We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much & you won't be disappointed . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sandy Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandy Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Condado Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly El Canario by the Sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Porter, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't expect much & you won't be disappointed . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a back-packers paradise! Great rates & right on Condado Beach. However, very limited ammenities, so don't expect too much. The rooms are clean although they are dated. Beds were very comfortable. Hotel staff was eager to assist in any way they could. I would call this hotel "quaint". When I was a child, my family used to stay in side-of-the-road hotels, and this hotel is reminiscent of those days. Plenty of restaurants near-by, bus stop about 1/2 block away, within walking distance to a lot of things, beaches, etc. All-in-all, we really enjoyed it. Was it a five-start, no. But what it lacked in elegance, it made up for in character. Will I stay there again? If circumstances were the same, yes. We stayed pre-cruise for 4 days & bunked with another couple, so we had fun. However, if we stay longer in Puerto Rico, we will go with finer accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    64
    61
    28
    26
See reviews for
43
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A step to the beach and lounge chairs $3 /day, restaurants, main road, nice little breakfast served, went to walgreens got wine/cheese had happy hr up on terrace. Herman and staff very helpful. Short bus ride to Viejo San Juan. Bar next door a little loud but wear earplugs or sleep later. coqui frogs croak all night but thats everywhere. Would stay again. Good value for price!

Room Tip: ask for one away from nextdoor bar and road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Decided to spend a week in the sun and booked at the Sandy Beach. It was in a great location and only about a block from the main street and the beach. Very good pricing, and the perfect place to stay if you want to get away and don’t want to spend a lot on a big name resort. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean, and comfortable. Would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very basic.... great value, great location,beach is a step away from the hotel.. did not have any problem @ all spend 2 days before my cruise, buses, fast food, restaurant all closed by.. Will come back next time.

Room Tip: i did not have a balcony nonetheless i could see the beach from my window....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is a a great value. It is well priced, 1/2 block from the beach, close to shopping, near night life and major bus lines. Included continental breakfast and a friendly staff make this the perfect value for the budget conscious traveler.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

It was in a very nice location. Close to beach and main street. However, don't be fooled by the pretty pictures. You have to pay extra for parking and the parking is around 2 corners and halfway up the block. Not convenient at all. Front desk gave us a key for room 303 that didn't work. Had to go back down stairs on the rickety elevator. Got the correct key and up we go. Once in the room we found 2 large dead palmetto bugs and one crawling on the AC. We turned the AC on and the sound was horrendous. It sounded like a truck motor in the room. Back down we go. Got switched to another room. This one had no bugs but smelled musty. I pulled back the comforter only to find blonde AND brown hair on my pillow. I was so disgusted we had to sleep on top of the comforter. I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel is very basic. However, my room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the front desk staff friendly. And of course free wifi. For me it was for two nights for a quick weekend in San Juan. The location is great. I'd say it adequate for a short trip ofrthe night before/after a cruise but more than this I would want something (much) better.

My only real complaint was the really thread bare towels, more like a dishrag. But again for two nights and $85 a night I can deal with that.

Room Tip: The complimentary breakfast is really lame but there are really cheap options nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Hotel

Address: 4 Condado Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly El Canario by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.