We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some minor issues but overall it was acceptable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
McComb, Ohio
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Some minor issues but overall it was acceptable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed here for a service club conference and enjoyed it. As others said it had some issues with the building but work was ongoing to maintain property. The public areas were clean and a beautiful pool area. One issue we had was lack of hot water when you first turned on sink or shower. The other problem was the loud hallway doors. We stayed in room 254 and every time someone opened the door to enter the connecting hallway we could hear it.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    1,423
    653
    373
    212
See reviews for
877
1226
117
598
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Hilton Caribe is an old hotel and is in need of some sprucing up. Granted they are working on it (the lobby bar was under construction). The outdoor beach area and pool are nice, but the menu of the pool bar/grille could use more variety. The location of the hotel is excellent if staying for over cruises or to visit the old city, but the neighborhood is scary. We went looking for a place to eat away from the hotel and returned after walking a block (and we didn't find anything in the immediate vicinity). The room was neat and clean and the bed comfortable. All and all, I was expecting more from the Hilton Caribe after my experience in other Hilton hotels (I am a Hilton Honors member).

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My expectations were very high, for a hotel highly rated I was really disappointed, It is in dire need of upgrading, it looks like its falling apart, the decor on the lobby areas, was scattered, with chairs here and there with no coffee or any type of tables, its open in some areas, so there's no ac. Pool bar/beach area, again its outdated, the loungers, chairs, etc., dirty, stained, totally disgusting...Customer service????? only one person at check in counter. Housekeeping knocking by 8:30 am.........not Happy

Room Tip: never get a room w carpet and bed against another room, we had our room changed immediately minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our second visit to San Juan. After last year's very negative hotel experience(at the El San Juan), not only did we change properties, but we kept our expectations reasonable. The Caribe Hilton, more than exceeded what we were expecting. From an early check in, to our room, the facilities and the staff were all on point. We used many of the facilities, including the restaurants which were actually good. I only would offer one suggestion to the property. Mix up the selections at the breakfast buffet. They tended to be the same offerings day after day so changing things up once in a while would be a good thing. As an example, I do like pancakes, but a day of say, French toast would provide a change. In general we wound up having a vacation where we were actually refreshed and relaxed at the end of it, until we got to the airport and Jet Blue which presented its own issues. A couple of things to be aware of...this hotel does not have a casino, so one would have to go elsewhere for that, and given its location between the Condado and Old San Juan, the cab rides can add up fast, but those were not deal breakers, just something to be aware of. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

During my two week stay in the hotel, had to change room twice and although I stayed in a suite the problem continued.... You hear everything that happens in the rooms next to your and on the hall, even when someone opens a can.
Expensive restaurant and room service, self parking long walk (17 usd per night)
Location is poor because you need to drive to Condado or old San Juan

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We try to always go above and beyond for our guests and I am very sorry to hear that we were unable to do that for you.

We look forward to have you as a guest in the future and will be able to exceed your expectations as we always try to do. Thank you again.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed there in the Hilton Honors tower on Floor 19 and it was perfect! The room was very satisfactory- clean and comfortable. The service was friendly at the pool bar and the front desk. The weekend we went, the private beach was pretty crowded. I think everyone from the hotel was there. But that's our own fault for going during Labor Day Weekend! It was still nice to have a private beach where my husband and I could get our dose of sand and surf! Plus, if you plan any excursions, the hotel is very recognized so we had no problem getting transportation from our hotel to our adventure day (I would recommend Acampa Nature Adventures). My husband agreed that if we ever go back to San Juan, we would definitely pick Caribe Hilton again!

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the Hilton Honors tower (19th floor) and it was quiet with beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello there! thank you for choosing the Caribe HIlton as your Home Away from Home in Puerto Rico.
It delight us to hear that you had a wonderful weekend. Thank you for your comments.

We look forward to your return.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirksville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have to admit that I'm being generous by giving this a poor rating because this hotel does not live up to the Hilton standards known around the world. Here is why:

1. Upon arrival, the front desk clerk at the main lobby was cold, stoic, and didn't even seem happy to see another guest. He didn't even acknowledge me by name, even though we are Hilton Honors members. After processing our card for incidentals, he pushed a paper in front of us, told us to read it, and acknowledge that we understand why they charge an 18% resort fee. (What they don't tell you is that parking is an additional $18 per day in addition to the resort fee.) After reading the paper, he handed us our keys and pointed down the walkway towards one of the buildings to find our room. This place is huge, so needless to say we walked around for a while.

2. Entering our room, we immediately noticed that this was a dump of a room and that the a/c was blowing warm sticky air. We looked around the room noticing that the bathroom counter was chipped, walls dirty, mildew around the shower, tub, toilet and the door to the balcony had a broken lock so we couldn't get out. We called the front desk and they told us to come back to the main lobby for another room. Again, walking around with our luggage, without even being asked if we needed assistance. We are met by the same front desk clerk who never said a word, took our key, reprocessed it for another room and told to go down that walkway to the Lagoon villas.

3. We arrive at the second room to find that this room too is worn out: lumpy bed, mildew around the shower & tub, nor does it have the view assured to us by our reservation. Called the front desk again and told to go to the Condado Lagoon Villa front desk. I meet with Jesus, who was awesome, and explained what happened. He acknowledged that we were not even supposed to be in the Villas by our reservation and apologized for the issue and would make sure to get things right. He walked me to another room, to inspect for cleanliness, the view, and make sure everything is working. Great... our third room after 45 minutes of frustration.

4. The third day after arriving, the shower sprung a leak from the base. Water was across the bathroom floor, down the hallway, and even soaking into the carpet in the closet. So, we called maintenance who said they would fix it while we were gone for the day. When we arrived back at 7:30pm, we had a message telling us we would have to move to another room because maintenance couldn't fix it. Down to the lobby I go while my wife packs up all our stuff. Jesus apologizes and gives me a new key for a room. I help my wife move from the old room to this, our 4th room since arrival, only to find a room that needed a paint job and had a view of catering trucks & vans, and clearly was not what we paid for. I walk back down to Jesus who is now so upset about how we've been run from room to room and treated since arrival that he walks me to our 5th and final room to make sure it is ok. Jesus was a gem!

Unfortunately, the quality problems didn't end. There were water stains on one of the bedside tables that had been covered up by a Hilton guest book & clock... we ended up taking a shower in the separate bath tub and used the handheld shower because the glass door on the shower was pulling apart from the frame. We were afraid to use the door because the glass was wobbling. We decided after all the troubles before just to deal with it and not request another room.

To sum everything up... this is a huge hotel complex that need some renovations and improvements to how they clean & maintain their rooms. Be aware that this hotel is also a distance away from other restaurants, so you unless you have transportation or willing to pay for a cab, be prepared to pay heavily for the restaurants on property. There is no free continental breakfast, or special perks for HHonors members and what you get for the resort fee is a joke. Best advice... stay someplace else!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an updated room. Also, go through the room to make sure it is clean and everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 3 days ago
First of all, thank you for staying with us and your feedback

I would like to thank you for your support to our hotel and personally apologies for all the inconveniences we have caused you.

As hoteliers, we are acutely aware that our entire success depends upon meeting or hopefully exceeding the expectations of our guests, and it is truly heartbreaking to hear from one very valuable guest when we are not successful at doing so, my deepest and most sincere apologies. We sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.