyone!! The next time we return, we will be bringing our entire family.
For 5 star service, rooms, and activities for an unbelievably affordable price, stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is nice, it is two towers in the Condado area. The room we stayed in looks just like the picture and the staff was very helpful and friendly. There was a bar, a DJ thur and fri night that we were there, two swimming pools (one with a swim up bar), a very small strip of beach, a pretty decent gym, a casino a Dennys and a few other restaurants we did not visit.

Positives:
- Comfy beds!
- Great housekeeping service- well cleaned each day and we went through towels like crazy
- Location within walking distance to a few places to eat (casa Lola, Chilis, Subway, Wendy's etc..)
- Bus stop right in front of the hotel if you are going local
- Friendly staff and the concierge can book things for you
- Poolside massage service available
- Denny's in the building for an easy breakfast (great service there too)
- Good gym and jacuzzi-- but get out of the hotel
- Amazing view! I took the Hiltonhonors offer to upgrade to ocean view and it was worth it. It's amazing to stand on the balcony and see the ocean for miles or just listen to the waves crashing against the rocks.

Negatives:
- The lighting really isn't that great, I could have used another lamp
- If you want beachfront this probably wouldn't be my first choice
- The door to the room was a little loud to open and close-definitely a minor point, I think ours had a problem anyway.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only luxury hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotels. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-wining Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, a 24-hour casino, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and a bubbling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Condado Plaza Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.