We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An older gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #14 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An older gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was a little nervous when I booked my room after reading some of the reviews posted here on Travel Advisor. I am a huge fan of TA because I find more often than not the reviews are pretty good by honest people like me that just want to inform others. I can tell you that I was very happy with my stay here. The staff greeted us warmly and checked us in quickly. I had booked an ocean view balcony junior suite, we had a view of the ocean but it was obstructed. We did have an excellent view of the lagoon and the city which was beautiful. From our 10th floor perspective I was very happy with what I received for the price. I saw a lot of complaints regarding the ocean view, but staying in the towers was a real blessing for us. It was very quiet with no children running around on our floor. The food and drinks were expensive, but because of prior reviews we were ready for that. A burger from the bar cost just under $15 which tasted very good. Our service was excellent but the bartenders were a little slow. Loved the Pina Colada’s, but at $12 each the bill adds up with you fast. Happy Hour was not wasted on us because rum drinks with Don Q were only $6. The hotel was very nice, pools and areas to relax were top notch. Lay on a lawn chair or in a hammock and just relax. To save a little money there is a Subway right off property and there are several other chain restaurants nearby that are a short cab ride or walk if you are feeling energetic to cut down on cost. The Concierge was helpful in picking out the tours we wanted but she sure didn’t seem like she wanted to be there, she was not the norm as others we dealt with were very pleased to help. The staff out front can get you cab, answer questions about restaurants or places to see and are great about letting you know how much things should cost and make you feel like they are happy you asked and not an inconvenience. We plan on making a trip back in the near future and the Hilton without exception will be where we will stay.

Room Tip: The tower is a little out of the way, but worth the walk to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    932
    1,261
    591
    339
    194
See reviews for
755
1102
109
520
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This one has actually advanced to 3.5 but still has need of improvement. Staff is friendly and helpful, very nice. Facility is dated an needs repair on elevators. Location is a bit isolated requiring taxi for most outings. Loved the private beach, pool area and the parrots in the lobby as well as the viewing perch out in the ocean. Lots of fish and coral to see. Morton's steakhouse on property was good but not great. Will return but would like more improvement to facilities.

Room Tip: The view here is key. Ask for ocean view away from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I booked the Caribe Hilton through Travelocity, and scored a great off-season deal for flights + hotel. At check-in, my husband and I requested a very quiet room and were upgraded to an ocean view balcony room on a high floor in the HHonors Tower. Full disclosure: if we had paid full price we might have been a little disappointed overall, but at the very discounted rate (about 40% off the regular rate) we were quite happy.

The room was nicely decorated with simple, tasteful furnishings and neutral colors. There were some areas that showed age or wear and tear, but it was clean, and at the price we paid we were happy to overlook those minor details. Our bathroom was huge with a giant glass-enclosed shower. The view of the Condado area and Fort San Gerónimo was beautiful, and this was indeed a quieter area of the resort. We only heard noise on the last night before we checked out - the balcony doors are heavy and LOUD to open and close, and for some reason our neighbor went in and out all night long and very early in the morning.

The grounds are beautiful and interesting, although there were some signs of age here as well. We loved exploring the beach, the gardens, and chatting with the parrots in the lobby. The swim-up bar was a really fun feature that we used several times, though I wish the Caribe Hilton had a separate area for adults only (kids were apparently allowed at the bar). I have no problem with well-behaved children or even kids just having fun, but the very badly misbehaving ones sometimes made it difficult to relax. There is a small separate pool near the villas that never had many people so we spent time there when we wanted to read.

Our interactions with the staff were always pleasant - everyone seemed very helpful, courteous and prompt.

There isn't much within walking distance, but Old San Juan is just a few minutes away by car. There's a very well stocked gift shop at the hotel for any items you might forget to bring, but be prepared to pay higher prices. We had a mini fridge in our room so we brought our own breakfast items and bought fresh fruit and bottled water from a nearby grocery store to save on eating out. We ate lunches and dinners at the resort restaurants, Subway across the street, and at a few spots in Old San Juan. Resort fees were $15/day and parking was $18/day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel was clean and very nice. The concierge Maria, Elliot and Joanna were extremely helpful. Maria was the best in helping us with every need we had. Older hotel that needs updated and continental breakfast needs better selections.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The place is very appealing but very expensive on food drinks and parking. A visitor needs to go away from the area to find better pricing. The cost of parking is more than the cost of renting a car. The porter would not let us use the tote cart on our own. Breakfast was fourteen to eighteen U.S. Dollars while it was four dollars and fifty cents down the road. Lunch and dinner were even more. Over pricing meant higher tipping and it was expected by waiting staff. There is nicer places in the main land that have better pricing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is beautiful with well appointed rooms and good amenities. Check in was smooth and all staff I dealt with during my stay were friendly and helpful. Yes, there was one elevator not working up to the main tower but the short wait each time was not that bad, you're on vacation after all so relax!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

In town on business. Was put in the tower. Old and run down - hallway carpets stained and smelly - elevators out of service - room okay - great view - good breakfast. Suggest you take a look at some of the other close by hotels, (Conrad at Condado Plaza, La Concha, etc.)

Room Tip: Not in the tower until they renovate it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
San Juan Caribe Hilton
Caribe Hilton
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Hilton
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#8 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.