We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puerto Rico Marathon Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 Credit and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Deltona, United States
1 review
“Puerto Rico Marathon Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Caribe Hilton was the host hotel for the PR Marathon. Service was excellent, location was appropriate for the race, staff was very friendly, rooms were very clean, and comfortable, the pool and beach areas were amazing. The view was spectacular. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    1,638
    788
    419
    244
See reviews for
990
1,436
136
721
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,011)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stay in Hilton properties between 120-140 nights per year both for business and relaxation, so hopefully my viewpoint can be considered. Any property's value is in the eye of the beholder.

That being said, I have no idea how there can be negative ratings on the Caribe Hilton. The location is fantastic, equidistant from Old San Juan and Condado...where many good restaurants are located.

We had a room in the main tower. Room was clean and updated. Were there a few dings and dents? Of course, but one MUST realize that this property was the first Hilton resort built outside of the US Mainland (and listed on the NRHP), so give it a rest. It's as much of a nostalgic hotel as anything, so anyone coming here must understand the property isn't a brand new build. Enough already.

The staff overall was great. In particular, a special person I would like to mention is Jorge, our breakfast server. I find very, very few people to mention by name in reviews, but Jorge went above and beyond in service, making sure my wife had her fill of vitamin C everyday :<)

The grounds are fantastic. Although this is high time for Spring Break/Cruises, etc, at no time did we ever feel crowded. Plenty of chairs, no need to awake at 6am to claim chairs at the pool or beach.

To be objective, the only reason I can't give a 5 star is that during pool hours, Caribe could stand to have more wait staff. It was a bit tough on occasion to find someone to get drinks. I'd humbly suggest more staff working specific zones to remedy this.

We found food and drink costs to be reasonable (keep in mind it's a resort, people). Frankly, there is a little mini-mart directly across the street where we loaded up on bottled water, beer, snacks, etc. If you plan to stay here for a number of days, do yourself a favor- get off the property and go to Old San Juan for authentic cuisine (Cafe Puerto Rico & El Jabarito are great).

Also, visit El Junque Rainforest (about 45min drive east) in the early morning- rent a car (do not take a tour bus), very easy to do, and go to Loquillo Beach afterward. Lots of local places to eat and shop. Our favorite was Ely's Place, great empanadillas! Also I would suggest visiting the Spanish forts in Old San Juan. Our kids enjoyed exploring them as much as we did.

I give Nelson Torres and the Caribe staff a vote of confidence. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend, well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main tower, facing west. The peacocks in the courtyard can be a bit noisy if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only stayed one night before our cruise but I was impressed. I was afraid after reading some of the reviews, but I honestly don't know why it got negative reviews. The grounds were beautiful. We had dinner at the Pina Colada Club. I thought it was pretty over priced for the amount of food. Drinks were good but also expensive but I was on vacation so didn't really care. Liquor store across the street was a rip-off....get a taxi and maybe go to Walgreens down the road. Emilio was very nice and made sure we were taken care of. The guys at the outdoor bar by the pool were awesome....wonderful drinks and very strong! The beautiful grounds really made my stay here enjoyable....I would stay here again just for the views. Stayed in the main building, 6th floor with breathtaking ocean views.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello! thank you for choosing us for your pre cruise stay we are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and hope you enjoyed your cruise as well!

we hope you visit us again soon.

at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I spend a few days at the Hiton Caribe to attend a conference. We certainly would have loved to stay another week and regretted that we had to fly home. The hotel is on a large peace of gardens along the beach, with various opportunities for sport and swimming. The hotel and surroundings are most relaxing and so is the extensive staff. Everybody so friendly. We had a suite with a view at the beautifull surroundings. This is the place to spend a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: A view on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello! thank you for choosing us for your recent vacation and for your kind comments. We hope you had a great stay and look forward to serve you again in the near future!

We are at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I only know that his first name was Emilio, and when this story unfolds, he was the interim manager at the Caribe Hilton, Condado Beach, San Juan, Puerto Rico. My husband and I have returned many times over the 10 plus years to this same hotel, because it has the best beach, food, and now, the most professional and genuinely concerned manager, Emilio and his staff. They couldn’t have done more for me. I wanted to thank Emilio, personally; unfortunately, we were not able to cross paths. Shout Out to you, Emilio…. Muchas Gracias.
This is what happened.
Locked in unable to get out of the bathroom due to a malfunctioning lock, for about one hour, I waited. Then the maid finally was able to enter the room and open the door from the outside.
His response after hearing that I was locked in was one of great concern for my well being. His gestures of concern were so appreciated.
Emilio, I hope that I can finally say “Hola”, when my husband and I return, next year, March 2016. I will be dropping by the desk, for sure. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is lovely, the views are exceptional and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had no difficulties finding beach chairs, hammocks and there are many places to sit outside and enjoy a cup of coffee or a drink. The restaurant prices are high, especially breakfast. Convenient to the cruise port. We loved the little hidden garden with the ducks, swans, rooster, turkey and koi. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi! thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and appreciate your kind feedback

looking forward to your prompt return

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is nice enough and in a great location. The cost is quite high even without the $50 resort fee. That's the fee even before you rent anything on the beach. The hotel itself is pretty awesome. Nice cove beach with a breakwall, great views, even a little area where a wild turkey and iguanas roam free (and right up next to you if you choose). If price isn't an option, pick this place every time. Very close to the cruise port as well.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello! thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your preferred Hotel in Puerto Rico.

We appreciate your comments. Your feedback is important to us in order to better understand your need and where we can improve.

We hope you visit us again soon

Nelson Torres Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.