We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location but Small and Dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sandy Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandy Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Condado Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly El Canario by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Location but Small and Dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is 10 steps away from the beach - that is the only good thing. They have internet access however you have to sit in a room next to the reception desk. Speaking of the front desk, the older gentleman was very nice and helpful. When we asked for restaurant recommendations he had a printed list ready to hand out with restaurant, bar and nightlife options. Parking is not available at the hotel which means you can either try your luck and drive around the neighborhood or pay a ridiculous amount per day in parking lots nearby. The overall decor of the place is pretty outdated. I did not mind the fact that the room was small or that the furniture was old. What really bothered me - or should I say what really scared the crap out of me was big cockroaches that were hanging out in the bathroom. We had to keep the light on all the time to prevent the roaches from crawling out - gross!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    67
    61
    32
    26
See reviews for
42
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is BAD! I'm a frequent traveler and typically stay at average 3 star hotels. This is a far cry from an average hotel. This place is creepy, small and dirty. The bathroom was moldy and dirty, the beds were old and uncomfortable, the a/c did work (window unit) but was really noisy. The continental breakfast was toast and cereal. It is on the beach that is the only positive thing about this hotel. We just stayed overnight prior to a cruise, but I'd suggest spend a few more bucks and avoid this gross hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, In
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I wouldn't stay here for a week, but a couple of nights is worth the price. You are steps away from the beach and near lots of shopping and restaurants. There are many hotels located on the main street where they have casinos and clubs and bars that you can walk too. Old San Juan is a 20 minute bus ride away. The hotel is quaint and the staff is very personable. I really enjoyed it and will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The name is "sandy beach" and you'll find enough sand on your bed which made us feel very uncomfortable. They provide breakfast, but no parking or laundry. The parking place cost us $20/night. My friend went to the nearby Marriot for laundry. The only good thing of this place is its location. A beautiful beach is only a few steps away, just next to the hotel. Anyway you can't expect more with such cheap price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The location is great within San Juan. It is not a plush hotel. Its a basic, economical choice readily accessible to the beach and area attractions. Parking is a short walk away in a separate lot. Use this location if your hotel is just a place to crash and you plan on spending your day outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at a number of budget hotels while visiting Puerto Rico and this was by far the worst. The floors were disgusting and had obviously not been cleaned. The shower curtain was moldy and there was a ball of black hair in the shower drain, left over from the previous guest. The sheets were questionable. Also, if you visit their website, the main photo shows the hotel directly on the beach and it says you can see the beach from the courtyard in the hotel. There is no view from the courtyard and there's a hotel between this hotel and the beach. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went to Puerto Rico on a tight budget. Knowing we would not be staying at our hotel to just sleep, wanted to find a hotel in San Juan that was clean and beds were comfortable. This fit the bill. The continental breakfast, was okay. Plenty of Puerto Rican coffee. I booked through Booking.com and got a great rate if $85 per night. The hotel is a stones throw from the sandy beach of Condado. You can walk to a number of shops and restaurants. As for parking, this was very limited. They have two spaces available at near by gates parking for $10 per night with deposit. You've got to ask for that parking. Otherwise, you pay $18 a night to park at Marriott across the street. Our room was back up to the bar next door. The bar next door played music till all
Hours but was muffled by the air conditioner, so did not keep me awake. I'd recommend if your looking for an inexpensive, friendly staff, hotel where you can sleep at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Hotel

Address: 4 Condado Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly El Canario by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.