We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Hotel for Cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandy Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sandy Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Condado Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly El Canario by the Sea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Garden City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Basic Hotel for Cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Decided to spend a week in the sun and booked at the Sandy Beach. It was in a great location and only about a block from the main street and the beach. Very good pricing, and the perfect place to stay if you want to get away and don’t want to spend a lot on a big name resort. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean, and comfortable. Would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    79
    84
    33
    31
See reviews for
56
72
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very basic.... great value, great location,beach is a step away from the hotel.. did not have any problem @ all spend 2 days before my cruise, buses, fast food, restaurant all closed by.. Will come back next time.

Room Tip: i did not have a balcony nonetheless i could see the beach from my window....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is a a great value. It is well priced, 1/2 block from the beach, close to shopping, near night life and major bus lines. Included continental breakfast and a friendly staff make this the perfect value for the budget conscious traveler.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

It was in a very nice location. Close to beach and main street. However, don't be fooled by the pretty pictures. You have to pay extra for parking and the parking is around 2 corners and halfway up the block. Not convenient at all. Front desk gave us a key for room 303 that didn't work. Had to go back down stairs on the rickety elevator. Got the correct key and up we go. Once in the room we found 2 large dead palmetto bugs and one crawling on the AC. We turned the AC on and the sound was horrendous. It sounded like a truck motor in the room. Back down we go. Got switched to another room. This one had no bugs but smelled musty. I pulled back the comforter only to find blonde AND brown hair on my pillow. I was so disgusted we had to sleep on top of the comforter. I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel is very basic. However, my room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the front desk staff friendly. And of course free wifi. For me it was for two nights for a quick weekend in San Juan. The location is great. I'd say it adequate for a short trip ofrthe night before/after a cruise but more than this I would want something (much) better.

My only real complaint was the really thread bare towels, more like a dishrag. But again for two nights and $85 a night I can deal with that.

Room Tip: The complimentary breakfast is really lame but there are really cheap options nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I had booked the Sandy Beach hotel for 3 nights. The pictures on the web site looked ok, location was great, price was nice, but I was a bit concerned on the reviews. My husband and I, along with his sister and her husband needed a place to stay while we visited San Juan. After booking ( directly with the hotel) and reading the reviews again, I was a bit nervous about our stay. My sister in law assured me that is was only for 3 nights, and it would be fine. It was fine. At check in we were only able to check in with the one room, as the other was not yet ready. We put all our suitcases in the one room for now. Right away the toilet in our room backed up - so went to the front desk to report. They aplogized and said they would send someone to take care of it. We headed out to and when we returned 2 hours later, the other room was ready, and the toilet was fixed. We both had a 1 queen bed in the room, ours on the first floor, and the other room on the 3rd floor.
Our bathroom was small and narrow, and true to the reviews I read, the towels were a bit thin and greyish. However they smelled clean and we had enough of them, along with the hand towels and washclothes. The other room had a larger bathroom and while the room was not huge, it was large enough to be comfortable.
We had great restaurant reccomendations ( Cafe de Angels and The Greenhouse Restaurant ), that were in walking distance. The first night there was a party going on in the room next to us. It woke us up and was very noisy. My husband went to the front desk , and shorlty after they settled down and were quiet the rest of the night. The bed was comfortable and the room was large enough, after all, we were only there to sleep.
The breakfast area was small, a very pleasant patio area, with several tables and there was additional seating and tables in the lobby area. There was cereal, bread for toast, muffins, danish, fruit (only bananas) very good cofffee, and juice. We could eat our fill and it was a good breakfast to get us started for the day.
We requested beach towels from the front desk, they too were a bit worn, but again, they were clean and worked just fine. We didn't use on them on the beach, but took them when we went to El Yunque in case we it rained and we got wet ( we did - they came in handy).
The second night again the party people were at it, and they started earlier, so before we turned in, again, went to the front desk and within a few minutes it was quiet. Breakfast was the same the next morning.
We relaxed for a little while on the patio at night before turning in. Checked out the next morning, it went fine, just had to remind them to remove the "deposit" on the key for the car parking. We paid $30 to park the 3 days($10 per night), there was a $30 depsoit on the key. We could come and go out of the parking place with no problems, once we figured out how the key worked.
It appeared that the hotel had been recently painted, and there was someone painting touch up on the outside one morning when we left. The staff was very friendly and helpful . I thought everything was clean, the public areas as well as our room. While it was not luxurious, it was basic, and reasonable ( $90 per night) and a good budget option. I would stay again. It was very close to the beach, easy to find, good restaurants and an easy bus trip to San Juan. This is a good option for families, or those on a budget

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Sandy Beach Hotel is a no frills place to stay in the heart of the resort district of San Juan. It is situated right on a beautiful beach and is minutes away from Old San Juan. The price was right for a short stay. The people were very friendly and my room was clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Hotel
#40 of 45 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#24 of 45 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#25 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Hotel

Address: 4 Condado Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly El Canario by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.