We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, bad service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Save Saved
You added El Canario by the Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Canario by the Lagoon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, bad service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We actually liked the hotel. It's in a great location in Condado, right off of the main strip, close to the beach also. The rooms are good and clean.
But the front desk person in the evenings is terrible. Very rude, definitely has a clear dislike for tourists. Which is odd given his career choice. During our 2 night stay we asked him several questions about the city and he could barely bother to look up from his laptop or remove his headphones.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    71
    35
    19
    11
See reviews for
20
43
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are looking for a clean hotel which is well located, this is a great choice! It's only a 2 minute walk away from the beach and Ashford Avenue (where all the hotels, restaurants, bars, etc are) so at night it is very quiet!
Our room had a double bed, AC, cable tv, wifi, a balcony with views of the lagoon and the bathroom was a good size too. The furnishings weren't very modern, but for us the cleanliness was more important. Our towels got changed daily, and the sheets every other day.
After my first shower that had very little pressure, I spoke to someone in reception and they solved the problem straight away by changing the shower head.
I needed to iron some clothes and could use the iron and ironing board on the ground floor where there is a washing machine and dryer too.
We stayed at the hotel for 7 days so when I called to make the booking, I asked for a discount which they did give us. We met other people who were staying there for 3-4 weeks who also get a good deal.
The breakfast was very basic: lots of cereal, bread, pastries, watermelon, apples and bananas. I was hoping for lots of different fruit so that was a bit disappointing but by the second day I was over it! ;)
There's a bus stop to take you to Old San Juan, extremely unreliable! Locals told us that buses turn up when they went to, but only costs 75 cents.
The best place we found to rent a car was at enterprise, which is on 888 Avenida Ashford, next to Starbucks. They had the best rates and it was even cheaper to book online than in person!
We had a great time in PR and I was very sad to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is located very nicely and a walking distance of many things a turist will want to go to.
Neighbourhood felt safe.
Service was great expect 1 man on the night we arrived (it was after midnight ).
He was rude and unhelpful. Everyone else was really freindly,especially a lady from St.Lucia,Mathilda I think she was called,wonderful and so helpful person!!
Rooms are big and confy,beds are big which was very nice!
Airconditioning was quite old and noisy but it worked and that was very important because it was very hot!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I like its location, close to many restaurants, beaches, airport and old San Juan. Other conditions are not bad if you are not expecting a 4 or 5 star hotel. It has its own parking place and provides breakfast and laundry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here two non-consecutive nights in two different rooms. The first room we had was small. The second room was larger, which made a big difference to the overall feel. In both cases the bathroom was clean but not super clean. There was a bit of mold in the soap holder and on the shower head, and I noticed some foreign hairs here and there. The bed was not uncomfortable, but the sheets were worn pretty thin and felt a little scratchy. The breakfast was adequate and it was nice to have free off-street parking. Restaurants were at walking distance which was nice. The neighborhood felt safe enough. Overall, the hotel and the facilities were all just very basic; a little too basic for the $120/night price tag. I don't know how other hotels in the neighborhood in this price range compare, but I would try other options if I were to stay in San Juan again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in August. We extended our vacation, and need an economical place to stay; we had stayd 5 nights in the pricier La Concha. El canario fit the bill, it was comfortable, clean and provided complimentary breakfast. We were able to enjoy the beach and night life of the area, without the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I love this hotel, the front desk agent Mathilda, were extremely nice, warm, inviting and very helpful! This hotel is walking distance from shopping, dinning, the beach and all the clubs in the Condado area. I will definitely stay here again, can I get a discount next time? haha

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Canario by the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Canario by the Lagoon

Address: 4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Canario by the Lagoon 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Canario by the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Lagoon Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Canario by the Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.