We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel with dated rooms, but pool area was nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old hotel with dated rooms, but pool area was nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This property needs a major upgrade, we were staying in the tower wing and the room was very old and tired. The ranch slider to the balcony was nearly impossible to open and in general the room was quite a poor standard for a Hilton. On the positive side the pool area was very nice, although for some reason the jacuzzi/spas seemed to be cold or colder than ideal on most days. The bar area in the pool was fun and the cocktails and food there was nice. This hotel is a large hotel and the facilities, such as fitness centre and spa were very good. Pity about the rooms. It is about a 10 minute taxis to the old city which is a lovely place for restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,011
    1,367
    635
    361
    206
See reviews for
829
1179
112
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in mid-July. The hotel it self would earn a solid 3 out of 5 hotels at a baseline. It's clean, staff is friendly, it's in a good location- all pretty good, but nothing spectacular. It goes down to such a poor rating because of an event that transpired there during our stay.

After spending the day at the pool Friday we arrived back in our room and found a letter letting us know that the hotel would be hosting a Coors Life Bliss Beach Party the following day. The letter explained what we would need to do to access the beach and pool that day. We didn't think much of it, as that is all the letter said.

Saturday we arrived back to the hotel after a morning trip at around 12:30 pm. We were greeted by loud music and an extremely overcrowded beach and pool area. We tried to enjoy the day despite some of the activity going on. For starters, many of the party guests brought in their own alcohol in glass bottles, extremely unsafe for a pool area where people are bare foot. Additionally, many of the party guests were smoking cigarettes in the pool. Furthermore, the pool bar that we had enjoyed so much is the previous days was packed beyond belief and you couldn't order a drink at all. Again, we tried to shrug it off and left for the day. Upon returning back to our room at 11 pm, we were exhausted after a very long day and were anxious to get to sleep. Imagine our frustration when even with the door closed the music that was playing outside was so loud that even air plugs didn't work. I didn't get to sleep until after midnight when the music stopped. It is incredibly unacceptable to disrupt an entire resort of people paying to stay at your hotel in such a fashion.

Sunday morning arrived and we were ready to move on. We were excited to get to the pool and to make up for the day we had missed yesterday. Sunday was, hands down, the worst day of any vacation I had ever been on. We very surprised to find that the party guests still had an overwhelming presence at the pool. This time, however, it was dramatically worse. Sunday, with the beach party over, all of these patrons climbed into the pool. There was absolutely no room to swim, sit, or do much of anything in any pool or hot tub. One guest brought a large speaker where he played loud music all day. Again, we continued to see guest smoking and bringing in their own alcohol. It was so discouraging.

We had to leave the hotel again. Upon returning back Sunday evening around 10 we made our way out to walk on the beach on our last night of vacation. The attached pictures are just a few of the many we snapped of the trash and outside products that were completely trashing the pool. It was disgusting. Furthermore, at 10pm, which was two hours after the pool closed, we found about 20 party guests still in the hot tub and in cabanas drinking from outside vodka bottles and engaging in some questionable behavior.

To solidify the nightmare that your hotel caused, Monday morning we had to leave for the airport at 10 am. At 8am my boyfriend decided he wanted to get a swim in in the ocean before we left. We walked down bright and early to find that these same people were out at the beach area, drinking from glass beer bottles again playing loud music.

We are in our early 30's and enjoy a good time as much as (or maybe even more than) the next person, but this was over the top. Truly, this event made MTV spring break look tame. It was purely awful. We would have stayed at a different hotel had we known, but we weren't told about this party until the day before.

Think twice before staying here- or at least do your research about events that may be going on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A week's stay at this hotel... thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful grounds, pools, beach, and even peacocks! The villas were a little far from the main lobby, and could use upgrading! Room was clean, great view and comfortable beds. Had buffet breakfast at the hotel, every day... great selection of items offered. Had free wifi in our room package.

Room Tip: If you need to get a lot of exercise, stay at the villas, otherwise the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanaque, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It is in a great location and easy to get to from the airport. The garden tower seems to be the older part of the hotel so use the newer tower if it's available. The restaurants are very expensive. The amenities are fine and we really enjoyed our first destination wedding.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here 3 nites as an extended vacation after the cruise to check out PR.
- Room & rate: the rate was decent due to AAA discount and we got upgraded to an ocean view w/balcony for two connected rooms due to HH membership level. Both rooms were clean due to recent renovation but you can tell it was a rush job. The rooms were good size, larger than normal. The location is convenience if you want to go to Old Town, less than 5min ride bus or taxi. Take the bus to save $$ and use that for foods and souvenirs. :) Of course, do not take the bus back at night if it is after 8pm or 9p, just for safety purpose.
- View was good b/c we were on the 9th floor and almost at the beach front.
- Avoid staying at the Garden building, especially the lower floors as they are very noisy, bugs, mosquitoes and garden animal (Peacocks) are very loud. The garden was nice to walk around to take great photos of the animals there, my wife and daughter loved it!
- Foods and drinks at the hotel is outrageous expensive. One drink (small cup) is $12 and not much alcohol. You can buy the sandwiches at Quiznos in the lobby to save some but one can only eat so much sandwiches for lunch. :) I recommend save your money, take the bus to Old Town, walk around to find diff. cafes, restaurants, etc. for foods. Yes, it's not cheap but at least they are good foods!
- The pools and beach areas are quite nice, lots of places and chairs, so no problem finding one. Of course, Sat and Sun are VERY crowded comparing to weekdays. Besides the pools, mostly kids with adults standing around, the beach is also a great place to relax. If you have snorkeling gear, use them as you can see some great fish from near the shore to the rocks areas. It's very safe since there is practically no waves.
- It would be nice if they give you some bottle waters for the daily resorts fee being charged to your bill. I suggest to to CVS in Old Town and get what you need like water, sunblock, medicines, candies, snacks, etc.
- Some staffs are friendly but the a couples worked at the towers room checkout were not friendly if I do not speak the local language. We have a family of 5, we ask for 6, she gave us a dirty look as why we need one extra. When right before that she gave a young couple 4 when they asked. Not nice!
- Check-in staffs were nice but they are too busy, you have to go back every hour to check on your room status even though they said they will call when there is room. If I actually wait for a phone call, I would have sat there until "midnight".

Overall, it is a decent, reasonably clean hotel, good room size with an ocean view if you can get one. Service is average with a few at the poolside restaurant were friendly.

I would stay again if it is only a few days.

Room Tip: If all you care about visiting Old Town SJ, stay at the ones in Old Town. If you care for the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The views are out of this world. The lobby opens up to the ocean that is amazing. The staff is awesome and the grounds spectacular. Downside is the rooms are dated but great beds. I have stayed there 4 times and have not been sorry I went...

Room Tip: Parking is $22 daily and taxes are 18% I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First off let me preface this by saying that I have been a loyal Hilton customer for many years. I stayed at the caribe hilton many times after it was redone in 2005 through 2009. The service was always great and hotel was very clean. That was not the case this time.

My fiancé and I decided to take a short 5 night vacation a few months before we are getting married. A few days before check in I called and spoke to a manager at the front desk and explained that my flight would be getting in at 3am on the 17th of July. They told me that they were going to note the account and my ocean view king room was all set and the reservation was confirmed. A reservation that I made 4 months prior. Upon arriving at the hotel at 3am on the 17th I was told that there was a problem and out reservation was cancelled due to our Amex being declined. I found this strange since we spend a lot on the Amex every month and if I charge is declined or there is an issue we get an alert. They told us they only had a room in the villas and would fix the issue in the morning. When we got to the room it stunk from mildew and the air conditioning did not work. The room was filthy. We had no choice but to stay in the room because it was so late. We did not even shower or get ready in that room because it was so bad. Fast forward to later in the morning we were switched to a room in the honors tower. We walked into that room and it was even dirtier than the last room. The door to the ventilation was wide open and you could see that the filter hadn't been changed in years and it was a horrible sight. We complained and this time I spoke to Nelson the general manager. He said he would give us 50% off the first night and a $50 credit for the aggravation and would change us to a room in the renovated side of the hotel. The room was nice except for that fact that when the renovated they drastically reduced the size and the quality of the bathroom. At any rate we took the room because it was the best option available. Everywhere you go in this place the service is bad. The hotel is filthy and nothing is maintained properly. It is unfortunate to see what was such a wonderful place in the past falling by the wayside. The worse part is nobody cares. Avoid this place at all costs.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.