We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
United States
1 review
“Poor experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Check in people is one of the worst I've seen along 20+ business traveling experiences. I am a Marriot and iNtercontinental VIP Member. REstaurant people is nice and the others are average. The check in person barely said hello. It seems they are making me a favor. Come on.... be courteous at least.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, yesterday
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I am so sorry that our staff was not more attentive towards you and that they did not provide you the customer service you deserve. I was both surprised and deeply disappointed by your recount of your experience with us. I assure you that it’s contrary to what our customers typically see from us. However, I can very much empathize with your situation and assure you that I have taken your comments and shared it with our management team.

Please know that your business is incredibly important to us and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    1,503
    708
    393
    223
See reviews for
915
1,306
125
655
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent people and service. Location I found to be a bit inconvenient but the pool area is gorgeous. Lots of construction right now and my view was of the dirty roof. Meh. Overall a great deal and vacation.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton for your recent stay in Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Your feedback is important to us in order to better understand your need and where we can improve.


We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was skeptical about coming here after reading some reviews but I knew it was a Hilton so how bad could it be? SOOO glad I decided to come here! The room and pool/beach/grounds are so beautiful and clean! I was blown away. We stayed here for a night after a cruise and I wish we would've stayed here before the cruise too. We arrived at 9am to check in and of course the room wasn't ready that early so they took our bags and gave us a pager, we were able to hang out by the pool until our room was ready. Very nice staff. Can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello! thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time.

We hope to see you soon again, at your service.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I traveled to this destination alone. December 2 - 6. All of the staff was very helpful to me.

I had come here for my birthday. When I met with the concierge on Tuesday night, I said I was looking for plans for the next three days as it was my birthday Thursday. All were helpful in setting up tours for me.

When I went to check on the tour for the day of my birthday to check on my tour, the concierge called the tour group and found out it was cancelled as there were not enough people signed up.

He obviously saw the disappointment on my face as that day was my birthday and I said now what am I going to do. I was also irritated that I was not notified of the cancellation.

He called the tour guide back and explained to him that it was my birthday. He was able to get the tour guide to give me a private tour.

A very nice gesture on both the part of the concierge and the tour guide.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, yesterday
Happy Birthday! thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton for your birthday vacation.

We appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The grounds and the rooms at the Caribe Hilton are absolutely beautiful. We stayed there prior to our cruise departure. Top to bottom the every staff member I dealt with were polite, professional and very helpful. This facility has activities for the entire family. Two adult pools, a private beach, volley ball, play ground for the kids, top notch restaurants, Starbucks, Quiznos, a small wildlife sanctuary and more. The talking parrots near the front desk are hilarious. We had a balcony suite that overlooked the grounds and had a picturesque view off the ocean. We enjoyed every moment of our stay!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Had stayed in several San Juan hotels, but never the Caribe Hilton. Always thought of it as for old folk. Loved it! Beautiful, refurnished room, great view. Most beautiful beaches and pool. Loved Piña Colada, Morton's, poolside bar, and on. Great service. Will return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed 5 nights at the hotel during this Thanksgiving. the view is stunning, the facility provides variety activities and places to enjoy and relax---layout Is just beautiful! the staff are super nice. it was over 9pm and the bread for fish feeding was gone, the staff went back to the restaurant to get more bread just for my son! the room is modern and sleek. we enjoyed every moment there. highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view: the blue sky, the green ocean etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello! thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a great stay. Certainly our little guests love the experience of feeding the fish!

Looking forward to your next stay in your home away from home in Puerto Rico.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.