We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Best part of the hotel by FAR was its proximity to a pretty decent snorkeling area on the property. Not great snorkeling, but well-protected artificial reef with some reasonably pretty corals taking hold, and lots of pretty fish. Otherwise reef was kinda silty, but the fish were marvelous. We saw a wide variety of beautiful reef fish (tang, sea cucumber, angelfish, surgeonfish, butterflyfish, parrotfish, damselfish, jacks, needlefish...you get the idea). That part was pretty good. Otherwise, the hotel was only mediocre. Facility was clean, we always felt safe, and we saw no run-down areas, but the food was unremarkable and overpriced (except at the on-site Quiznos or Starbucks), and the service of concierge and front desk staff was professional but hardly welcoming. I don't expect glad-handing or obsequiousness, but I would like a little more than bored professionalism. Back to food: Quiznos highly recommended for breakfast. Avoid the Subway around the corner for anything. On-site restaurants (both sit-down and pool area were adequate, but again expensive for what you got. On about half of our drinks, we questioned whether there was any alcohol in them at all (and we weren't looking for particularly strong ones). Location isn't very convenient for walking, but taxis were always available. There is an understaffed Enterprise car rental place on site (granted understaffing of that isn't hotel's fault), so waiting to get or drop off a car can take a while. That said, it was cheaper to rent there than at airport. All in all, while we did not have a bad experience at all (walking 10 yards out the hotel door and swimming with tropical fish was memorable), don't think we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,038
    1,392
    645
    369
    211
See reviews for
864
1199
115
586
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed at many hotels in the San Juan area including the other Hilton (Condado Plaza).

This location needs to be improved. It is not up to a good standard. I have Gold status with Hilton Honors but this does not get you much at this hotel. There is a resort fee which is assessed ($32.40 per day + tax)which is excessive and unjustified. The one time we needed towels there were none available. The "free breakfast" in the Giardino restaurant is a bad excuse. The cheapest of everything and standard cut melon fare on a tropical island. The value of this breakfast is maximum $3.00 per person.

The room was in the "Condado Lagoon Villa" wing which seemed like an "overflow" area in case the main hotel was booked. Rooms were adequate but worn out.

Next time I will stay somewhere else where I am not treated like a milking cow.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Caribe Hilton Hotel have the most wonderful view from the 19 floor which I was able to move to, thanks to one of your employees at the front desk who gave us that room the next day, originally we were at the 3rd floor looking at the parking lot, for 6 days no way. The Hotel's room's carpets are in very bad shape, they need to be replaced, and the room smell was not the best in the world. But As I say the beach is spectacular which compensate for the carpets been badly. You do have a problem with the parking 18 dollars a day? And coming in and out by having to validate the ticket was an aggravation. Thanks for listening.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed a week at this hotel. Dont stay here if you are not a gold or higher level in hilton honors unless you want to pay 25 bucks for breakfast. Arrived early; rooms not ready. Waited over an hour and when 9 others after me got a room I had to go back up to the desk. But that was to no avail...my assisgned room was still not ready! The lobby staff were quite unfriendly. Finally got into room and it had no towels, no bags in trashcan=not ready. During yhe course of the week several conferences took place and were zet up zuch that you had to walk through the group. Very awkward walking through the well dressed atendees in my flip-flops and swimtrunks. The beach area and the pool bar were great. First time snorklers will like the small tidal break within easy swim distance. Hiram was the first bartendar to assist us and he was awesome. He did a great job with a great attitude despite being tremendously busy. Many others at this hotel should take some customer service lessons from him. Summary...get gold status; dont expect high degree of customer service inside; but find Hiram at the pool bar and enjoy the scene outside.

Room Tip: Get gold status, minimum, before coming here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for a week as a base for both business and a break - it was central to places like Old Town for tourist stuff and 15 minutes' taxi to the business area and you got picked up to head to places like Toro Verde (a definite 'must do') and La Yunque. The beach area was great and the service exceptional - we found that if you smiled, you got a smile back - what more can you ask for?

The pool area was well maintained, service exceptional.

Although the weather sucked a little at times, we can hardly blame the hotel for that... and to compensate, there was always a Pina Colada at hand!

Room Tip: We had a room with king sized bed, sea view and balcony on the 4th floor - was pretty much the perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The best part of my trip was hanging at the pool bar with the bartender Hiram. He makes the best piña coladas ever...he even brought in a coconut from home so I can drink out of it. The best service I have ever gotten at a bar...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is very run down, does not fit into the high quality Hilton standards. The beach area was nice but you pay extra 18% for use of pool chairs and umbrella, then they still expect a tip for setting the umbrella up. The hallways are dark and are need of great repair. The renovation work down in our room was sloppy with no care taken. Do not pay extra for the ocean view room. We got 4th floor overlooking the convention centre roof and all you could see was a small piece of the ocean. There are other hotels in the area that are superior. Food at the restaurant was good and service was good. Have stayed at many Hiton chain hotels over the years and this is the worse one I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Pick a room with balcony. Don't pay extra for the ocean view. Visit the beach instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We try to always go above and beyond for our guests and I am very sorry to hear that we were unable to do that for you. I want you to know that all of the inconveniences you experienced will be addressed with the proper departments and we hope that we can have the chance to have you as a guest in the future and will be able to exceed your expectations as we always try to do. We are at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.