We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Puerto Rico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iberia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Iberia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Iberia
1464 Wilson Street, San Juan, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great place to stay in Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Comfortable, clean, convenient, and walking distance to the beach. Cristobal is a welcoming and excellent host and always goes out of his way to make you feel welcomed. I have been staying here for many years and I recommend it.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    16
    8
    19
See reviews for
7
18
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This hotel is by no mean luxurious but neither does it pretend to be. It is in a great location a 3 minute walk from the bus stop into the old town, a 3 minute walk from bars and restaurants and 7 minutes to the beach.

There is free parking at the hotel should you rent a car (which you should). There is a 24 hour supermarket right next to the hotel.

The owner and all his staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and will give you travel tips and help you book anything over the phone.

The room was always kept clean, and the towels were replaced frequently. Again not anything luxurious, but it is an inexpensive hotel with a lovely atmosphere and great location for San Juan and Puerto Rico as a whole. There was an airconditioning unit in the room (a bit nosy at night- but hey it keeps you cool so who is complaining!) and a flat screened tv with cable. A great terrace on the roof for eating dinner on or just reading a book.

I would definitely stay there again and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking to enjoy Puerto Rico. The staff that hotel were 10 times more helpful than the actual Tourist information.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I just returned from spending a couple of nights at the Hotel Iberia, Condado, San Juan, PR. I must say that it was wonderful. This is a small hotel and nothing like the mass produced, cookie cutter hotels springing up everywhere. This hotel has character and personality. There is a fine supermarket just a stone's throw away complete with deli where you can buy the same local style food as is served at a restaurant, but for about a third of the price. A few minutes walk to a beautiful beach. Same to the AMA (bus stop - Parada) for a .75 cent bus ride to Old San Juan and El Morro. The location of the Hotel Iberia is ideal. Listen to the owner for travel advice. He knows the island and was instrumental in making my vacation a success. I will stay here again. Matter of fact, I plan to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Last month I went to Puerto Rico in one of those desperate trip with any plans at all... At soon I got to the airport and I found this local tourist magazine that recommended the hotel Iberia.
A very comfortable, with reasonable prices and clean hotel.
I will suggest to ask for the rooms before because not all of them are the same.
The Hotel its located close to the beach, old San Juan and main shopping areas.
I was very satisfied of the treatment of the person in charge. Now I have a good choice for my next visit to the Island.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The hotel has atmosphere - I was very happy with my choice.
The location is just one block from the beach, there is a supermarket at the corner, many shopping and dining choices, bus stops (you can get to Old San Juan and other places), car rentals, etc. The room was nice and always clean.
Excellent service - Crisobal, the owner and manager, is a great person, always helpful, friendly and kind. He is not only a source of many useful tips but also knows a lot about the island, the people, Puertorican culture and history. If you are looking for something more than just a room Hotel Iberia would be my choice:)
To sum up - I went to Puerto RIco off season and really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is more like a guest house... Nothing fancy... However, it centric (Good neighborhood) and has the best price compared to the other hotels/guest houses. It is managed by its owner Mr. Cristobal. A very Nice man who will go above and beyond to offer a great service... this is a 100yrs old building.... so expect to have nothing but an average room in a house. No Pool or Beach view... but You can walk/drive to the beach. Although is a very simple place, it's the ONLY Hotel in San Juan that offers FREE Parking. Every other place will charge $21 per day for parking (You will need to rent a car to go around the city). I am glad we decided to stay here and pay less than $100 per night and spend money on other things... PR is to beautiful to stay ALL day in a Hotel/Resort. All you need is a room and a bathroom... Stay at Hotel Iberia and get to know San Juan and its people... You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

Very good location specially if you come to San Juan to do business.
Close to restaurants and easy acces to highway

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Iberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iberia

Address: 1464 Wilson Street, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Iberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberia Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iberia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.