We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off!!!!! They Really stick it to tourists.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iberia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Iberia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Iberia
1464 Wilson Street, San Juan, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 46 hotels in San Juan
1 review
“Rip off!!!!! They Really stick it to tourists.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Rip off!!!!!! Room was bare bones. No phone no clock no cups. Ice was Coleman cooler with drinking spout on it. Ripped bedspread. Stained sheets. AC would not go lower than 78 degrees. TV had 2 watchable stations. Cannot flush paper down toilet and will be charged $250 if you stop up up toilet. Reserved room thru Booking.com which was a mistake in itself. Booked for 3 nights could barely tolerate staying 1st night. Had prepaid at check in and hotel would only refunded one night even though we were owed refund for 2nd & 3rd night. Their pictures are nothing like what you get. Did not feel safe at all. Thank goodness I was not traveling alone. Kind of felt like I was in a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    16
    8
    19
See reviews for
7
18
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel Iberia was in a great location, can walk to bus to go to Old San Juan, walk to main street (Ashford) quite easily w/everything a tourist could ask for available, a super market right next door w/a cheap deli. Now, the hotel was nice, simple and clean for the most part. My only problem was my bed. Horrible, Horrible, Horrible; not clean at all, stains up the wazoo and I could feel the springs all night. I felt as though they got the beds from an asylum for free and just put them in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunabo, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

first i hate hen i am judge by my age aperiance i look like 16 but i am 23 and du that ibooked for a festival it does not mean i am a person that recks places up also the cleaning is really ugly and a waste of time the first thing you see is a filty so called hotel fulled of spider webs and other unplesent things, i made my booking true booking.com but the hotel manager was a old grump hated the place never in my life will viset this hotel for a 2 star hotel it looks like a one star cheap motel sorry but i have stained an no stars hotel that they really treat me as a 5 star client.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Review of Hotel Iberia, San Juan PR, Jan. 13 & 14, 2013.

This place is on Wilson Avenue (Calle Wilson), a couple of blocks off the main drag of Condado, San Juan. It’s an older property that’s obviously seen better days, but it either has new management or an infusion of new money, and is trying to update itself. Someone is working very hard here: there’s lots of new paint, buffed up tile. They are trying to get the restaurant and bar open, and one of the three outside terraces is up and running and is a nice place to have a breakfast or a couple of cold beverages. The staff is very friendly, bilingual, knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. They all seem very earnest about getting the hotel fully operational and up to snuff.

That said, it’s probably not a good choice for everyone. Our room was quite small and pretty Spartan: a double bed, teeny bathroom, TV, small closet. That’s about it. No coffee maker, no refrigerator, not much counter space, not much room to place suitcases. You had to step up to get into the bathroom. It’s about 10 inches higher than the rest of the room, and something of a trip hazard in the middle of the night. Parking is almost non-existent and dicey: our compact car nearly hung out into the street. We felt lucky to get a space – there’s room for about four cars in front of the hotel. There are no services within the hotel, not even coffee. If you want anything, there’s a little 24-hour supermarket right around the corner. Some of this will probably change as they get further along in their rejuvenation of the place. They have plans for the other two outdoor terraces, including putting a bar in one. There is a lot of potential here in the long run. They are very nice folks and we wish them much luck in their efforts to turn this into a much better property.

We paid about $100/night for our room, a bargain in this pretty pricey part of San Juan. For now anyway, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

People are all very very friendly. But showering is terrible. Very very hard to get even warm water. Usually take cold showers. Showering in the morning is better than night. Awesome locations. A 24h supermarket and a gas station locate just next to the hotel. If have no cars, taking buses to old San Juan is also convenient. Buses stops is 5 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went with friends. Stayed for two days. Staff was very friendly. We chatted about different topics from history, politics to sight seeing. Rooms though were not very good. Single plug point for charging. Felt expensive for the facilities provided. Parking is extremely limited. Keep this as a last option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPLS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Sr. Cristobal and his staff were warm and very accommodating at this conveniently located hotel not far off Ashford Ave. and Condado beach. This older neighborhood hotel was clean and, with the exception of the A/C, very quiet. My only complaint about room or hotel was the noisy A/C unit--the curse of tropical hotels especially in the hot months. The Iberia is my choice for San Juan stays.

Room Tip: Ask to witness the room with A/C on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Iberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iberia

Address: 1464 Wilson Street, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Iberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberia Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iberia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.