We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I just returned from a short weekend stay (Sat-Mon) at Caribe Hilton with my wife, and we have a very pleasant stay. First off, it's an easy cab ride to the hotel from the airport, with rates preset ($19 + $2 approved gas surcharge + $1 per luggage), kudos to City of San Juan. Don't have to worry about driver running longer routes or traffic jam.... Upon arrival, check-in was quick. I have been a long time Gold member and was given an upgrade to a beach front room on the 10th floor of Main Building. Spectacular view... Room is clean... Private beach is very nice.... We were given breakfast voucher for either free continental breakfast or $10 upgrade to a full breakfast. We paid the $10 and it's well worth it. (Regular price is $23.75, I certainly wouldn't pay full price for it.).... Final note: it's technically walkable to Old San Juan, about 2 miles/40 minutes. But it might be too hot to walk before sunset. You can take a bus for $0.75 (coins only) or taxi is $12 (preset). We did all three... We'll definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi there! thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and your comments. It delight us to hear that you and your wife had a great time.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    1,514
    715
    395
    224
See reviews for
921
1,322
126
657
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Service is a mixed bag from completely awful to above and beyond. Considering the unemployment rate in PR you would think people would be happy to do their job. Otherwise the property is beautiful and has a nice mix of dining options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you left feeling this way. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you endured.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at Caribe Hilton as part of a conference and were given a room in the main (newly renovated) building. The room itself was quite nice - plenty of power points and the bed was comfortable. Although we paid extra for an ocean front room however, we had to crane our heads to see it - more like ocean to the side.

There were unexpected surprises that we discovered, which came with staying here for a week. Firstly, the omelettes that were freshly made in the buffet downstairs were amazing, and I looked forward to them every morning. Definitely definitely worth a visit! Secondly, the peacock garden was spectacular - iguanas and swans, turtles, lizards, a turkey - wow! Again, definitely worth a visit!

However, the bar downstairs was very noisy after about 5pm (live music most nights), and it was difficult to find food onsight after breakfast beside hamburgers and fried food. Every time I wanted to go outside to the beach, a security man insisted on seeing my room card, and once searched my bag. For what?! A beach ball? The hotel is also quite far away from most shops and old San Juan (about a $14 cab ride). Overall, it was quite nice but a bit run down.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the peacock garden will be quieter and rooms in the main building have been newly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for a girls' trip in February. We wanted to go far enough south to enjoy the beach in the winter months, and San Juan's average temperature that time of year hovers around 85 degrees. We were pleased with our experience at the Hilton. They have a spacious pool area with a swim-up bar, hot tubs, etc. The beach area has hammocks, a pier and plenty of space for sunbathing--not to mention the breathtaking views of the water. You can eat breakfast in or outside overlooking the pool and beach and have it cooked to order. We were there during Super Bowl Sunday weekend, and they set up an auditorium-style viewing area with big screen televisions near the bar area. The inside bar is also nice and they have a sushi bar and several other dining options on-site. The hotel was clean and in a convenient location to area restaurants and entertainment. The experience was overall enjoyable and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

What we really liked about this hotel is that it has nice private pool/beach. The insides of the hotel room is ok, we have balcony and we enjoyed sitting outside overlooking the pool and the beach. Unfortunately, we got the room that is directly above the roof with noisy A/C units vents, we did not get to hear the sound of coqui frogs at night. Also, I wish the hotel got a cleaner glass doors in the balcony, they are kinda filthy. If you want to lounge inside to avail the coolness of A/C while looking outside to see the ocean it was disappointing to look through a filthy glass doors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

So unimpressed by this hotel. Actually I think it's dirty and unkempt. Last visit I found condoms under the night table when I moved it to plug in my phone. This time the ceiling was moldy and falling down in my room. The sun deck in the lobby has definitely seen better days. The leather is falling off the chairs and feels genuinely dirty. The only reason I gave it any stars at all was because the pool and beach are lovely and the staff is particularly friendly. Not the most expensive hotel but not the cheapest either. Not sure u would stay here ever again. Maybe as a last choice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello, thank you for choosing the Caribe HIlton for your recent stay in Puerto Rico. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the cleanliness at your room Certainly it is not the indicative of our high service standards. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. We are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

On week of 6/29 I stayed. We were able to check-in the room at 12:00pm which was amazing and great start to the trip. Grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. Pool is huge and has different sections. Bigger than any other resort in condado. Beach was fabulous! PRIVATE :) meaning no locals and beachside umbrella, chair, and food service. Unlike the rest of condado beach, this resort has a break wall therefore allows you to swim far out and not worry about strong currents or big fish. There is enough marine life for snorkeling to keep you busy.

On-site restaurants plenty to choose from to accommodate any budget. Sit-downs are on the higher end per usual for all hotels.

If you decide to walk to ashford ave. It is very safe about a 5-15 min to walk to restaurants, casinos, shops, etc. Worth the walk to save $ on food and try Puerto Rican cuisine and Happy hour drinks. There is security everywhere leaving the hotel before the bridge. Walk whenever you can, taxis range from $12-17 for just 1.5 miles. Save the taxi $ for late nights.

During our trip, we visited La Concha, Condado Plaza, and Marriott for drinks and casinos. El Caribe Hilton was superior by far! Pool, beach, and grounds were much bigger and versatile than any of the others. Made us really appreciate our hotel even more!

Our refrigerator in the room did not work upon arrival. Someone immediately came and replaced it. The hotel took care of our $50 bar bill from the previous night for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have better view (7th -10th), Panoramic views from rooms on odd side in high twenties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.