We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Canario by the Lagoon to your Saves list
El Canario by the Lagoon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
lorain,ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at this location 2 weeks ago for one night pre-cruise. The men that work at the front desk have attitude problems. At check-in, the employee spoke to us in a very unwelcoming manner and would not make eye contact with us. He was not busy at the time and we were respectful toward him. When I asked him for directions to restaurants, he said that he wouldn't answer "restaurant questions" until he was done checking us in. Then he gave us incomplete directions and we had to find our way in the dark with little help. There was a different desk clerk at check-out and he wasn't much nicer. We booked directly with the hotel so I don't understand the reason for this negative interaction.
On the plus side, the lobby is cute and the breakfast room is very nice. It's located several blocks to the beach.The room was clean but the building has an institutional feeling. Not at all a holiday feeling. Post-cruise we stayed at the Sheraton Old San Juan. It was about $50.00 more but much nicer. There is no comparison between the 2 hotels. The Sheraton exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    71
    36
    19
    11
See reviews for
20
43
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Really can't think of anything good to say. Location is ok, near all the other hotels and that's all. The main attractions are really in Old San Juan, it's probably better to stay there for a couple of days and then stay outside of San Juan, e.g. Luquillo or Fajardo for the islands, bio-bay, snorkel etc. Yes there is a bus stop that take you to Old San Juan for 75 cents but you never know when the buses are running. The first time we waited for 30 min and a taxi van offered to take all 4 of us at the stop for $2 each so we did. The second time, no such luck, we waited for 55 minutes and finally got on to a bus.

I understand it is a budget hotel ($130!) but everything is really old. It shows that no one cares about the place nor have the customers in mind at all. The bathroom has a little sink, no counter space at all, no towel racks, not even a hook behind the door. The water in the shower is weak and cold.

Wifi worked in our room for one day only, the rest of the time we had to sit in the lobby to get any signal.

We were on the 4th floor with a lagoon "view" through a tiny little window and other buildings, at least we got some light, can't imagine what other rooms faces the other side would look like.

Very depressing little place, we finally shorten our stay and moved to Luquillo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

When we booked, this was the last room in Condado on Expedia. We're weren't expecting much, and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are spartan but roomy, the bathroom was fine (good water pressure) and the front desk folks were always friendly and helpful with parking (they have free onsite parking, but its crowded sometimes). Its only a short block from the beach, and in the middle of a good area. We also walked around the lagoon to rent SUP boards and had a great day there. This place is worth the money, just don't expect a 5**** hotel...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We chose this hotel after a bad hotel experience in Old San Juan, and we were worried about its inconvenience to the city, but we turned out to be very happy with both location and the hotel itself.

This hotel describes itself as 'European' which, as a European, I have to say hotels really ought to stop using as a euphemism for 'a bit small and run down' - there is nothing particularly 'European' about the hotel. It is situated on a quiet street just off Ashford Avenue (the main drag) and a 5 minute walk to the Lagoon and a 3 minute walk to the beach and plenty of restaurants and bars. And 1 minute from a Banco Popular ATM. Great location.

We were initially given a room with a lovely view of the Lagoon (suggest you ask for this!) but with twin beds despite us specifying we wanted a double on booking.com; they turned out to have no doubles but instead gave us a room with two doubles at the same cost. Unfortunately this was on the other side of the hotel and had a grim view of the neighbouring building's wall. But it still had good light and was okay.

The rooms are fine - a little dated but neat, clean, spacious enough, and with comfortable beds, as well as a little seating area with a table, wardrobe, drawers, a fridge, and suchlike. The breakfast is free and uninspiring, but fine - cereal, juice, and some pastries in a little breakfast room next to the reception.

As well as enjoying the local restaurants and bars in Condado (a pleasant area with a beachy feel) paddleboarding on the Lagoon, and splashing on the beach, we walked to Santurce, which feels much less touristy and had great art museums, to Miramar, where we went to the cinema, and we caught a 15 minute bus to Old San Juan. Condado is also nearer to the airport, El Yunque, and Fajardo compared to Old San Juan, so it was nice to cut down the duration of the taxi ride.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Perfect location with comfortable clean rooms at a reasonable rate. The beach is just a short walk (3 minutes away) and easily accessible. The staff was exceptionally friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. The front desk clerk saved us considerable money suggesting we take the city bus to Old San Juan (75 cents per person) instead of calling a taxi. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and clean. The best part about our room was the air conditioning unit with a numbered temperature control where we could set the temperature at 74 degrees, just as we like. (Much more accurate than low, med, or high.) We've stayed at this hotel before and will again. It's the only place to stay in San Juan.

Room Tip: The suites on the top floor are quieter and have an outside sitting area just outside. It's the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great location, friendly staff and comfortable room. Will return!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosaritobeach
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

we loved staying here because it was an older hotel. our room was right on the water. this hotel was great. we had to go next door to the la ocncha to use their pool. which was one of the benifits of the stay. i liked it. this was a quality building. super quiet. la concha was great for going over and being by the pool. and hanging out. but the place was new and big and almost looked like the was stapled together.

i loved el canerio. solid, well built. classy. simple, clean and comfortable. and that balcony just outside the room !!! totally private....... you could hear the waves crashing !! oh... it does not get much more romantic that that.

there was a nice, simple (again classy) breakfast buffet. little more than continental. just what we needed.

would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: we stayed there on both sides of a cruise. for one night on arrival and were on the street side. w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Canario by the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Canario by the Lagoon

Address: 4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Canario by the Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Canario by the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Lagoon Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Canario by the Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.